• Replies 1.2k

hi guys.. got some info tat may be a great help to newbies :D

the 10 facts to know before buying :D

cheers :D

1) what would be a good sized tank for a single frog that gets no bigger than 5"? 6"? 8"?

20 to 40 gallons would be nice for a 5", more as the size goes up

2) which frogs max at said size (5,6,8")?

Most commonly available would be Antennarius maculatus (wartskin - to about 4"), A. pictus (painted), A. multiocellatus (longlure), A. nummifer (Coinbearing), A. coccineus (freckled or scarlet) all grow to about 5", A. striatus (tiger or striated) and A. hispidus (hispid or shaggy) get to around 6 or 7"

3) how fast do they grow? (1"-5" 5"+)

Juvies can grow to adult size in a year. It is dependent on the quality and frequency of feeding (recommended: twice a week), water quality, tank temp.

4) what is a good aquascape for them? (asumnig a sand bed with some rocks for it to hide on, does the sand and rock have to be alive?)

If it is not, it will eventually be alive. I'd stay away from aggressive LPS (frogspawn, torch, hammers) and anemones. Frogfishes will knock over frags. Plastic decor is actually quite acceptable

5) can they change there color or pigment?

Yes, and quite rapidly too.

6) what are good live foods? non live? i heard feeding fresh water fish to them is bad?

Goldfish and rosy reds contain Thiaminase which inhibits thiamine (vitamin B1) metabolism. Freshwater feeders also have a lipid profile that is not ideal for marine predators. Guppies and mollies are marginally better. F/W ghost shrimp are pretty decent too. Live marine shrimp (farmed) may be the best as live baitfish may harbor parasites.

7) im asuming no other tank mates other than frogs since they can and will try to eat anything smaller to equal size and i dont want a tank that would fit a larger fish.

Pretty much

8) are they poisonus to the touch? or have poison in there fins/skin?

Not venomous. Reputed to have toxic flesh. I've not eaten one.

9) what salinity? ph? hardness? do you keep your tanks at?

I prefer 30 (1.022) and 8.2

10) any good facts or personal exp/stories to sway me into it or away from it

Don't skimp on equipment. Get a good skimmer.

Very nice of you.

Having seeing aquamarin having so many nice frogfish. I may like to start one soon. And also so many da ke ke here to assist, I think will hesitate no more.

Just one question : is chiller required?

Very nice of you.

Having seeing aquamarin having so many nice frogfish. I may like to start one soon. And also so many da ke ke here to assist, I think will hesitate no more.

Just one question : is chiller required?

Hi bro,

A chiller is not required if u do not intend to keep corals and keep it as a FOWLR.

Agree with Lester that a good skimmer is important as bioload can increase quite rapidly if u feed your froggies often.

For me, I am currently keeping my 1" frogfish in a 1' nano with some lr and dsb. Water circulation is provided by a small hangon overflow pump and a small ph.

I don't use a skimmer due to the small volume of water --> it is quite easy for me just to change water each week by scooping the water from my reef tank's refugium.

I may need to transfer this guy to a bigger tank once it grows bigger.

:D:D

hi lester,,

thanx... most likely will leave the dsb and the rest of my filter system...

:thanks::thanks:

going down to coral farm on fri ,,,, wanna go???? :eyeblur:

hmm ho br0 :D

this friday cannot.... tie down wif work :D sorry....weekend also burned liao :D

cheers :D

Hi bro,

A chiller is not required if u do not intend to keep corals and keep it as a FOWLR.

Agree with Lester that a good skimmer is important as bioload can increase quite rapidly if u feed your froggies often.

For me, I am currently keeping my 1" frogfish in a 1' nano with some lr and dsb. Water circulation is provided by a small hangon overflow pump and a small ph.

I don't use a skimmer due to the small volume of water --> it is quite easy for me just to change water each week by scooping the water from my reef tank's refugium.

I may need to transfer this guy to a bigger tank once it grows bigger.

:D:D

hehe bro :D derek just bought a new ( 2nd hand ) 2ft tank :D

hi guys,

when u get a new tank ,, (etc 2 ft or 3 ft) , do you start the whole system from scratch,,, lik emix water, new skimmer for the tank etc,,, or you can link up with your other tank and share the same sump tank???

considering starting a smaller tank,, (3ft)

hi bro :D

actually it can be done either way ....

my upcoming frogfish tank will be sharing the sump from my reef tank and the skimmer.. addition of a pump is needed to pump the water to the tank.. actually it depends on how u wan to design ur system ....

it can be share or stand only

chers :D

i'd love to go anytime after october 11 lor. do you all stay in east? can pick me up from victoria junior college? ^_^

i'm still not sure..i think it will probably be lion tank...cause i have one lion in school liao. btw if i keep a sizeable volitans and a normal angler..say..5 inch. it should be okay? comments..thanks!

hi lester,,

not working today???

you been to my place... wah,,, where to fit another tank and share the sump tank???

took half day today,,, going down to coral farm,,, anyone wanna go???? :yeah:

hi bro :D hehe today working lei .. sorry can't go wif you :)

hmmmm.. actually if i were you .. i rem ur sum abve have quite alot of space... actually can design one there .. one add pump to pump over there and overflow back to ur sump ... :D but one thing is u have to open ur cabinet to see la :P hehe

cheers ")

hi guys.... :):P

came out with two simple design for our t -shirt..dun know if u guys like it anot ..

feels free to comments and welcome ideas.. actually wanted to add in a slogon but it make the pic veri messy.. decided to leave it out ..

ok here are the piccs..

post-8-1127483927.jpg