SRC Member cornyfish Posted July 10, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 10, 2005 Hi fellow reefers! I woke up this morning to find that the entire claw of my favourite pistol shrimp had broken off for unknown reasons, so its now left with only a small claw on the other side. Just wondering, is it possible for pistol shrimps/lobsters to grow back their claws? Maybe after molting? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted July 10, 2005 Share Posted July 10, 2005 Hi fellow reefers! I woke up this morning to find that the entire claw of my favourite pistol shrimp had broken off for unknown reasons, so its now left with only a small claw on the other side. Just wondering, is it possible for pistol shrimps/lobsters to grow back their claws? Maybe after molting? Yes, they will..... Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member regal angel Posted July 10, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 10, 2005 how long? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cornyfish Posted July 10, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 10, 2005 Oh glad to hear the claws will grow back... Esp cos i just realised the other claw had broken off too, so now it is left with no claws.. and i'm really wondering why the claws got dislodged for no apparant reason, it just molted yesterday and the only other inhabitants in the tank are a couple of cleaner shrimps.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dazza Posted July 11, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 11, 2005 it probably got attcked after molting b4 the shell hardens. Add some iodide to hlp & encourage the molting process lah. Quote Main Tank : 48 inch by 36 inch by 28 inch (2 sides starphire glass)Sump Tank :Return Pump :Chiller : Starmax Compressor 1 HP Drop coilChiller Return Pump Protein Skimmer :Wave Maker :Fluidised Reactor : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ambystoma82 Posted July 15, 2005 Share Posted July 15, 2005 mine red pistol shrimp takes abt 3wks to grow back its broken claw but after it grows back takes sumtime for it to fatten up notice e two claw both r for diffferent purpose during recovering of claw it will hide.....but if beri beri long neber ###### out ermz.. like 1 mth keep fingers cross mayb bcum snacks for other fish liaoz loh.. depends if got any other territorial shrimps.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cornyfish Posted July 15, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 15, 2005 Yes yes! My red pistol shrimp is always hiding now, and has refused all food for almost a week liao... i'm very worried it may not last long w/o food.. The only good thing about my tank is that it is completely fishless, and has only skunk cleaner shrimps in it, other than the pistol shrimp. Btw, your pistol shrimp's claw broke off by itself too? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ambystoma82 Posted July 17, 2005 Share Posted July 17, 2005 ermz.. i accidentaly broke it...while catching it out of my over flow system box.. duno y it go to such high places... dun overdose on ioidine.... REMB!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ambystoma82 Posted July 17, 2005 Share Posted July 17, 2005 this is my red pistol shrimp,,, e fatter claw grow back in 3wks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cornyfish Posted July 18, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 18, 2005 Oh, my pistol shrimp is the type below... minus the claws, unfortunately. I had wanted to take a pic of my own but it kept hiding in its cave... 1 week already yet no sign of any claw regenerating. It has also consistently refused all food, Day 9 of self-imposed starvation already.. Everyday i try pushing a small piece of food into its cave, but without fail, it will push the piece out of its cave, uneaten. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ambystoma82 Posted July 18, 2005 Share Posted July 18, 2005 they sure look alike but duno same species a not hmm... if u knw which cave they hiding in u block their entrance they got push it out meaning they still alive.. unless is ur current blow it away or sum other thing go push it away... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cornyfish Posted July 19, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 19, 2005 they sure look alike but duno same species a not hmm...if u knw which cave they hiding in u block their entrance they got push it out meaning they still alive.. unless is ur current blow it away or sum other thing go push it away... Oh yes, i know its still alive cos it will physically carry the piece of food with its front legs then throw it out of its cave before quickly returning back to its cave.. which i find rather strange behaviour.. usually if fishes/shrimps dun want to eat they'll just ignore the food, rather than take pains to throw it out of the way. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cornyfish Posted July 20, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 20, 2005 My pistol shrimp died liao... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ambystoma82 Posted July 22, 2005 Share Posted July 22, 2005 my condolences.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cornyfish Posted July 23, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 23, 2005 I just got myself a new pistol shrimp today... was just beginning to miss the tak tak tak sound in my tank.. heehee.. hope this one won't end up like the one last time. Thanks for all the advice and concern! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...