SRC Member tiger Posted September 13, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 13, 2003 I was in Sarawak recently and happens to browse some books on marine life, also watch some documentary on sea life in discovery channel. Just set me thinking looking at the fishes, ray, corals etc flourishing in the vast ocean and sea, are we then cruel by keeping these magnificiant sea creatures in our small tanks??? any tot?? Just my tot. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tiger Posted September 13, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 13, 2003 Moderator, pls help close this thread for me, tnks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member metals99 Posted September 13, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 13, 2003 very cruel indeed why wanna close this thread some be move to kopitiam actually... why u wanna be cruel now hehe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tiger Posted September 13, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 13, 2003 aiyo, that why I better request to close this thread lor, since most of us keep marine and someone might not want to discuss this topic openly. For me, I am OK to talk about it, thought I am also guilty too, he he he. But hey, someone may come up with some good explanation, just like keeping bird etc, althought I also think bird should be free to fly around rather than caged them. Juz my tot. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member junyong84 Posted September 13, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 13, 2003 if u r good at reef and fishes... u maybe helpin to keep em alive... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member pospeh Posted September 13, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 13, 2003 Well, there are worse ways of treating fishes, like killing them and eating them. As long as we are not depleting the species, it is ok to exploit the marine envirnoment for our own gains. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dazza Posted September 13, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 13, 2003 Everything is in balance & moderation lah. Thats why it is so impt to do research b4 actually rushing out to buy all the stuff. make sure these live stoicks u buy hv a strong chance of survival in their new environment. U can also like some of the guys here do- frag yr own corals, buy captive raised fishes etc. Of course if u feel very strongly against it, then by all means dont keep marines. Its your personal choice actually. Quote Main Tank : 48 inch by 36 inch by 28 inch (2 sides starphire glass)Sump Tank :Return Pump :Chiller : Starmax Compressor 1 HP Drop coilChiller Return Pump Protein Skimmer :Wave Maker :Fluidised Reactor : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SpiderOne Posted September 13, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 13, 2003 we are doing the fish a favour by keeping them and rearing them. If they are in the sea or in our tanks. they wont know the difference. u overestimate their intelligence Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Sinn Posted September 13, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 13, 2003 spider... didnt u watch finding nemo ? haha Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tanzy Posted September 13, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 13, 2003 Quote Warning: Heavy handed moderator in operation. Threads and post are liable to be deleted or moved without prior notification. Moderator's prerogative will be enforced. Any grievances or complains should be addressed to The Administrator. http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/uploads/post-36-1073276974.gif Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted September 13, 2003 Share Posted September 13, 2003 Ah its the stare of evil nemo....NOoooooooooooo! Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...