SRC Member mUAr_cHEe Posted June 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 16, 2005 As i went to work this morning.... petrol was 14% discount... *nvm... later i pump when i go out lunch appointment...* AS i went for lunch appointment and overshot my shell petrol station at 12.07pm.... it was 17% discount *sheesh.... miss my petrol station... nvm... come home later pump petrol* after lunch appointment... *must remember to pump petrol;... almost empty tank liaoz....* at 1347 hours... as i was driving nearer to shell... i see someone blocking the discount signboard.... i tot i saw a shadow of "2" on the board... the pui pui manager walked off as i was turning into shell... "20% DISCOUNT" WOOOHHOOOO!!!!! I WAS BEAMING EAR TO EAR.... came out of car.... "uncle no need to think... v-power full tank please!!!" Quote *translated from Hokkien* "If say no bang wall, this idiot will never ripen" - Mr Quah Siew Kow. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flying carpet Posted June 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 16, 2005 Of course lah price war after they implement the new rule, do you see many motorcyclist pump petrol there. Maybe once in a while I could see one or two. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Chris Posted June 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 16, 2005 I pumped on Sunday at 5%. Then, monday morning saw 13%....squeeze something. Monday lunch time, saw 14%...squeeze again. This morning saw 17%, tank still got half...almost drove into Shell but wanted to drive away more patrol first. Now 20%!!! Now, a bit little playing in stock market....guessing when to buy and when the discount will go up or down. Scared tomorrow become 5% again then squeeze very hard! Quote I think (marine) therefore I am Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member 35Cents Posted June 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 16, 2005 I pumped on Sunday at 5%. Then, monday morning saw 13%....squeeze something. Monday lunch time, saw 14%...squeeze again. This morning saw 17%, tank still got half...almost drove into Shell but wanted to drive away more patrol first. Now 20%!!! Now, a bit little playing in stock market....guessing when to buy and when the discount will go up or down. Scared tomorrow become 5% again then squeeze very hard! Same here.... I even pondered to get jerry cans and fill them up and store at my workplace.... but colleague says they dun sell it that way anymore.... Quote "Ah, Blackadder. Started talking to yourself, I see." "Yes...it's the only way I can be assured of intelligent conversation." - Melchett and Edmund Blackadder Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mUAr_cHEe Posted June 16, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 16, 2005 can leh.... saw a filipino maid buy the metal cans frm shell the other day.... then take it outside... top it all up.... and then cart it home.... about 5 to 6 containers... quite alot... Quote *translated from Hokkien* "If say no bang wall, this idiot will never ripen" - Mr Quah Siew Kow. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member 35Cents Posted June 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 16, 2005 no joke.... like tat i can borrow my friend's oil tanker to fill it up liao.... better.... lol Quote "Ah, Blackadder. Started talking to yourself, I see." "Yes...it's the only way I can be assured of intelligent conversation." - Melchett and Edmund Blackadder Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sponsor dr evil Posted June 16, 2005 Sponsor Share Posted June 16, 2005 tonight can pump mua mua.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member DaY Posted June 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 16, 2005 i saw Esso still offering 17% leh at East side...wondering if they will raise it to 20% later. Anyone saw if Esso offering 20% like Shell also?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mUAr_cHEe Posted June 16, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 16, 2005 another forum saying 23% liaoz!!!!!! argh..... squeeze ball...... Quote *translated from Hokkien* "If say no bang wall, this idiot will never ripen" - Mr Quah Siew Kow. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted June 16, 2005 Share Posted June 16, 2005 now we know how much money they're making from us... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Volitan Posted June 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 16, 2005 Cant imagine those who went to queue up yesterday @ 13%. I also topped up 3 days ago, but was due to BoBian Act, my car starving liao. On the other hand, I got this feeling that discounts are given when the oil price goes up. I think it's an indication that the price will rise more drastically in the near future. As for use of jerry cans, think it's not allowed nowadays, in view of the risk of fire. Maybe can modify the car so that can pump double... no, triple the normal amount. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Octopuffy Posted June 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 16, 2005 SPC toa payoh is 20% but if use the card, got extra 3% so total 23%! hehehe drink, my car, drink Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tigger Posted June 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 16, 2005 My car is not in yet and cannot squeeze anything Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Chris Posted June 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 16, 2005 Just went to Shell and pump at 20%. Then turn another road see Esso at 23%! I think by tonight all will go 23%. Then, they will suddenly go back to 5% without any notice! Now, on every motorist mind, they are reciting Shakespear.......To pump or not to pump... Quote I think (marine) therefore I am Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted June 16, 2005 Share Posted June 16, 2005 Caltex....... 26%........ Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member darren Posted June 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 16, 2005 no way Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member DaY Posted June 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 16, 2005 Esso at East Coast side put 20% but when i go pump, inside put 23%...So manage to get 23% discount... Wonder if petrol will someday become cheaper then diesel Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Rocky99 Posted June 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 16, 2005 i just pump at geylang shell. 26%, though signboard says 20%. i think they give discount cos they are just reluctant to lower prices when world oil prices drop. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted June 16, 2005 Share Posted June 16, 2005 Actually, it seems like some sort of a cohort to me... but it's only my own opinion... coz as mentioned, when oil prices dropped, the oil companies didn't drop their prices immediately, but when oil prices go up, the cost of petrol shoots up immediately... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member siglap Posted June 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 16, 2005 pump at 26% ard 10 pm east coast esso Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Creetin Posted June 17, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 17, 2005 they say maybe pump prices will increase soon. Quote Get Paid To Read Emails. Free To Join Now! http://www.emailcashpro.com/?r=okdk11 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Nic a Jon Posted June 17, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 17, 2005 i am quite sure petrol price in the medium term will continue to go up looking at the way the crude prices are rising towards US$58 per barrel. Anyway I think this large discount wont last long......they are BLEEDING now just to compete for volume. Not surprise that they will lower the discount or even back to normal by Monday. Better pump full while its still 26 pct Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bonjour2 Posted June 17, 2005 Share Posted June 17, 2005 Actually, it seems like some sort of a cohort to me... but it's only my own opinion... coz as mentioned, when oil prices dropped, the oil companies didn't drop their prices immediately, but when oil prices go up, the cost of petrol shoots up immediately... Bro Rav65, When the oil prices fall, no companies will be willing to reduce prices, as it is not in their interest not to max profits. Petrol kiosks are like a Oligopoly mkt , in such situation , no opponents will follow a price raise, but opponents will match a price fall of its other opponents. On the other hand, if petrol price in the world increases, then firms will simply increase their price per unit of commodity , since its Marginal Cost exceeds its marginal revenue per unit. The price rise is usually agreed among each other in the cartel. In such setting, if one firm decides to give a 20% discount, given long run, will be matched by all its opponents of a similar 20% discount, until someone decides to give more discount, the entire process carrys on.... its all abt Game Theory, Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SpiderOne Posted June 17, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 17, 2005 just go to woodlands central . drive up the bridge . drive across the nice long bridge over the sea . 60% Discount . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Volitan Posted June 17, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 17, 2005 just go to woodlands central . drive up the bridge . drive across the nice long bridge over the sea . 60% Discount . But can only pump 1/4 tank. So unless you are driving a bus, or your meter is modified... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...