Price Of A H&S Skimmer

Nitro

A pic of my sump tank... still waiting for the good algae to grow, grow and grow! In the mean time, put in some squirts and thinking of getting some clams to help process nitrate.

post-17-1123085769.jpg

Nice work Nitro! If I am not wrong those are Bryopsis and are nuisance algae.

Anyway for macro algae the best for refugium is Chaetomorpha.

Try to search for a "chaeto farmer" in SRC, he should have some to sell you. Hehehe ;)

As for the bryopsis, try to remove them before it get too late. :evil::evil::evil:

A pic of my sump tank... still waiting for the good algae to grow, grow and grow! In the mean time, put in some squirts and thinking of getting some clams to help process nitrate.

Nitro,

how did you keep your sump tank so clean and OMG..., not even a water droplet on the glass plane!

Mine look like a kampong house; shabby, messy

Thanx for the compliment. Yes I've designed the sump tank with considerations on water spills and reducing bubbles forming. Will try to post a pic of the sump from top view. Only sump tank nice... wait till you see my main... sure got ppl said CANNOT MAKE IT... haha.

You have got a Good Skimmer at a Good Price too.

I think there are 2 guys selling in the Pasar Malem thread for the bigger size unit.

btw, if you are facing the splashing from the output of the unit, you can tie a filter bag (or something similar) at the output area, the water will flow out smoothly into the tank. Alternatively, get a larger size pipe, L-joint, place it at the output and lean against the wall.

Hi Gouldian, thanx for the advice. Yes those hair algae on the glass panel are nuisance but the one on the rocks are one kind of Caulerpa algae I think, cuz I see most LFS do sell them from time to time leh. I bought it from CF as a rockful of the fern caulerpa with abit of it but the fern started dying when I trid to changed photo period from 24/7 to 12/7 than now this remenants take over liao lor. Can tell me who the chaetomorpha farmer ;)

Yup I also saw some Caulerpa, for caulerpa you need to be careful that they don't turn sexual. When that happens they will release toxins into your tank.

Thus most reefers with caulerpa will have to have the fuge lighted 24/7.

With Chaeto, you need not worry about them turning against you. Thus most people prefers to get chaeto.

Look out for some regular posters' signature and you will find chaeto farmer. Hehehe Not convenient for me to "tua" him, dunno whether he is ready to sell. ;)

H&S, Iwaki and some china brand pump is cheaper in HK. They have this wonderful street with all the LFS in one area. If you are a serious aquarium lover it is a heaven. I get to be in HK often due to work so it is lucky to get chance to see them often.

Was with my wife in HK and in exchange for my $1300 plus H&S, I have to get her a $1000 plus LV bag in return. can PM me if u like to find out more abt the shop there.

I placed a DIY partition between the refg and skimmer is to cut the light from the refg shinning into the skimmer internal wall which can caused algea to form inside... will become very unsightly and most importantly, can reduced skimmer effectiveness.

post-17-1123263924.jpg