Terryz_ Posted September 10, 2003 Share Posted September 10, 2003 i am thinking of adding maxima or crocea clam... any advices... thx.. Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SpiderOne Posted September 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 10, 2003 Lighting would be more important than water volume. basically any clam also can. except maybe those giant 1ft long squamosas that would take up too much space to be nice Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted September 10, 2003 Share Posted September 10, 2003 where do u tik I can get those 1ft clam ah..? din see much ard leh. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member junyong84 Posted September 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 10, 2003 1 ft??? wah... can lay quite a few if ur tanks is really big.. hahaaa Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted September 10, 2003 Share Posted September 10, 2003 Yeah what lighting are you using............. Both clams you mention here require lots of light(recommended- metal halide)........... Anyway maxima can grow rather large and crocea is one of the smallest tridacna clam species............... But the main point here is what lighting are you using Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted September 10, 2003 Share Posted September 10, 2003 I am already a little jittery about clams in my 4FT tank.....but if you have all the correct setups.....Maximas are very nice...Croceas as well.....if you maintain sufficient calium level and provide MH light for your tank...they will do well.... like DA says...they will grow....when they are too big...upgrade your tank....or sell me lah Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted September 10, 2003 Author Share Posted September 10, 2003 T5 and one Blue actinic Lighting... is tat enuf... if not i think should give up this idea of keeping clam... haha... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member seahorse Posted September 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 10, 2003 I am already a little jittery about clams in my 4FT tank.....but if you have all the correct setups.....Maximas are very nice...Croceas as well.....if you maintain sufficient calium level and provide MH light for your tank...they will do well.... like DA says...they will grow....when they are too big...upgrade your tank....or sell me lah Sell to me also can.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted September 10, 2003 Share Posted September 10, 2003 T5 is good enough. remember to dose calcium. If not happy, place it on top of your LR to get better exposure. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted September 10, 2003 Author Share Posted September 10, 2003 i am not very sure of the calcium thing... i noe tat clam nid tat... juz add into the water can liao huh... BTW where got sell the clam and the calcium thing... wat the price like... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Clownfish Posted September 11, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 11, 2003 must place clam veri high up... the nearer to light the better.... otherwise u will lose their beautiful colours.... maybe can add more t5s.... or upgrade to MH... cos they will really look nice under MH... Quote My Personal Blog My Wedding Website Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted September 11, 2003 Share Posted September 11, 2003 T5 is good enough. remember to dose calcium. If not happy, place it on top of your LR to get better exposure. Hey not really...... maxima need MH and should be at least 250watt or above for those ultras grade ones............... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...