diff b/w venturi and mazzei injectors?

somebody

the mazzei injector also uses the venturi effect but is constructed such that it's more efficient or something like that...

basic venturis are rather straight forward, constrict the path of water, add an air inlet and u'll get bubbles...

thanks bro ervine

basically those mazzei injectors that they sell, are just the "venturi part" issit? then we have to buy out own pump issit?

hmmm.... so basically these injectors are like venturis? hehe.. expensive venturis? haha

If you want to know how a venturi works, go see the bernoulli effect :lol:

post-14-1118797315.gif

wah lau.... chimological man...

thanks bro ervine

basically those mazzei injectors that they sell, are just the "venturi part" issit? then we have to buy out own pump issit?

hmmm.... so basically these injectors are like venturis? hehe.. expensive venturis? haha

if you are buying JUST the mazzei injector then yes.. it's only the venturi component, u need the pump AND the skimmer body..

and yes.. it's basically an expensive (but more efficient!) venturi...

thanks bro ervine

Not really. Venturi is a method of introducing air into the pump to be mix with water to create bubbles. It is one of the most basic skimming method.

However, by mixing air & water just by a normal impellor does not produce the intense bubbles that some reefers require.

As such, some began to improve of the it by introducing Needlewheel impellor, Beckett nozzle or Mazzei nozzle.

Beckett and Mazzei theoritically is the same, it entails very large volume of high pressured water to be force into a nozzle resulting tons of tiny bubbles thereby improving the slimming. Most believe beckett as the leader in turn of the generation of bubbles. However, this method require the brute force of a pressure rated pump such as the Iwaki MD which bulkier. Also the beckett requires a large reaction chamber and requires more time tuning and maintain it.

The Needlewheel is a methods where by water and air are introduce before the impellor and when air and water reaches the needlewheel impellor, it chops the water and air and thus create tons of bubble. The good thing about needlewheel is the consumption of electricity, most requiring less than 38w. Also the needlewheel skimmer usually smaller as compared to the becketts and are usually much easier to tune. The only draw back is once the neddlewheel impellor is broken, the replacement is costly.

We can discuss the Pros and Cons of Becketts vs Needlewheel till Kingdom come and still not get the satifiactory answer.

For me, my preference is for the needlewheel as I wanted a skimmer that is fuss free when comes to maintainance. I can easily remove the cup and plus the skimmer can be tuck below my cabinet without comprising of skimate production.

Just my 2 cents. :D

Not really. Venturi is a method of introducing air into the pump to be mix with water to create bubbles. It is one of the most basic skimming method.

However, by mixing air & water just by a normal impellor does not produce the intense bubbles that some reefers require.

As such, some began to improve of the it by introducing Needlewheel impellor, Beckett nozzle or Mazzei nozzle.

Beckett and Mazzei theoritically is the same, it entails very large volume of high pressured water to be force into a nozzle resulting tons of tiny bubbles thereby improving the slimming. Most believe beckett as the leader in turn of the generation of bubbles. However, this method require the brute force of a pressure rated pump such as the Iwaki MD which bulkier. Also the beckett requires a large reaction chamber and requires more time tuning and maintain it.

The Needlewheel is a methods where by water and air are introduce before the impellor and when air and water reaches the needlewheel impellor, it chops the water and air and thus create tons of bubble. The good thing about needlewheel is the consumption of electricity, most requiring less than 38w. Also the needlewheel skimmer usually smaller as compared to the becketts and are usually much easier to tune. The only draw back is once the neddlewheel impellor is broken, the replacement is costly.

We can discuss the Pros and Cons of Becketts vs Needlewheel till Kingdom come and still not get the satifiactory answer.

For me, my preference is for the needlewheel as I wanted a skimmer that is fuss free when comes to maintainance. I can easily remove the cup and plus the skimmer can be tuck below my cabinet without comprising of skimate production.

For me my preference is the beckett cos I running it on a 50W pump which is just 12W more than the needlewheel which works out to be $1.40/mth and no need to worry abt needlewheel impeller wear.

Removal for cleaning is also easier now with the help of thumb screws.

Its still small enough to go into my 2ft sump under the 3ft cabinet at a foot print of 7"x11"x24".

Overall price, the beckett is cheaper than the needlewheel skimmer of its own class.

Either case...........there's no doubt both skimmer do their job well.

Eric

bro... wrong lah...

There are venturi skimmers, like weipro which the venturi is AFTER the pump... if the venturi is before the pump then the skimmer is a needle wheel one...

Between normal venturi skimmers and mazzei injector venturi skimmers, mazzeis should be more efficient coz of the design of the injector itself...

yeah i m oso interested to know if its possible to use the massei to replace the venturi on normal venturi skimmers? Any diy experts care to share their experiences? Thks

i've thought about this before.. and I don't see why it's not possible, for eg. a simple weipro u can detatch the venturi portion and replace with a mazzei injector... it SHOULD work but donno if it'll be a lot better than the original weipro or not...

?

bro. ervine

care to share how to detatch the venturi portion from weipro?

bro... wrong lah...

There are venturi skimmers, like weipro which the venturi is AFTER the pump... if the venturi is before the pump then the skimmer is a needle wheel one...

Between normal venturi skimmers and mazzei injector venturi skimmers, mazzeis should be more efficient coz of the design of the injector itself...

Hehehehe,

Bro Ervine, I think you read my post wrongly liao. I never mentioned that in Venturi water and air are mixed before the pump. In fact, I purposely did not mention to keep it simple as there are also some HOT venturi using slightly different configuration. :peace:

I have also wrote that Needlewhel methods introduce water & air before the impellor. :peace:

I think the only mistake I made is the below sentence,

"However, by mixing air & water just by a normal impellor does not produce the intense bubbles that some reefers require. "

The word impellor should be venturi.

I stand corrected. :bow:

blueheaven:

If you want to know how a venturi works, go see the bernoulli effect :lol:

Gouldian:

Just my 2 cents.

WOW PHYSICS OF FLUIDS plus DIFFRENTIATION!!! Nice find blueheaven~

Gouldian, thanks for the detailed explanation. Lolx..