SRC Member maxifire Posted September 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 10, 2003 Hi, May I know what's this white sponge connected to the output of the Weipro Skimmer for? Does it serve any purpose? Is it okay if I take it off? If I am going to take it off, am I able to connect a pipe to it so that water doesn't splash all over the place? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mUAr_cHEe Posted September 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 10, 2003 it is a foam elimination sponge!! it removes foams and bubbles!!!! my 2 cents worth.... Quote *translated from Hokkien* "If say no bang wall, this idiot will never ripen" - Mr Quah Siew Kow. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member maxifire Posted September 10, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 10, 2003 It does ar? I still see very fine bubbles coming out from it leh Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted September 10, 2003 Share Posted September 10, 2003 no leh. if u see other skimmer. with the foam, your tank going to have plenty of bubbles. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member maxifire Posted September 10, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 10, 2003 no leh. if u see other skimmer.with the foam, your tank going to have plenty of bubbles. So you're saying that if I remove it, I'm going to have lots of foam all over the water surface? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SpiderOne Posted September 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 10, 2003 i removed mine. no foam no bubbles no nothing. its just to act as a normal sponge filter i think Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member junyong84 Posted September 11, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 11, 2003 any where can i get this kind of sponge replacement? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Hecter Posted September 11, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 11, 2003 the sponge where got any use? tot it's suppose to let the water come out more gently that's all... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Clownfish Posted September 11, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 11, 2003 Mine got diff leh... without putting it, bubbles just flow out anywhere anyhow... but with it, the fine/large bubbles cling themselves to the sponge until they get big enough to rise up to the water surface.... think using it esp in main tank can prevent fine bubbles from disturbing the tank inhibitants Quote My Personal Blog My Wedding Website Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Volitan Posted September 12, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 12, 2003 But my sponge seems to collect dirt too. After some time, it gets a bit brownish. Very funny leh, tot the H2O coming out fr skimmer suppose to be clean water. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted September 13, 2003 Share Posted September 13, 2003 But my sponge seems to collect dirt too. After some time, it gets a bit brownish. Very funny leh, tot the H2O coming out fr skimmer suppose to be clean water. it skim organic breakdown n not filter your water lah. that one needs another device.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Volitan Posted September 13, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 13, 2003 it skim organic breakdown n not filter your water lah. that one needs another device.. oic. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hoppinghippos Posted September 13, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 13, 2003 you need the thing the coffeeshop aunty use to sift the coffee grounds from the coffee liquid, whatcha it, the net thingy. 'tis a specialised piece of equipment. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted September 15, 2003 Share Posted September 15, 2003 you need the thing the coffeeshop aunty use to sift the coffee grounds from the coffee liquid, whatcha it, the net thingy. 'tis a specialised piece of equipment. ya... that one can filter big particles.. must be kopi-powder those kind of sizes.. any smaller like 0.5mm cannot liao. hehe.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...