SRC Member Lin Posted June 5, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 5, 2005 sigh.. as above, ned to hear frm u guys.. I got a new fish which keep pecking at my red coralline algae!! now those deep red patch is gone.. my few rocks botak le.. My question, Will those algae grow back soon? or rather.. ways to make it grow back? Ur advice/sharing is greatly appricated Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
seafood Posted June 5, 2005 Share Posted June 5, 2005 i think the coraline algae will grow back eventually but think u need to remove the fish 1st. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lin Posted June 5, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 5, 2005 i think the coraline algae will grow back eventually but think u need to remove the fish 1st. argh? remove fish? catch out arh? pengz.. those die off wont grow back le rite? Sigh.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted June 5, 2005 Share Posted June 5, 2005 wad fish is that??? maybe can give me , i wan to rid corline.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lin Posted June 5, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 5, 2005 wad fish is that??? maybe can give me , i wan to rid corline.. My purple coralline still there neh.. and it comes up to layers.. tis stupid fish clearing my DEEP red ones.. If it CAN clear my purple one too.. then tis fish u can come collect le.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted June 6, 2005 Share Posted June 6, 2005 My purple coralline still there neh.. and it comes up to layers.. tis stupid fish clearing my DEEP red ones.. If it CAN clear my purple one too.. then tis fish u can come collect le.. hahaha, nvm la, wad fish is it btw?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tineng Posted June 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 6, 2005 yea wat fish.....i really hate coraline algae..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
seafood Posted June 6, 2005 Share Posted June 6, 2005 yea wat fish.....i really hate coraline algae..... hate coraline alage..hee hee try sea urchin (Pincushion Urchin, Hairy Colored very cheap only)...very soon your LR will turn "botak". btw i thought coraline algae is wat we're striking for....i'ld rather hv coraline alage then my current green alage Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ciaolong Posted June 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 6, 2005 increase the blue photo peroid since coral line aglae loves it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lin Posted June 6, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 6, 2005 increase the blue photo peroid since coral line aglae loves it Oh! no wonder! no wonder those coralline grows at the front of my tank.. rather the back.. all my front glass has 5cent and 10cents patch.. i think those purple ones are really harder compare to Deep red ones? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lin Posted June 6, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 6, 2005 hahaha, nvm la, wad fish is it btw?? erm.... the fish ah? the fish? can call it "stupid" fish? no lar.. juz PBT.. i think itz trying to be funi with my tank.. if its veri nauty, then someone can come collect le.. list ur name! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted June 6, 2005 Share Posted June 6, 2005 erm.... the fish ah? the fish? can call it "stupid" fish? no lar.. juz PBT.. i think itz trying to be funi with my tank.. if its veri nauty, then someone can come collect le.. list ur name! not bad eh, PBT can eat corline, so nice fish and yet can eat the nusience coraline , wow.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lin Posted June 6, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 6, 2005 not bad eh, PBT can eat corline, so nice fish and yet can eat the nusience coraline , wow.. itz bad lor.. it eat only the red one eh.. peck and peck.. see him peck my heart so pain.. now no more reddish colour in my tank le.. all botak le... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted June 6, 2005 Share Posted June 6, 2005 Yes, pure blue lights are a favourable condition for coralline growth Another important element is to have high magnesium levels as this is a major constituent in their tissues. Its not a big deal if your PBT pecks on coralline as there are many other strains of coralline you can grow. In my tank, there are pink, purple, red, orange, green and those which forms shapes identical to monti caps Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lin Posted June 6, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 6, 2005 Yes, pure blue lights are a favourable condition for coralline growthAnother important element is to have high magnesium levels as this is a major constituent in their tissues. Its not a big deal if your PBT pecks on coralline as there are many other strains of coralline you can grow. In my tank, there are pink, purple, red, orange, green and those which forms shapes identical to monti caps pro! thks for ur kind advice..hope mine grow like urs too.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ciaolong Posted June 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 6, 2005 my coralline aglae never grows on the glass lol for some reason but it grow crazy on my rocks ... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted June 6, 2005 Share Posted June 6, 2005 my coralline aglae never grows on the glass lol for some reason but it grow crazy on my rocks ... Better, much better, u will have headace when it grow on glass. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lin Posted June 6, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted June 6, 2005 agree! too much on the wall is sian neh.. i give up scrubing them.. mom keep saying.. "duno wat u keeping also".. so was wondering if can command those on the glass to stick on the rock.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted June 6, 2005 Share Posted June 6, 2005 agree! too much on the wall is sian neh.. i give up scrubing them.. mom keep saying.. "duno wat u keeping also".. so was wondering if can command those on the glass to stick on the rock.. hahah, u scrape and paste on the rock , tell yr mum that thats the blood of the fishes,hahah, jkjk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted June 6, 2005 Share Posted June 6, 2005 Wah 2 feet can keep PBT meh?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted June 6, 2005 Share Posted June 6, 2005 Yah loh, I used to tell her that when she has a P. hepatus but she dunwan to listen. Now a PBT! sigh... Thus now a days I just keep my mouth shut when people ask me what to add into their tank. Anyway, Coralines algi are just common name to the many species of pink to dark purple algi that will thrives in high KH and Ca environment that we wanted so much to attain and thus it is often used as a indication of a healthy reef. Some of the red coralines are great treats to the tangs! Nothing wrong with that, the tang is just doing what it naturally does. Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member iori_del Posted June 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 6, 2005 Wah 2 feet can keep PBT meh?? the fish will be very stress in a 2ft.... that is wat a former tang police say one... Quote GIve up liao!!!!!!!!!!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member andysho Posted June 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted June 6, 2005 Once this coraline algae expose to air , they will turn white thats wat happen to mine when i shifted to bare bottom .. leaving them expose to air without water ... now all like snow white plates lol droping down from my glass Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Awgui Posted June 7, 2005 Share Posted June 7, 2005 i heard that for coraline algae to grow, they need strong lights and calcium. Am i rite? And wat about nitrate? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted June 7, 2005 Share Posted June 7, 2005 i heard that for coraline algae to grow, they need strong lights and calcium. Am i rite? And wat about nitrate? Lights are needed but not really strong lights. Just like corals, different species of coralines have different requirements to lights. But all of them will thrive of high Kh and high Ca environment. For me, I feel that as long as your tank have all the necessary parameters necessary for corals, coralines are the last you need to worry about. maybe only when they suck in too much of your Ca. Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...