Test PH

Need some advice. I have a 2" x 1" x 1" feet tank, i have 6 fishes and some feather worms in it, currently, i have a atman 105 pump with weipro skimmer 2012.

I believe the pump is too powerly for my small tank, initially creating lot of noise, finally resolve it by cutting a hole on the hose between the pump and skimmer, that resolve the problem and also act as an waver for my tank.

Infuture, i forseen to keep some simple corals, definitely not getting a chiller for my small tank. So.. i use fan, and heard it evaporate the water fast.

How do i conduct ph test for my tank to make sure that it stay between 8.3 -8.4 when i top more water to my tank. Currently... now when i top some water, i will leave it overnight with puffer in it. Should i add puffer on the tank after adding water or with a bail of water (add puffer in it) ?

Any help and advice.

You can buy PH test kits at LFS and test your water. Maintaining good PH of your tank is VERY important.....

If your PH is too low, you can always buy PH buffers, also sold in LFS, to increase your PH.

Best is, read up all info about PH and try to understand it....

All the best bro!!!! ;)

Dear Bro,

Hope the below information helps:

1) Its Buffers not Puffers

2) Buffers are not meant to be added nightly

3) What you need to dose in order to maintain pH at night is Kalkwasser

4) By cutting a hole in your pipping to your skimmer, you are reducing your skimmer performance

5) You can use 2 parts Solutions, Kalkwasser, Calcium Reactor to maintain Calcium, Akalinity & indirectly pH. Which ever method you chose, the applications and dosage is different.

I have PH buffer.. but how do i test it if i top up water frequently.

Actually you can top-up water maybe very evening and test your water a few hours later.

As for the buffer, dun use unless necessary and when you have tested you Ca and kH. ;)

Most pH or kH buffers consist of BiCarbonate of Soda. With indiscriminate dosage, it will cause Ca to drop drastically and may even cause Ionic Imbalance.

So.. mean for every top-up of water, i need to use the test kif.... oops... than my test kit will finish very fast, right ? :(

No lah.

Actually most reeefrs dun test frequently too if not we all bankrupt long ago liao.

The trick is to:

1) Test when unsure of the tank requirement ie new tank

2) Test when you find livestocks stress

3) Test when livestocks dies

4) Test when you are unsure of dosage your system require

HTH ;)

By the way, how are you going to maintain Ca and kH since right now you know that you can't just dose Buffers? ;)

I have setup my tank for more than 1 months already, so far... with the skimmer.... the water was crystal clear and none of my life stocks actually dies during the tank cycle period and till today.

I have not bought the test kit till today... so do you think my waster PH was normal ?

I didn't know that there are so many things to watch for marine aquarium... i still have lot of interest and trying to understand more.

Hi bro,

We have not even touch the tip of the iceberg here. :P There are tons to learn and till today I am still learning.

I suggest you read more and find another reefer with more experience to assist you every step of the way as somethings cannot be covered just by a few paragraph of texts.

HTH ;)

well ..just be careful .. I have a small tank too .. and I didn't check my pH for about a week .. then found out it dropped to 7 (neutral) .. so added the soda in .. next day both my cleaner shrimps became anemone food .. couldn't take the change in conditions .. :(

aquatronica7na.gif

thanks.. guest i need to buy the PH tester quick to test water.

;) that the way bro...these is one of the basic items that you need.... :lol: