SRC Member alanseah Posted July 21, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 21, 2005 Hi, Just want to do a simple check see how many reefer suffer from cyano problem. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Kelmen Posted July 21, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 21, 2005 They are reduce in my tank, but they are definitely there. Laying dormant.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hotlemond Posted July 21, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 21, 2005 use to have them once. but now with alot of flow, Rowa and better skimmer they are history. My votes are in Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member alanseah Posted July 21, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 21, 2005 keep the poll coming in ppls.... maybe someone can get some idea to help.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kschew1498 Posted July 21, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 21, 2005 I voted liao....sadly I falls under "Still suffering......" Even though I increase my flow, change water once a fornight including sweeping off the cyno from the sand bed, change MH light bulb......still suffering this problem.....but then there is improvement. Think I need to upgrade my PS ...currently using 2 Macro Needle Wheel skimmer, 150 & 200 model..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member alanseah Posted July 21, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 21, 2005 I voted liao....sadly I falls under "Still suffering......" Even though I increase my flow, change water once a fornight including sweeping off the cyno from the sand bed, change MH light bulb......still suffering this problem.....but then there is improvement. Think I need to upgrade my PS ...currently using 2 Macro Needle Wheel skimmer, 150 & 200 model..... my dear fren why not you bring about 20ml of your main tank water to me and I help me measure your p04 and see what is your level and from there at least u got idea how to go about reducing it... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kschew1498 Posted July 21, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 21, 2005 my dear fren why not you bring about 20ml of your main tank water to me and I help me measure your p04 and see what is your level and from there at least u got idea how to go about reducing it... K N N ....you are saying I illiterate or color blind la!!! ...I am using Salifert ok.....hahahaha Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member alanseah Posted July 21, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 21, 2005 K N N ....you are saying I illiterate or color blind la!!! ...I am using Salifert ok.....hahahaha lolz.. no la.. I dont need to see color cause I use Hanna... which your Salifert can be colorless but it dont mean 0 p04.. hehehe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted July 21, 2005 Share Posted July 21, 2005 lolz.. no la.. I dont need to see color cause I use Hanna... which your Salifert can be colorless but it dont mean 0 p04.. hehehe That's going to cost you 40cents (same as salifert PO4/test). In my experience with hanna PO4 meter showing 0.1ppm salifert PO4 already cannot detect the color (not that there is no color but the blue is very very light, almost impossible to see. If you try to look thru the hanna test tube it also show almost no color too. There is still lots of room for reducing the PO4 level from 0.1ppm. That is why you see people making claim that their PO4 are 0 but why still got algae growing Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kschew1498 Posted July 21, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 21, 2005 teasing you la Alan......I ought to upgrade myskimmer! wah piangz.....hanna also cost so much per test ah?!.......thought its a continuous measuring devices......pardon my ignorance..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted July 21, 2005 Share Posted July 21, 2005 online measurement? Using ISE? wow that is surely 5 figure equipment 40cents is $$? then you try deltec/merck low range PO4 test kit, that is 80cents/test Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member alanseah Posted July 22, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 22, 2005 still got anyone.. i though that time i see alot of ppls mention they suffer from it.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member madmac Posted July 22, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 22, 2005 I've got cyano... lots of them.. but its not the red carpet sort... more like brownish green in colour, encrusting over the LRs and coraline algae . Will post a pic tis evening. They're difficult to get rid of. Employing the help of a urchin, but he doesn't like cyano. What a real pest these cyanobacteria. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ambystoma82 Posted July 22, 2005 Share Posted July 22, 2005 more water change do help to reduce bio load ??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted July 22, 2005 Share Posted July 22, 2005 Unless the cause of the high nutrients is solved, changing water will not help that much. How much water do you want to change Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member alanseah Posted July 23, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 23, 2005 I've got cyano... lots of them.. but its not the red carpet sort... more like brownish green in colour, encrusting over the LRs and coraline algae . Will post a pic tis evening. They're difficult to get rid of. Employing the help of a urchin, but he doesn't like cyano. What a real pest these cyanobacteria. where is the pic..??? power sia... i never see a tank got alot of cyano... show us... and i never see other color cyano be4.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member madmac Posted July 24, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 24, 2005 Alan, you an your "power"... you must have affinity for 'power', power canisters, power cyano, what other power. BTW, do you use a powerbook? This is taken from the rt side, there are many other places that look like this... but here's only one pic.. it starts off like a small patch and grows fast and big over and covers over even coraline. I've having a hard time removing them. It even grows on the snail shells. Its definitely cyano. If anyone can advise on how to eradicate, I am indebted. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
haziqboy Posted July 24, 2005 Share Posted July 24, 2005 Hi, just sharing my Trial & Error remedy here, (hope the spelling is correct) had a cyno all over LR & sand bed before, what i did was do a 'Total Blackout' for 4 continous day & also applied some Ultralife red slim remover into main tank & 'VOILA' all of the cyno dissapeared. It's kind of risk towards the corals, (w/out photoperiod, mine are all LPS) But it works. Just my 0.2cents. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member alanseah Posted July 24, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 24, 2005 Alan, you an your "power"... you must have affinity for 'power', power canisters, power cyano, what other power. BTW, do you use a powerbook? This is taken from the rt side, there are many other places that look like this... but here's only one pic.. it starts off like a small patch and grows fast and big over and covers over even coraline. I've having a hard time removing them. It even grows on the snail shells. Its definitely cyano. If anyone can advise on how to eradicate, I am indebted. ya i'm using PB Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
M4rk4nth Posted July 25, 2005 Share Posted July 25, 2005 I'd like to share how I got rid of Cyno in my Main Tub (Yes tank burst), My tub is in Natural Sunlight so I had a real Cyno problem, it was all over my rocks even over the roots of the 6 Mangrove plants I have in the tub. Din't feel like spending on salt to change water, because I was ready to give up. so I did something quiet stupid, I though hey if Cyno grows so fast wonder if we can use it for nutrient export. I got a jeri can, cut of the top drill a small hole at the bottom and fix a hose back to my tub. I ran a small pump to send water from the top in a direction so the water was moving in a slow circular motion around the sides. I used a white sheet of pastic film to cover the insides, then I took my table lamp and shined it in 24/7. Cyno grew on the white sheet like crazy, and I took it out every 3 days to partially scrap of the cyano. After 2 weeks the cyno in my main tank started turning green? ya green... Heck I had pretty much ignored my tub for the time. anyway I got a turbo snail and it pretty much ate every strip of the green as soon as it grew. Any my main tubs been clear for the last year or so and the cyano inside the jeri can has turned half green ( replaced by a more platable algae) My Mangroves are growing and thriving ever since the cyano disappeared and my corals are coming back to life. BTW I direct feed my Gonipora, Rics and Bubble Cyclopeez every other day thats alot of nutrients ... still no cyano in main tank. I've not changed my water in 5 months. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member XPeriment 626 Posted July 25, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 25, 2005 Cyano as nutrient export! That has got to be a first Quote Be teachable always, nobody has a monopoly on wisdom. But learn to distinguish "fact" from "opinion". Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member alanseah Posted July 25, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 25, 2005 src only 35 reefer in here..??? come on guys.. I know some reefer r facing the problems also but come in see and walk out... come in share your view la.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member madmac Posted July 25, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 25, 2005 Alan, great choice on the pb.! Now having seen the pic, what do you think I shd do... Haziqboy, I think the complete blackout treatment will work, but not prepared to try it, leh. Is this also called red carpet? Will red-slime remover help for tis type of cyano? I'm thinking this could also be more of a flow issue, and not nutrient as there is very little algae in the tank. Cyano is known to be N fixing. It doesn't need nutrients, jus Nitrogen is enough. It is also a type of bacteria and not algae. Again, I'm very appreciative on any advise given to help. Thx! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tigger Posted August 10, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted August 10, 2005 I only have cyano problem whenever I change my Mh bulb or T5 tubes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member yellowfin tuna Posted October 11, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 11, 2005 hi,, do you guys practice sing a low powered head to move ard the tank to blow on the LR to get rid of sediments, dust ,,etc...... and if any one does do it,,, wonder this will help in reducing the growth of cyano... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...