PUB bill record

Rocky99

my PUB bill shot up from the my $300plus to almost reaching $500 over a mth. 2120KWH of electricity for last mth, previous mths abt 1200KWH on avg. i feel bad because my parents are paying the bill even though this time round i am going to pay part of it.

i live in a 5rm HDB. my family consists of my parents, myself and 2 other siblings. 1 dog, 1 2ft luohan tank and a 5ft marine tank.

we run the aircon in 3bedrooms 8hrs every night max. other big appliances in my flat incl - 1 refrigerator in the kitchen, i small bar fridge, washing machine run once daily. day time nobody at home.

my 5ft tank has been up and running since May, with the beckett and MD55, so i have no idea what has caused this drastic surge.

Equipment List

2x 150 MH - 8hrs/d

4x 24W PL - 8hrs/d

4x 55W T5s - 8hrs/d (recently added only)

1x Resun CL650 - 16-20hr/d kick in - abt 350W

1x Resun MD-55 130W -24hrs

1x Rio32HF 120W - 24hrs

1x Eheim 1262 80W - 24hrs

1x Eheim 1250 28W - 24hrs

1x maxijet 900 13 W - 24hrs

1x Tunze 6100 - 45W - 24 hrs (set to min.)

probes, solenoid not incl.

about 22KWH/day

I estimated with the RC electricity calculator. abt $120/mth(660kwH) max for the tank alone. I had prepared to set aside this amt for the tank mthly before i started the 5ft.

what worries me is that i just upgraded my lights with extra 4xt5s 55W and the meter readings is taken a few days before that. i cannot imagine the size of the bill for the coming mths. i need to do something.

what is the avg electricity usage for households with marine tanks running >500W of lights? anyone

post-11-1123524401.jpg

It could be your AirCon......

Mime is avg 180. ( 70S$ max for Elect )

2 room AC on for atleast 10hrs a day.

240w of T5 for 16 hrs.

3 x HF20 45w

1 x Tunze 6100 45w

CL 650

Koralline 3001 CR, feeding pump.

BIG Fridge,

Projector , cause no TV. This guy is big consumer 2.5kw per hour.

Most of my light in house are not Power Saver.

Mitsubishi Converter :)

Op my house is EM.

It could be your AirCon......

Mime is avg 180. ( 70S$ max for Elect )

2 room AC on for atleast 10hrs a day.

240w of T5 for 16 hrs.

3 x HF20 45w

1 x Tunze 6100 45w

CL 650

Koralline 3001 CR, feeding pump.

BIG Fridge,

Projector , cause no TV. This guy is big consumer 2.5kw per hour.

Most of my light in house are not Power Saver.

Mitsubishi Converter :)

Op my house is EM.

mine is the old carrier aircon. 5yr old liao. no inverter/converter. likely cause. i set at 26deg.

its amazing that u can keep in at 70 for elect. with marine tank and aircon. :)

Mime temp for Reef is 24:) yes 24.

One room AC is 24 while another is 27.

May be you should start thinking. I may be wrong. However I know I am paying lowest in my block. None of them has Reef Tank :)

I think there isnt really any explaination to the charges on the PUB bill.I just want to share my experience.

Before Oct 2004,I was living in a 3 bedroom condo with old sanyo aircon.The arcon consumption was : almost 24hrs in master bedroom,at least 10hrs in the kid room and approximately 10hrs for both aircon in the living room (blame to the hot hot weather last yr). Then,I have 2 big fridge in the kitchen,a drink machine,a 4ft tank and a 3 ft tank.A 6.5kg washing machine working everyday at least once.A 53" projection tv on almost over 12 hrs a day,another 2 21" tv on almost during the day time too. The PUB incl water was about $240-$300 monthly.

From oct2004 till now,we are living in a 5 rm HDB flat the same size as the condo.We use mitsubishi starmex inverter aircon for 3 bedrooms, turning on only from 10pm to 6am daily.1 fridge only and 1 washing machine that uses only on bedsheet washing once a week.The rest of washing was done by hand.Drink machine,a 5ft tank with submerge filter and a 3ft tank of marine fishes with only skimmer,light,eihem cannister filter. A 53" projection tv on occassionally and the plasma on mostly during the evening and weekend.The PUB was at a minimum of $280 to a high of $350 monthly.Thought with a minimize of electronical items it should be lesser.

Called PUB,no explaination given,basically just have to pay up.

u sure your resun cl650 consume 350w only ?? :o

-1x Resun CL650<<5footer - 16-20hr/d kick in - ''abt 350W''

get a deail or JBJ 1/2hp ;)

for a system 3 air-con with dc inverter-on max load -15a.. k still consume over 2.5kw

my PUB bill shot up from the my $300plus to almost reaching $500 over a mth. 2120KWH of electricity for last mth, previous mths abt 1200KWH on avg. i feel bad because my parents are paying the bill even though this time round i am going to pay part of it.

i live in a 5rm HDB. my family consists of my parents, myself and 2 other siblings. 1 dog, 1 2ft luohan tank and a 5ft marine tank.

we run the aircon in 3bedrooms 8hrs every night max. other big appliances in my flat incl - 1 refrigerator in the kitchen, i small bar fridge, washing machine run once daily. day time nobody at home.

my 5ft tank has been up and running since May, with the beckett and MD55, so i have no idea what has caused this drastic surge.

Equipment List

2x 150 MH - 8hrs/d

4x 24W PL - 8hrs/d

4x 55W T5s - 8hrs/d (recently added only)

1x Resun CL650 - 16-20hr/d kick in - abt 350W

1x Resun MD-55 130W -24hrs

1x Rio32HF 120W - 24hrs

1x Eheim 1262 80W - 24hrs

1x Eheim 1250 28W - 24hrs

1x maxijet 900 13 W - 24hrs

1x Tunze 6100 - 45W - 24 hrs (set to min.)

probes, solenoid not incl.

about 22KWH/day

I estimated with the RC electricity calculator. abt $120/mth(660kwH) max for the tank alone. I had prepared to set aside this amt for the tank mthly before i started the 5ft.

what worries me is that i just upgraded my lights with extra 4xt5s 55W and the meter readings is taken a few days before that. i cannot imagine the size of the bill for the coming mths. i need to do something.

what is the avg electricity usage for households with marine tanks running >500W of lights? anyone

Your June bill is an estimate. The July one is the actual. So you actual consumption per month is the average of these two months.

Suggestions:

1) Try to sleep with Air con. Use fan instead. A rule of thumb: AIr con consumption is about $1 per night. so 3 rooms = $90 per mth. But when you switch on 3 units simultaneously, the compressor is made to work harder, so the consumption goes higher. But I think this is tough for ppl who are used to sleeping in Air con.

2) THe washing machine is used everyday. Try to consolidate the clothes and wash less often but with more load each time. If your washing machine comes with dryer function, try not to use it. It consumes a lot of energy.

3) Gives adequate ventilation for your fridge. Try not to locate it too near to the wall. move it out by a couple of inches. This will help to save energy. Also if when there is minimum things in the fridge, please raise the temperature setting. DO not have to set it to the coldest.

4) Marine tank chiller: I think you need to get a better chiller. CL650 might not be sufficient for your 5 ft tank.

u sure your resun cl650 consume 350w only ?? :o

-1x Resun CL650<<5footer - 16-20hr/d kick in - ''abt 350W''

get a deail or JBJ 1/2hp ;)

for a system 3 air-con with dc inverter-on max load -15a.. k still consume over 2.5kw

Resun CL650 consume about 640+W

age.png

mine 5ft tank also only cost me $70/- rise in elec

500W mh 6hrs a day

cl650 maintaining at 28degrees

md55, 2 eheim 1262, aquabee3000 and weipro4000

compressors take up alot of power...so u might wanna look into your chiller running for 16hrs a day and also your aircon at night...try cutting down to lesser rooms on aircon per night

Resun CL650 consume about 640+W

I guess CL650 is 1/4 horse power, 1 HP is about 745W.

So i believe about 185W.

Jaslyn,

2004's PUB rate and current rate is lot of different. I guess that's why

my 6ft tank only cost me around $80 rise in electricity bill...

1hp chiller

3x 150w mh

3xpumps and 2 powerheads

what chiller are you using? and your temp setting? 1hp and u can maintain with $80 :rolleyes:

:P thinking of changing my chiller with low power consumption :P

age.png

I think there isnt really any explaination to the charges on the PUB bill.I just want to share my experience.

Before Oct 2004,I was living in a 3 bedroom condo with old sanyo aircon.The arcon consumption was : almost 24hrs in master bedroom,at least 10hrs in the kid room and approximately 10hrs for both aircon in the living room (blame to the hot hot weather last yr). Then,I have 2 big fridge in the kitchen,a drink machine,a 4ft tank and a 3 ft tank.A 6.5kg washing machine working everyday at least once.A 53" projection tv on almost over 12 hrs a day,another 2 21" tv on almost during the day time too. The PUB incl water was about $240-$300 monthly.

From oct2004 till now,we are living in a 5 rm HDB flat the same size as the condo.We use mitsubishi starmex inverter aircon for 3 bedrooms, turning on only from 10pm to 6am daily.1 fridge only and 1 washing machine that uses only on bedsheet washing once a week.The rest of washing was done by hand.Drink machine,a 5ft tank with submerge filter and a 3ft tank of marine fishes with only skimmer,light,eihem cannister filter. A 53" projection tv on occassionally and the plasma on mostly during the evening and weekend.The PUB was at a minimum of $280 to a high of $350 monthly.Thought with a minimize of electronical items it should be lesser.

Called PUB,no explaination given,basically just have to pay up.

i agree. they would prbly say they send the meter man the check the reading again. :)

Your June bill is an estimate. The July one is the actual. So you actual consumption per month is the average of these two months.

Suggestions:

1) Try to sleep with Air con. Use fan instead. A rule of thumb: AIr con consumption is about $1 per night. so 3 rooms = $90 per mth. But when you switch on 3 units simultaneously, the compressor is made to work harder, so the consumption goes higher. But I think this is tough for ppl who are used to sleeping in Air con.

2) THe washing machine is used everyday. Try to consolidate the clothes and wash less often but with more load each time. If your washing machine comes with dryer function, try not to use it. It consumes a lot of energy.

3) Gives adequate ventilation for your fridge. Try not to locate it too near to the wall. move it out by a couple of inches. This will help to save energy. Also if when there is minimum things in the fridge, please raise the temperature setting. DO not have to set it to the coldest.

4) Marine tank chiller: I think you need to get a better chiller. CL650 might not be sufficient for your 5 ft tank.

yeah,called the PUB to explain the differences.They told me to pay $30+++ to get their metre man to come down take a look.

I remember last yr when I was told to pay a water bill of about $90 every month.I compained and complained but nobody bother and at the end,they found out that the water metre faulty and refunded me the extra charged amount.

i think the 650W refers to the cooling power. actual consumption should be lower. i once clamp the chiller before. about 300+ watts. :)

interesting :) i have been using air-con for cool my tank and the bill went up to $170++... since i started to use chiller last month and i hardly switch on my air-con and the bill still $170++ i guess i got to wait a while before i can get the actual "bill" compare with my air-con useage and chiller usage :)

age.png

stupid power supply....always charge on the KS side.....1st month when i got my keys for my house (without moving in) they charge me 300++....then following month credit back 270++......but becuase i refuse to pay for the first month ridculas rate, they charge me an extra $2 for late payment..... :angry:

1st class govt agency, world standard hor! ;)

Just take our $$$ in advance. Any prob can settle later but wasting the time of both party. I can't understand why they adopt this practice. Is it they afraid we own $$$ don't pay up or we will run away with the hse.... :lol:

somemore so many of the households have seen unexplained increase in elect usage. ;)