SRC Member koniyakutz Posted June 29, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 29, 2005 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted June 29, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 29, 2005 hehex....guess im no.1...using T5 HO..currently keeping softies and LPS... satisfied with it so far... Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted June 29, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 29, 2005 eh.. just reverted back to LPS tank... now running 1x250W 20k and 2 x 24W T5s... tank is 2.5ft Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member koniyakutz Posted June 29, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 29, 2005 eh.. just reverted back to LPS tank... now running 1x250W 20k and 2 x 24W T5s... tank is 2.5ft Can LPS like bubbles and pratas take such intense lighting? Tks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted June 29, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 29, 2005 Can LPS like bubbles and pratas take such intense lighting? Tks shld nt be a prob as long as dun put under the direct MH la.. my 2 cents.. Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted June 29, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 29, 2005 actually not very intense leh.. coz it's 20k... i love MH lighting coz there's that "shimmer" which u don't get with T5s... Anyway i doubt it's as intense as the sun.. i think if u put it up too close it's not so much the light that will kill but the heat... but so far no issues for me leh.. if anything I think i can do with more lights... and current.. and equipment.. and corals.. and... i think u get the picture Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member loster Posted July 2, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 2, 2005 i am using 250W with 10kk, mix reef. so far my lps is doing good. i don't target feed them and it grow real big. if i will have lps only tank, i will go for T5 HO. less heat Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nemo72 Posted July 3, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 3, 2005 Am using 2X150W MH 15K. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cjh Posted July 4, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 4, 2005 i use both T5 and PL.... coz no chiller if not will chg to MH... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member yiling Posted July 4, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 4, 2005 am using 250x1 and 4 t5s for artinic to blend with 10k . pretty good Quote [ My Humble Home] Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurt Cobain Posted July 14, 2005 Share Posted July 14, 2005 ...me using 4x39w......DE lighting..... ...running a fowlr...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member klim Posted July 14, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 14, 2005 I would like to findout what is the difference btw MH with 6.5KK, 10KK, 15KK and 20KK. Is it because difference in the light intensity? If that is the case, as most reefer using 10KK, is it the most recommended for? Comparison: I know PL/T5/T8 generate less heat compare to MH, but example, for a 4x2x2ft tank, we may need 4 pair of T5 to have the tank covered compare to properbly 2x150MH light, the price will be a great difference. 4xT5 would properbly cost $800, whereas a 2x150MH would cost $400...no brand quoted. Would the expert reefer advice is to choose T5 or MH even w/o the above comparison in price? I am in a stage of lost to which light should I choose to put up SPS & LPS...this would be the cost to have number of lights, running cost (Electric fee), maintenance cost (bulk change). Any expert reefer pls give me some advice. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted July 14, 2005 Share Posted July 14, 2005 I would like to findout what is the difference btw MH with 6.5KK, 10KK, 15KK and 20KK. Is it because difference in the light intensity? If that is the case, as most reefer using 10KK, is it the most recommended for? Comparison: I know PL/T5/T8 generate less heat compare to MH, but example, for a 4x2x2ft tank, we may need 4 pair of T5 to have the tank covered compare to properbly 2x150MH light, the price will be a great difference. 4xT5 would properbly cost $800, whereas a 2x150MH would cost $400...no brand quoted. Would the expert reefer advice is to choose T5 or MH even w/o the above comparison in price? I am in a stage of lost to which light should I choose to put up SPS & LPS...this would be the cost to have number of lights, running cost (Electric fee), maintenance cost (bulk change). Any expert reefer pls give me some advice. Bro, me no expert... but seriously, wat do you wanna keep predominantly?!?! SPS? LPS? Softties? Fish only? Dat's more important.... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Rocky99 Posted July 15, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 15, 2005 i think MHs for looks good for an lps tank. bright, intense. nice shimmering effect on sand bed. u can supplement with t5 if you want stronger lightings, and more control over the color and intensity. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member klim Posted July 15, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 15, 2005 Bro, me no expert... but seriously, wat do you wanna keep predominantly?!?! SPS? LPS? Softties? Fish only? Dat's more important.... My intention is to keep LPS and Softies...so what's your recommendation? MH with ??KK lights or T5 lights ? Thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted July 15, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 15, 2005 My intention is to keep LPS and Softies...so what's your recommendation? MH with ??KK lights or T5 lights ? Thanks T5 HO is sufficient to keep softies and LPS...best is to have a chiiler...so that the colaration will not fade away...my 2 cents.. Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
slcw Posted July 21, 2005 Share Posted July 21, 2005 I keep LPS. I use the following 2x 150 watts Arcadia and 2 x 30 watts FL here are simple LPS Quote Azoo Tank (TOTM) >> http://www.ultimatereef.com/TOTM/2009_november/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member angmoh Posted August 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted August 16, 2005 I would like to findout what is the difference btw MH with 6.5KK, 10KK, 15KK and 20KK. Is it because difference in the light intensity? If that is the case, as most reefer using 10KK, is it the most recommended for? the K, kelvin is the color temperature ... 6.5k is almost the full color spectrum (like sunglight, kinda yellowish), the higher it goes, the bluer the bulb is. 10kk is considered very white light + a bit blueish, yet 15k,20k is blueish. i believe corals do best in 6.5k, but for viewing purpose, many ppl choose to go for higher K, as it looks brighter and clearer. and of course, blue can bring out the flouroscent of the corals as well Quote >> Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member angmoh Posted August 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted August 16, 2005 btw , my tank is not corals-dominated tank .. but i have some simple corals like mushrooms, buttons, and gonipora lighting: 1 x 20W FL Daylight tube + 1 x 20W marine blue + aluminium reflector ... and all of them expanding pretty well.. Quote >> Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kasimselamat Posted October 14, 2005 Share Posted October 14, 2005 angmoh...wat size was ur tank...now im using 150 Wat Mh..very hot even wit 3 fans...thinking to use fl...my tanks size..2.5x2x1....fl can support the deep of my tank?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter ReDDeviLs Posted October 20, 2005 SRC Supporter Share Posted October 20, 2005 my tank only consist of softies and lps,currently running 2x250W mh 10kk blv bulbs intend to change to bluer bulbs. Quote [ ] [ ] Reef Reefing Reefed Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member angmoh Posted November 4, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted November 4, 2005 my tank size is 2 x 1 x 1 but now i'm setting up a 2.5 x 1.5 x 1.5 still dunno which kinda light i should go for.. maybe i'll go for 2 x 24w T5HO , maybe 20,000k Quote >> Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thecoralscove Posted November 21, 2005 Share Posted November 21, 2005 T5 HO for me bro. 10K and blue tube Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cityofangels Posted December 22, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted December 22, 2005 My tank is a 4 X 2 X 2.5ft and I'm using MH 150w X 2, 14kk, PL 24w X 4. My tank is mostly LPS and some hard corals like Bubbles, frogspawn. No SPS. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zarkon Posted December 22, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted December 22, 2005 4 X 2 X 2 ft tank. 4XT5 HO. Only soft coral & LPS. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...