600kg and above

maroonclown

Hi all Reefers out there ...

Just happened to chat with a friend working in HDB ...

And just talk about fishes and fish tank and she mentioned that it is illegal to house a fish tank that is more than 600kg ... OMG !!

one need to apply permit if the entire weight is more than 600kg ...

So any reefers out here ever apply for permit ? and if so is it a complicated matter ?

Regards...

It is always complicated when it comes to them ...

I am going thru some guidelines from HDB and provide some feedback ...

BTW my friend ask the technical department , they said, living room flooring is not as tough as kitchen .. so it is advisable to place the tank in kitchen ...

So any reefers actually apply permit or just simply place at own will ?

my ex works in HDB as a technical officer.. she once told me this.. as long as u dun tell them.. or they have not seen it or nobody complain u .. then its okay ..

HDB also not FBI or CIA .. they dun plant hidden cameras in ur house ..

unless ur neighbour really not happy with u .. then they go and complain u lah ..

in term of structure wise.. HDB always over spec when they design flats ..

my ex works in HDB as a technical officer.. she once told me this.. as long as u dun tell them.. or they have not seen it or nobody complain u .. then its okay ..

HDB also not FBI or CIA .. they dun plant hidden cameras in ur house ..

unless ur neighbour really not happy with u .. then they go and complain u lah ..

in term of structure wise.. HDB always over spec when they design flats ..

Should it be place near a pillar beam then ?

got friend placing 2 x 5ft in the centre of living room [ arowana ]

and 2 x 6ft agaisnt the wall .

I like to know how many ppls does it without permit ?

in term of engineering point of view.. yes .. its best near a load bearing wall or pillar. so that the weight of the tank can be transfer down to the pillar thru the shortest route..

if too heavy and still place in the middle of the floor, may cause the celling of the neigbour down stairs to crack.. the get complain .. then thats when HDB will see ur tank .. haha

If you are concerned, by the rule of thumb anything above 4ft must seek permission from HDB. Visual check around reveal many people with 6ft tanks have no issue.

There are alot of discussions on this before, just make sure you don't place it at the balcony as it is not designed to take a lot of weight.

Beams and columns designs are usually quite uniform throughout (except the balcony and a/c ledge) so there should be not much differentiation between living rooms and kitchens. All live loads and dead loads have been catered for including safety factors.

1 cubic meter = 1000l = 1000kg = 1 tonne

4x2x2 (tank) + 3x1.5x1.5(sump) = 450 kg + 190kg (assuming fully filled to brim) just about 600kg max

So just do it - no problem. Unless you are talking about extremely old pre-war houses.

hmm i was talking to a tank maker on thrusday late afternnon... asking him why he is loading the un glue 8feet glasss into a 14 feet lorry...

he told me that marine tank this size cannot be glue in the workshop but only at the customer house.. cos it will be too heavy to carry.. as we speak along while he is preparing.. he told me it will be house in a 5rm HDB flat .. !!!! WOW.. just imag 8 feet by 3feet 2 feet tall... !!! hmmm i dun think HDB will approve on it... but the tank maker.. more and more pple asking to custom make this type of sizes..

Btw the prices are not cheap.. just the tank itself can easily cost 3~ 4 K the glass thickness can easily range from 15mm to 20 mm.. from him .. if taller than 2feet tall.. the thickness will increases too meaning more money :P !!!!

Thats 8 nos of 4 ft tanks put together which means 8 x 450 = 3.6 tonnes (w/o sump) shear stress would be great....generally floor slab are design between a loading capacity of at least 1.5kn/m2 to maybe 3 or 4 for homes so....

hi bro..

hehe this one i dunno lei... i myself belive it also cannot be housed in HDB.. but that is wat the tank maker told me and i saw the unglue glasses with my own eyes ... IMO.. if stay in landed also got this type of issues cause 3.6 tonne will also cause the flooring and soil below the house to sink after some times... unless specially build concrete beam to house the heavy weight .... :P

think the owner of the HDB flat.. will face problems sooner or later.. look out for the headline... !!!! :P

maybe it is one of the reefer in SRC ???

:fear:

care to explain what these ?

good info bro... hmmm base line still have to check wif HDB if the tank stated more than 600kg......... hmmm just out of cus... is there a fee ofr submitting the from ???

my friend told me no fee .. but ... subject to approval.... so not sure ...anyone know ?