SRC Member ervine Posted June 10, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 10, 2005 Hi guys, Was just changing some water just now and I was wondering how you guys do it? For me i don turn off the power when I change water, so I just scoop out a pail of saltwater and simultaneously scoop a pail of salt water into the tank.. Problem with this method is that later on, the water that I scoop out is partly newly brewed saltwater... so a little inefficient... How do you guys do it? Erv. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted June 10, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 10, 2005 hi bro, for me..i off my pump from the sump...then i siphon the waste matter on the base...later on...i fill the newly mixed saltwater into the sump so that the pump can pump up the new water..siphoning of waste matter must be done.. cheers.. Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted June 10, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 10, 2005 hi bro,for me..i off my pump from the sump...then i siphon the waste matter on the base...later on...i fill the newly mixed saltwater into the sump so that the pump can pump up the new water..siphoning of waste matter must be done.. cheers.. hm... how long can the tank go on with the pumps off? takes me a while to mix up the saltwater Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
White Pointer Posted June 10, 2005 Share Posted June 10, 2005 I will prepare the water 24 hours before hand. I put air stone in the nsw and leave the pail over night. I will off the return pump and siphone the water from the sump. Pour in the nsw into the sump. Cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member djviper Posted June 10, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 10, 2005 i just buy 3 jerry cans of NSW from LFS. Off all the pumps drain water out from the main tank and add the NSW to the tank. Easy does it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted June 10, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 10, 2005 I will prepare the water 24 hours before hand. I put air stone in the nsw and leave the pail over night. I will off the return pump and siphone the water from the sump. Pour in the nsw into the sump. Cheers is that really necessary? the 24hrs thing? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member daimy068 Posted June 10, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 10, 2005 is that really necessary? the 24hrs thing? Hi ervine, I believe it's to let the SG stabilise, thoroughly mix the salt and water, and to aerate the mixture. My 2 cents worth. Cheers! Quote 48x30x27' Tank. Beckett Skimmer. Deltec PF600s. RM FR Pro. DE 250Wx2. DE T5 39Wx4. Tunze 7095+6000x2. Sequence DART pumps x2 (1 return+1chiller) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bloodlamb Posted June 10, 2005 Share Posted June 10, 2005 I turn off the return pump and drain out water into a coral life salt pail and replace with water from another coral life salt pail. The salt is premix at least 24hr in advance circulated using a M820. Mixing for a while ensure that all the chemical reactions in the dissolution can complete and the water will be more "stable" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member djviper Posted June 10, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 10, 2005 i believe it is to totally dissolve the salt ... salt particles might burn corals due to high concentration Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted June 10, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 10, 2005 hm... how long can the tank go on with the pumps off? takes me a while to mix up the saltwater i mix the saltwater overnite before i off the pumps...the LS surely can survive with pumps off for awhile.. Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted June 10, 2005 Share Posted June 10, 2005 i believe it is to totally dissolve the salt ... salt particles might burn corals due to high concentration really ar? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted June 10, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 10, 2005 i mix the saltwater overnite before i off the pumps...the LS surely can survive with pumps off for awhile.. to a certain extent...yes... Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted June 10, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 10, 2005 really ar? ops...paiseh...quote the wrong post..hehe...to a certain extent...yes la.. Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Eric Posted June 10, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 10, 2005 Hi guys, Was just changing some water just now and I was wondering how you guys do it? For me i don turn off the power when I change water, so I just scoop out a pail of saltwater and simultaneously scoop a pail of salt water into the tank.. Problem with this method is that later on, the water that I scoop out is partly newly brewed saltwater... so a little inefficient... How do you guys do it? Erv. I leave all the equipment running as it is, just siphon watever waste detritus I can find in the sump up to 3/4 pail full then just pour in 1-2 packet of NSW($1/pk) bought from Irwana. Amount of NSW added will depend on the evaporation rate and skimming rate or level of the sump. Water change is done once a week since its quite hassle free. Eric Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hotlemond Posted June 11, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 11, 2005 is that really necessary? the 24hrs thing? leaving it for some period helps the salt to mix well and allows the PH to stabilise. But i suppose most folks says 24 hrs cos of our other commitment in work/personal matters. Eg, mix it on monday nite then tuesday after work come back then change water lor Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted June 11, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 11, 2005 Hm.... any other methods? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kaykay Posted June 11, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 11, 2005 I'm toying with the idea of using 2 similar power heads to do the job. I'll need 2 big toyogo tubs. 1 empty, 1 with premixed salt water sitting next to the sump. 1 of the PH will be to pump the old water from the 1st or 2nd compartment of the sump into the empty tub. The other PH to pump new water into the last compartment of the sump. Although there may be slight difference in the flowrate of the 2 PHs, it should not pose a big problem as it only need to finish a tub of water. You guys think it'll work? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member beaver Posted June 11, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 11, 2005 I'm toying with the idea of using 2 similar power heads to do the job. I'll need 2 big toyogo tubs. 1 empty, 1 with premixed salt water sitting next to the sump. 1 of the PH will be to pump the old water from the 1st or 2nd compartment of the sump into the empty tub. The other PH to pump new water into the last compartment of the sump. Although there may be slight difference in the flowrate of the 2 PHs, it should not pose a big problem as it only need to finish a tub of water. You guys think it'll work? Wah, why make it so complicated? I feel that a hassle free method is what most of us do - aerate the NSW for at least a day and the next day, just vacuum the tank for detritus and replace with the NSW (just ensure the water parameters are similiar). Just my opinion, the mechanics of our hobby should be as simple as possible and spend more time enjoying it. My 2 cents worth of thoughts.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ReeF_LoVeR Posted June 11, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 11, 2005 Well for me is..... My sump is big enough to hold another 20% of water from the main tank What I do is pump in 20% of new water into the sump with all equipment running. After 1-2hrs pump out the 20% water out from the sump. IMO the water parameter will not fluctuate so much. maybe i'm wrong..... Quote http://r3.fodey.com/1ae71ee667ac04b60ba931...3ec.1.gif" border=0 width="312" height="107" alt="Ninja!"></a> Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member itchyhand Posted June 12, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 12, 2005 hi bro,for me..i off my pump from the sump...then i siphon the waste matter on the base...later on...i fill the newly mixed saltwater into the sump so that the pump can pump up the new water..siphoning of waste matter must be done.. cheers.. If u have DSB, how do u siphon the waste at the DSB? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Eric Posted June 12, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 12, 2005 If u have DSB, how do u siphon the waste at the DSB? The DSB is suppose to break down watever waste trapped on them if your DSB is fully matured. Pulsing Flow will be important to help keep the detritus/waste in suspend so as to be sweep down through the overflow. Eric Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted June 12, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 12, 2005 Well for me is..... My sump is big enough to hold another 20% of water from the main tank What I do is pump in 20% of new water into the sump with all equipment running. After 1-2hrs pump out the 20% water out from the sump. IMO the water parameter will not fluctuate so much. maybe i'm wrong..... oh something like in my case but this method results in dilution of tank water and NSW.. such that the water that's eventually removed is not completely the old tank water... kaykay's method seems interesting, only problem is need 2 x toyogo tubs.. a little space consuming huh? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hotlemond Posted June 12, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 12, 2005 oh something like in my case but this method results in dilution of tank water and NSW.. such that the water that's eventually removed is not completely the old tank water... kaykay's method seems interesting, only problem is need 2 x toyogo tubs.. a little space consuming huh? I am using similar method like kaykay described. wont take up too much space as the toyogo container can be deep stacked into the other one without the lid (if you know wat i mean). the only difference is that I switch off the return to do the siphoning of old water, then had the pump attached to hose to get the new water into the tank. I dun quite want to try siphoning old and adding new water at the same moment, the tots of some chances new water creeps back to the bucket keeps haunting me. Salt is expensive.., or maybe its just me Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Kelmen Posted June 13, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 13, 2005 prepare the new salt water 1 day b4. on the water change day, siphon dirty water from sump. then fill in back new water. nothing off. The cons - can't do big water change, else return water will suck air. In past, when I can participate the water change date, I will run carbon 1 or 2 days prior that. Also maybe a little heavy on the feeding. Nowaday, its on mood. Carbon not been used. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted June 13, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 13, 2005 hm.. maybe it's time to invest in a toyogo tub liaos... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...