Fiddler Species (Uca vocans)

Maxstar81

These chaps are best kept in terrarium type of environment. Semi aquatic/semi terrestrial... I kept b4 n they can survive but if put into aquarium, dont survive long.

Cardinal Tetra,

Hm..... Not exactly the same.

Mine is Uca vocans.

Yours is Uca annulipes. (smaller cousin)

The shape and size of claw is slightly different.

Maybe this pics of a annulipes can help.

Angle not very good so can't see full claw.

Thanks for the info maxstar, I thought it was the same species as it also has a bigger claw.

erm where do you find them in spore? i saw alot of it at pasir ris park but once you step onto the mud path your feet will get stuck and sink in.

:(

Hi, I did not get them from pasir ris. Caught them in a mangrove like area near a storm drain. The place has been destroyed to make way for new buildings. :(

woonming,

Both species mentioned have been caught at Pasir Ris.

U just have to know the proper technique and their favorite stretch which they hang out.

Cardinal Tetra,

Goby quite cute ah.... too bad only 1, so lonely.

I like the tank....

If i had spare place and time, I dun mind setting up 1 too.

But i'll most likely keep blue claws then fiddlers.

Off topic a bit nevermind lah. :P

As long as got nice pics to see mah.

Cardinal Tetra,

Cool man! B)

I tried very hard b4 i got 1 tiny mudskipper.

Released it the next day since i just wanted to see

it up-close. They skip over water like rocket man.

Um, no pump in the tank?

Water change? Crabs dirty the water faster than fish.

Not starting another one? :pinch:

If U starting another tank i can help U get some fiddlers.

They taking over my beach liao.... :pirate:

Cardinal Tetra,

Cool man! B)

I tried very hard b4 i got 1 tiny mudskipper.

Released it the next day since i just wanted to see

it up-close. They skip over water like rocket man.

Um, no pump in the tank?

Water change? Crabs dirty the water faster than fish.

Not starting another one?  :pinch:

If U starting another tank i can help U get some fiddlers.

They taking over my beach liao.... :pirate:

If you look closely, there is a small pump at the left corner of the tank. It's used to create some aeration for the water. As for water change, the place where I caught them from is already polluted so in my opinion my clean tank conditions would kill them instead! I only changed water once a month.

I fed the crabs and mudskippers with small pieces of frozen fish and flakes. The mudskippers help themselves to the small longkang fishes as well.

Not planning to set up another tank as the tank is now used as my sump. :lol:

If you want we can meet up sometime to catch crabs at Pasir Ris as I've never tried catching there before though I stay around there. ;)