Hokag3 Posted June 21, 2005 Share Posted June 21, 2005 Hi, I have already set up and running (now mixing the salt) a 2x1x1 c/w sump. Now I am wondering what to do next...which filter media should i use? Bio balls or coral chips? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
veliferium Posted June 22, 2005 Share Posted June 22, 2005 Skip the coral chips and bio balls.. Build a refugium instead and add in chemical filtration. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Eric Posted June 22, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 22, 2005 Hi, I have already set up and running (now mixing the salt) a 2x1x1 c/w sump. Now I am wondering what to do next...which filter media should i use?Bio balls or coral chips? Forget abt the refugium too since the sump is quite small. Not going to help much. Filled up your main tank with Live rocks for bio-filteration, & go with a powerful skimmer (eg. H&S or Beckett) in the first compartment & return pump, chiller pump on the last compartment. Simple, clean operation. Eric Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hokag3 Posted June 22, 2005 Author Share Posted June 22, 2005 Yup, agree with Eric...my sump 2 small 4 refugium, but really dun need any bio filter?? First time i heard of it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member subxero Posted June 22, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 22, 2005 Yup, agree with Eric...my sump 2 small 4 refugium, but really dun need any bio filter?? First time i heard of it With large amount of live rocks.. it is a bio-filter Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dsam Posted June 22, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 22, 2005 Forget abt the refugium too since the sump is quite small. Not going to help much. Filled up your main tank with Live rocks for bio-filteration, & go with a powerful skimmer (eg. H&S or Beckett) in the first compartment & return pump, chiller pump on the last compartment. Simple, clean operation. Eric Dun mind me asking. Wat do you mean when you mentioned first compartment & return pump? Are you refering to the same compartment? Isn't the first compartment for the water to flow down from the main tank, and the return pump in the last compartment where it pumps the water back to the main tank? Sorry, me still learning, thats why I asked. Pls enlighten me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hokag3 Posted June 23, 2005 Author Share Posted June 23, 2005 Other than live rocks, can coral chips or the bio balls act as bio filter? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Awgui Posted June 23, 2005 Share Posted June 23, 2005 coral chips n bio balls can act as bio filters to allow aerobic bacterias ==> converts ammonia to nitrate. However, they may trap debris and may also be a nitrate factory and the final product nitrate would be a big problem Live rocks are good as it also allows anaerobic bacteria to thrive as well, to convert nitrate to n2. This is what i learnt from the forum. Correct me if i m wrong. Thanks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Eric Posted June 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 23, 2005 Dun mind me asking. Wat do you mean when you mentioned first compartment & return pump? Are you refering to the same compartment? Isn't the first compartment for the water to flow down from the main tank, and the return pump in the last compartment where it pumps the water back to the main tank? Sorry, me still learning, thats why I asked. Pls enlighten me. Ya, 1st compartment is where your tank water overflow down, which is where your skimmer pump should be too. Your last compartment would be where you place your return pumps (pump water back to tank). Just before your last compartment its good to have 3 or more layers of baffle plates to reduce air bubbles from going back to tank. Eric Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tanga Posted June 24, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 24, 2005 Sorry newbie here too. what is baffle plate. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Eric Posted June 24, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 24, 2005 Sorry newbie here too. what is baffle plate. baffle plates are just layers of glass use for reducing air bubbles. Eric Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member subxero Posted June 24, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 24, 2005 Ya, 1st compartment is where your tank water overflow down, which is where your skimmer pump should be too. Your last compartment would be where you place your return pumps (pump water back to tank). Just before your last compartment its good to have 3 or more layers of baffle plates to reduce air bubbles from going back to tank. Eric Aren't skimmer pump suppose to be in the middle/second compartment? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted June 24, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 24, 2005 coral chips n bio balls can act as bio filters to allow aerobic bacterias ==> converts ammonia to nitrate. However, they may trap debris and may also be a nitrate factory and the final product nitrate would be a big problem Live rocks are good as it also allows anaerobic bacteria to thrive as well, to convert nitrate to n2. This is what i learnt from the forum. Correct me if i m wrong. Thanks. the reason y bio balls will become nitrate factories...the only reason is bcos reefers here did not place a strainer of top of the bio balls tower..with a sponge on top and a strainer...how would dirt enter the bio ball tower??? therefore..bio balls are useful to a large extent and of cuz..with the correct usage...nitrate factory is defintely a NONO!!...for a small sump...glass rings can also be introduce to home bacteria.. Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hokag3 Posted June 24, 2005 Author Share Posted June 24, 2005 I think it would be better if there is a picture of the sump, of how all the equipments r placed so newbies like me can learn frm it. Sorry...i know this is a bit spoon feed.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Eric Posted June 24, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 24, 2005 I think it would be better if there is a picture of the sump, of how all the equipments r placed so newbies like me can learn frm it. Sorry...i know this is a bit spoon feed.... 1st compartment is where your overflow from tank goes in, that should be where you put your skimmer pump so most detritus carried over will be skim out. 2nd compartment you can put ur calcium reactor or you can leave it empty. 3rd compartment is where your return pump is. In between 2nd & 3rd, there should be layers of baffle plates to eliminate air bubbles. Eric Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kotobuki Posted July 18, 2005 Share Posted July 18, 2005 Hahaha I confuse liao, Pai Seh very newbie. My current setup is: 4 compartment Sump 3ft x 1.5ft x 14" 1st compariment(water from tank) - Suspended filter wool(common white wool from LFS) - Followed by strainer and bioball(still suspendend on top of water) - Den A.R.M(Ammonia Removal Media underwater) 2nd compartment - Skimmer 3rd compartment - currently nothin inside but plan to load tons of algae plants inside. Inbetween the 2 baffel plate of 3rd and 4th - active carbon wool 4th compartment - return pump and control valve I feel abit weird about the active carbon location was wondering if i should relocate it??? Any senior here care to comment about my setup?? All comment good or bad are welcome. Would very much wanna learn more Rgds Tak Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Angel Posted July 18, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted July 18, 2005 Place the carbon in the 4th compartment. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...