Pistol shrimps

cornyfish

Hi fellow reefers!

I woke up this morning to find that the entire claw of my favourite pistol shrimp had broken off for unknown reasons, so its now left with only a small claw on the other side. :(

Just wondering, is it possible for pistol shrimps/lobsters to grow back their claws? Maybe after molting?

Hi fellow reefers!

I woke up this morning to find that the entire claw of my favourite pistol shrimp had broken off for unknown reasons, so its now left with only a small claw on the other side. :(

Just wondering, is it possible for pistol shrimps/lobsters to grow back their claws? Maybe after molting?

Yes, they will..... ;)

Oh glad to hear the claws will grow back... :rolleyes:

Esp cos i just realised the other claw had broken off too, so now it is left with no claws.. and i'm really wondering why the claws got dislodged for no apparant reason, it just molted yesterday and the only other inhabitants in the tank are a couple of cleaner shrimps..

it probably got attcked after molting b4 the shell hardens. Add some iodide to hlp & encourage the molting process lah.

mine red pistol shrimp takes abt 3wks to grow back its broken claw

but after it grows back takes sumtime for it to fatten up

notice e two claw both r for diffferent purpose

during recovering of claw it will hide.....but if beri beri long neber ###### out ermz.. like 1 mth keep fingers cross mayb bcum snacks for other fish liaoz loh..

depends if got any other territorial shrimps..

:ooh::ooh::ooh:

Yes yes! My red pistol shrimp is always hiding now, and has refused all food for almost a week liao... i'm very worried it may not last long w/o food.. :erm:

The only good thing about my tank is that it is completely fishless, and has only skunk cleaner shrimps in it, other than the pistol shrimp.

Btw, your pistol shrimp's claw broke off by itself too?

Oh, my pistol shrimp is the type below... minus the claws, unfortunately.

lg_80428.jpg

I had wanted to take a pic of my own but it kept hiding in its cave... 1 week already yet no sign of any claw regenerating. It has also consistently refused all food, Day 9 of self-imposed starvation already.. Everyday i try pushing a small piece of food into its cave, but without fail, it will push the piece out of its cave, uneaten. :(

:phone: they sure look alike but duno same species a not hmm...

if u knw which cave they hiding in u block their entrance they got push it out meaning they still alive..

unless is ur current blow it away or sum other thing go push it away...

Oh yes, i know its still alive cos it will physically carry the piece of food with its front legs then throw it out of its cave before quickly returning back to its cave..

which i find rather strange behaviour.. usually if fishes/shrimps dun want to eat they'll just ignore the food, rather than take pains to throw it out of the way.