Anyone here joined one of those networking groups?

ervine

Hi guys,

Was introduced to a networking breakfast (7 freaking 30 in the morning.. i usually sleep at 4-5am) today and was observing how the group actually functioned. While referals were being passed around I have my doubts about this whole system.

Basically u have to pay ###### dollars to sign up for a whole year, then during these meetings you get to interact with various players in other fields with which they would refer your businesses here and there... like what goes around comes around thing...

But I donno.. I'm always super skeptical about such things...

Anyone else here can testify for or against such networking breakfasts?

Thanks

Erv.

I would think ....... Who would be keen to attend? Those who are doing well in business or those who are not? Definitely all those who are not doing well and hope to get some "lobang" to improve their business. Those who are already successful will not want to pay $$$ to join the network - What the hell for?

So can the "blind" lead the "blind"?????? In the end who will benefit???? I feel that this is another ingenious and creative way to make money. They are trying to"take money from the beggars' bowl".

Any Chio Bus around? Maybe its networking to laid and be laid at night between 7.30pm to 2am??? :lol:

I would think ....... Who would be keen to attend? Those who are doing well in business or those who are not? Definitely all those who are not doing well and hope to get some "lobang" to improve their business. Those who are already successful will not want to pay $$$ to join the network - What the hell for?

So can the "blind" lead the "blind"?????? In the end who will benefit???? I feel that this is another ingenious and creative way to make money. They are trying to"take money from the beggars' bowl".

yah loh... i don't quite understand the logic of selling your company/product/service to the SAME GROUP of people every single week... makes no logical sense to me...

yes they might pass on your contact but still who would really sell/market for you if they have nothing to gain from it themselves?

sounds like a scam but I'm not sure...

Not really a scam, but a very innovative way of making money. Something like those who offer jobs or business opportunities but you must first attend some training sessions and pay for it.

It also reminds me of Pyramid Sales which became illegal, then Network Marketting which was exactly like Pyramid Sales but this time it is legitimate business because they sell real products. Basically. both are the same because they keep on building up the "pyramid". The higher the pyramid goes the more those at the top will make money. Only they will make money and those at the lower levels will be slogging and working very hard to build up their own bases by recruiting more people and earning more and more commission for those higher up the pyramid. In the end, who buys the products? All those in the lower end pyramid formation and who are supposed to sell them of course. Where are the money from? Again, from them (the members) and their friends and family members.

All these "Businesses" always start off with very impressive "free talks" or "presentations" that paint beautiful pictures of "big profits" and promises of bright futures. And these talks are delivered by "experts" specially trained to psycho people and they are indeed fantastic speakers.

So, I would always remember that "Money do not grow on trees" and that there is no such thing as "Free Meals". If we are invited to such a "Banquet" with promises of riches and gains we might end up having to "wash dishes".

Not really a scam, but a very innovative way of making money. Something like those who offer jobs or business opportunities but you must first attend some training sessions and pay for it.

It also reminds me of Pyramid Sales which became illegal, then Network Marketting which was exactly like Pyramid Sales but this time it is legitimate business because they sell real products. Basically. both are the same because they keep on building up the "pyramid". The higher the pyramid goes the more those at the top will make money. Only they will make money and those at the lower levels will be slogging and working very hard to build up their own bases by recruiting more people and earning more and more commission for those higher up the pyramid. In the end, who buys the products? All those in the lower end pyramid formation and who are supposed to sell them of course. Where are the money from? Again, from them (the members) and their friends and family members.

All these "Businesses" always start off with very impressive "free talks" or "presentations" that paint beautiful pictures of "big profits" and promises of bright futures. And these talks are delivered by "experts" specially trained to psycho people and they are indeed fantastic speakers.

So, I would always remember that "Money do not grow on trees" and that there is no such thing as "Free Meals". If we are invited to such a "Banquet" with promises of riches and gains we might end up having to "wash dishes".

What I don't understand is unless you are so specialised, who is going to stop these people from going to other suppliers outside of the circle?

eg. I'm a designer... during the networking meeting I quote $X... the person I'm selling to goes OUTSIDE the circle and asks another designer who quotes him $(X/2) then it doesn't work liao what..

What I don't understand is unless you are so specialised, who is going to stop these people from going to other suppliers outside of the circle?

eg. I'm a designer... during the networking meeting I quote $X... the person I'm selling to goes OUTSIDE the circle and asks another designer who quotes him $(X/2) then it doesn't work

You are absolutely right. Then what does the networking serve to do? The organisers, of course. They provide the network of people who hope to have more contacts. These people pay a fee ($$$$) every year. So the more people the more $$$$$$$ they collect. So, guarantee $$$$$$$ go into their pockets. Whether you really end up with better business or not is up to your own luck. They dont't guarantee that.

yah loh i also think that the organisers in the end are the winners...

seriously speaking I rather attend a slightly more expensive networking session but at least every week I get to meet new people.. then my network can grow more rapidly.. makes sense right?

Those networking session done by organiser whose main purpose is to make money for this kind of event is pretty useless....go for those orgainize by non profit organisation or big MNC who organised session for their partner....those are useful as they normally bring in credible speaker for the meetings so even if you did not make new business contact you still pick up useful info here and there....

wah where to find such lobangs?