How long should I switch on the lights

Need more details like what you have in ur tank (kind of corals, or only fishes) and the light you using

no corals at the moment (but some Mushrooms). Some damsels (around 7).

Lights are 2x 15W FL (1@ 10,000K white, 1@ ?K pink) and 1x 55W PL (blue).

Qazwer

no corals at the moment (but some Mushrooms). Some damsels (around 7).

Lights are 2x 15W FL (1@ 10,000K white, 1@ ?K pink) and 1x 55W PL (blue).

Qazwer

u can try to open it from 9/10am to 5/6pm, 8 to 10 hours a day.

How about intervals? Can I switch on for few hours (say 4 hours) and off it for about 3 to 4 hours and on it again (max up to total of 8 hrs per day)?

Qazwer

why do you have to put in intervals? those switching on and off are unnecessary to stress your fish. Let it run for the 8 hours and set the time so you can enjoy them when you are home from work/school.

the pink light? better dun use them. I am worry it will promote bad algae

why do you have to put in intervals? those switching on and off are unnecessary to stress your fish. Let it run for the 8 hours and set the time so you can enjoy them when you are home from work/school.

the pink light? better dun use them. I am worry it will promote bad algae

oh, this tai kor already answering the questions!!! about the pink color, me no idea on this, sorry, cant help!!

the light period is to "simulate" the sunny time for your tank inhabitants.

Unless you put your tank with direct sunlight, then you don't need bother.

Where got 1 day got 2 times sunrise and down one? Your LS may mutate lah!

For the period, best if you can follow the nature one.

Usually we give 12 hours, and the period last until we back from work, still can enjoy the tank.

HTH

Ohh ... okay ...

Anyway, I tot I can watch them before leaving for work and in the night after work (before going back to bed).

by the way, just fyi, my planted tanks are on in intervals. I was just thinking if this works for reef tanks as well.

Anyway, :thanks: for all the tips. :bow: I'll take note of the pinkish light too. Gotta change it quick!

Qazwer

How about intervals? Can I switch on for few hours (say 4 hours) and off it for about 3 to 4 hours and on it again (max up to total of 8 hrs per day)?

erm... u think the corals and fishes do shift work ah? hehehe... bro just do it at 1 stretch lah..

or issit coz u wanna view ur tank before u leave work/school, then come back view again?

I just want to know.. For a 8-12hr light cycle... How many hours would you use MH for? 1-2hrs? 3-4hrs? :blink:

MH should be around 6hrs, exceeding will promote algae and yet does not serve much use to the corals. ;)

hi , does that mean i on 7.5 hrs is too long and stressful for my lps ? should

reduce to 6? i dont have other types of lighting, i only use 2 x 10,000k mh :)

hi , does that mean i on 7.5 hrs is too long and stressful for my lps ? should

reduce to 6? i dont have other types of lighting, i only use 2 x 10,000k mh :)

Hi Chye Huat, thanks for the book!

7.5hrs or 8 also will do, it all depends of individual tank conditions.

Previously most reefers light up their tank 12-14 hrs using FL light and tried the same with MH and realized that the additional hours did not benefit much but rather encourages algi growth.

Thus some of them decides to shorten the MH photoperiod.

For me, my T5s actinic 03 will go for 13hrs while my MH 6 hours. I used to have MH for 9hrs but realized increased of diatoms and other algi. Thus I heed DE's advise by lowering it a bit. :lol::D

erm... u think the corals and fishes do shift work ah? hehehe... bro just do it at 1 stretch lah..

or issit coz u wanna view ur tank before u leave work/school, then come back view again?

This is what i did ...

My planted is running on PL (4X36W for 3feet), which I connect them together with CO2 solenoid regulator. I switch them on from 11am to 3pm and 6pm to 12am (that was because at that time, I working irregular shift - But now, my working hours are more regular).

Since it doesn't shows any sign of algae blooming, so I've been practising this for the past 1 year plus.

I not sure if this can be applied for Marine tank.

And definately I'm was thinking of watching they before and after work.

:):):)