DSLR Canon 350D

bwilly

• Replies 97

reefers,

need advise. do i need a dry box to keep it? I am working out my budget and hope to land my hands on a unit next week.

A drybox is a must as mentioned by bwilly, i found that Thirsty Hippo (The moisture absorbing box) is very good at '######' out the moisture in my drybox. Even the silica gel i originally used turned BLUE from pink while in the box!!! :lol::lol:

A relatively cheap and good option for keeping your cam free of fungus and stuff. ;)

Dispar_Anthias .. is the 350D prom0tion still available? ?? i want to get a 350D too.

Firstly gotta ask you if you are paying by installment or cash...... next where are you gonna get your cam... harvey norman, I get 2 free memory cards, and some other stuff like the bag but pay ard 1999(anyway my mum pay it hrough installment, interest free and if one owns a DBS card, still got $100 off).... but if you paying through cash i suggest dun go to HN, go to the shop at the basement of lucky plaza opp watson... can get very good price but i dunno go free stuffs or not....

tat is a very good DSLR, better that the D70.

SO envy u, mum bought it for u to take fish , coral and chio bus, haha.

how abt some shot to show? tahnks

tat is a very good DSLR, better that the D70.

SO envy u, mum bought it for u to take fish , coral and chio bus, haha.

how abt some shot to show? tahnks

hehe yah..... eh i only take my reef and nature.. no chio bus hor haha

battery charging...

was wondering any user of the 350D was a fomer owner for the D70>

was keen to know what is the adv of 350D to D70

Hmm advantages?? dpreview.com got write.... faster startup time.... lower noise at high ISO... 8mega pixel.....

Welcome DSLR, DA!! :P

The kit lens I find it already very good.

18-55mm, gives you some wide angle coverage, though some more core photographers will want something better.

DA, you may need to get this zoom lens.

Good and reasonable pricing, I got it at $330.

Its a Sigma 70-300mm APO D Macro.

I have not tried it yet, but you can use it for zoom as well as taking macro shot of nature, yes shy fishes..

Focus is fast I tested. Review is pretty good, extreme end (70 & 300) quality not bad. Next upgrade.. hehe..

Got time I try this len and update.

Also get a $10 UV filter to protect your lens, also change len n remove, try to tilt the camera downwards. Prevent dust from getting into the camera affecting your sensor.

Canon 350D uses 58mm filter.

post-11-1118329068.jpg

Lens get mouldy very fast esp in our climate, so drybox is a must.

Invest in one that run on electricity, cost you $99, and give you safe of mind, n no replacement of dry gel.

D70 & 350D.

D70 top up in image quality, gaining a 1-2% top score over 350D.

Personally that 1-2% to my ###### eye is nothing, since I most probably will be printing 4R or at times A4 pics.

The faster mega burst, lower noise, higher pixel and cheaper lens sway me to get the 350D.

Dispar_Anthias  .. is the 350D prom0tion still available? ??  i want to get a 350D too. 

Thanks Dispar_Anthias. If not wrong, courts only offers 350D with a free memory card, 3-section Tripod and camera carrying bag @ sg$1999. Do harvey norman offers tripod under their promotion; i believe that harvey norman's promotion is better than court. Do you know the market price offer by shops such as lucky plaza ? when will the harvey norman's 350D promotion end?

paiseh, i asked so much. Thanks for your infor ! :lol:

hotlemond, you need to get a drybox to keep it.

At least get a cheapo one, $20 with gel throw in.

U dun want a couple of G cam go mouldy n dusty on you.

If got budget, get a dry cabinet like me, I got mine for abt $200+.

Can dump everything in, wedding album, muscle supplements, porno mags..

those stuffs that you want to keep dry n in good condition.

How does this look?

Familiar? Same workflow I used for the FZ20 the other time.

thanks bwilly.

just got mine 3 days ago. still fiddling with its feature cos i am new to this. Mostly will get those "lock & Lock" airtight box at NTUC and throw in a thirsty hippo.

how to capture tang pic eh?

I use under "P" mode, then set to AI Servo and using tripod also the fish image blur leh? :cry:

Tangs pic...

move to T mode.....set to 1/80 to 1/100s (if too dark increase the ISO to 800)

and burst away :lol:

Please dun use thirsty hippo in a box, your camera internals will gum up or even crack in the long term....dry cabinets are to be set around 40-50% humidity for our cameras....

any higher and fungus will be happy to grow, any lower and your camera internals like shutter will dry up and shorten the lifespan.

happy shooting.

Tangs pic...

move to T mode.....set to 1/80 to 1/100s (if too dark increase the ISO to 800)

and burst away :lol:

Please dun use thirsty hippo in a box, your camera internals will gum up or even crack in the long term....dry cabinets are to be set around 40-50% humidity for our cameras....

any higher and fungus will be happy to grow, any lower and your camera internals like shutter will dry up and shorten the lifespan.

happy shooting.

thanks for the tips cape crusader.

What settings would bring out the overall outlook of a tank better without very dark shadows and overexposed areas? I dunt have a 350D but i guess all the cameras should be similar rite? :)

If the difference is too great then your camera's dynamic range is not sufficient and you get under and overposed areas in the photo :P Can always adjust the gamma but that leads to wierd contrast.

Welcome DSLR, DA!! :P

The kit lens I find it already very good.

18-55mm, gives you some wide angle coverage, though some more core photographers will want something better.

DA, you may need to get this zoom lens.

Good and reasonable pricing, I got it at $330.

Its a Sigma 70-300mm APO D Macro.

I have not tried it yet, but you can use it for zoom as well as taking macro shot of nature, yes shy fishes..

Focus is fast I tested. Review is pretty good, extreme end (70 & 300) quality not bad. Next upgrade.. hehe..

Got time I try this len and update.

Also get a $10 UV filter to protect your lens, also change len n remove, try to tilt the camera downwards. Prevent dust from getting into the camera affecting your sensor.

Canon 350D uses 58mm filter.

Yup.. started to play with it today....

Thanks Dispar_Anthias. If not wrong, courts only offers 350D with a free memory card, 3-section Tripod and camera carrying bag @ sg$1999. Do harvey norman offers tripod under their promotion; i believe that harvey norman's promotion is better than court. Do you know the market price offer by shops such as lucky plaza ? when will the harvey norman's 350D promotion end?

paiseh, i asked so much. Thanks for your infor ! :lol:

The free gift tripod that comes with the camera is too short.. almost redundant.. not sure what kind courts give.. as for when promo end?? i also not sure, thats why i went to buy earlier(suppose to be on july)....

Flower... can someone ID for me the species ;)

Looks offensive. Looks like ..I..