Who uses store bought distilled water?

ervine

hi andysho,

many thks for detail info breakdown of all the elements that distill water (DW) is getting rid off. i have always wanted to know abt this since i started using distill water for top up. i need at least 1.5 ltr for top up everyday for my 4ft MT + 3ft sump with 2 x 150w MH.

last i bot 1 x 1.5ltr DW in ntuc was $0.65/bottle.

365 days = $237.25

found a good buy in CK Tangs basement elect dept a DW machine for $199.00

brand is 'novita'

4 ltr tap water make abt 3.9 ltr DW

takes ard 4-5 hrs for cold tap water, but maunal recommends boil water which takes 1/2 the time.

for all those intersted in using/buying DW may like to consider this.

happy reefing.

• Replies 81

hi andysho,

many thks for detail info breakdown of all the elements that distill water (DW) is getting rid off. i have always wanted to know abt this since i started using distill water for top up. i need at least 1.5 ltr for top up everyday for my 4ft MT + 3ft sump with 2 x 150w MH.

last i bot 1 x 1.5ltr DW in ntuc was $0.65/bottle.

365 days = $237.25

found a good buy in CK Tangs basement elect dept a DW machine for $199.00

brand is 'novita'

4 ltr tap water make abt 3.9 ltr DW

takes ard 4-5 hrs for cold tap water, but maunal recommends boil water which takes 1/2 the time.

for all those intersted in using/buying DW may like to consider this.

happy reefing.

Hey thats good news! It will be cheaper in the long run since no need to change any filter or resin.

Eric

I've considered such a unit before... but after calculating the electricity consumption, it really puts me off.... :P

alot meh? I not using it for water change so no need to make so much, using it for water topup via kalk mix, abt 1 Litres/day. So maybe just need to run for 5hrs a day.

Eric

alot meh? I not using it for water change so no need to make so much, using it for water topup via kalk mix, abt 1 Litres/day. So maybe just need to run for 5hrs a day.

Eric

At that rate, you'll hardly breakeven the cost of the unit at $199, might as well use bottle water from NTUC at $0.65 or $.070... dat's almost 300 bottles...

300x1.5L is 450L, enough for more than 1 year.... dat means after one year plus, how long more do u need before you breakeven for the elctricity used... by the time u break even, I tink the unit break down liao... :P

:lol: brothers, I just buy 20 litres of distill water at 7 bucks which mean is only $0.35 per litres lolz... and it can last me around 2 months or close to 2 months... hahahaha :lol: I think definitely cheaper than any RO unit....

from where??

Seems like you got a 5gallon drum deal bro... :P

Asaki, can post the contact and location where you get the $7/20L distilled water deal from so other reefers can benefit from it. I dont mind buying it at $10 / 20L if you can deliver to my place every month.

Eric

:lol: actually is just that my godbrother is working in those company dealing with distilled water dispenser and mineral water and those stuffs.

So he can help me get $7/5gallons drum of distilled water ~~ yah it is for those water dispenser hahaha....

I will check out from him and let u guys know about it ~! :lol:

dear all,

rec'd a few pm on the DW machine.

sorry, i can't remember the full specs. it's sold in Tangs orchard basement elect dept. there is this area that's selling all types of Novita products, especially the air purifier. this is the only model when i bot it.

there's is a full description of specs of this unit from power consumption, size, weight to calculation of elect bills etc.

Those interested can bulk purchase bottled DW of 1.5L x 12 bottles / 500ml x 24 bottles at $5 at fr Sheng Siong @ Ten Mile Junction, off Bt Panjang. Local brand Alpheus. While stocks last I think & carry like siao!

Wow thats cheap............$5 can get me 18L of DW. Anyone got lorry? Hehehe

Thanks for the info..........amphipod

Eric

The KH for distilled water is 0. I used to use distilled water for the first 3 months during early tank stage.... but due to the high evaporation rate of my tank, distilled water being topped into the tank is high too. End up battling with pH and KH problems. Had to dose many buffers to keep up. So not recommended for tanks that have high evaporation rate. Otherwise it's good for make up salt water as no minerals will conflict with the trace elements in the salt.

FYI, distilled water made from our neighbour up north is not to be trusted.... you never got to see how corroded and scaled the condenser is for the boiler. :P

post-54-1107833267.gif

"Ah, Blackadder. Started talking to yourself, I see."

"Yes...it's the only way I can be assured of intelligent conversation."

- Melchett and Edmund Blackadder

The KH for distilled water is 0. I used to use distilled water for the first 3 months during early tank stage.... but due to the high evaporation rate of my tank, distilled water being topped into the tank is high too. End up battling with pH and KH problems. Had to dose many buffers to keep up. So not recommended for tanks that have high evaporation rate. Otherwise it's good for make up salt water as no minerals will conflict with the trace elements in the salt.

FYI, distilled water made from our neighbour up north is not to be trusted.... you never got to see how corroded and scaled the condenser is for the boiler. :P

I use the DW for kalk mix, the kalk will contain the balance KH needed for the tank.

Eric

I use the DW for kalk mix, the kalk will contain the balance KH needed for the tank.

Eric

For me, I use Di water for water top-up but the water will pass thru my Kalk Reactor just to ensure that the neccesary buffers are present. ;)

DI unit = DeIonizer comprises of ion-exchange medium which electrostatically removes dissolved impurities from the water.

HMmm.. electrostatically?? But how pure is the water considered then?

So pure that you can use it as battery water. ;)

If I am not wrong most DI unit are able to produce <20 megohm-cm lab grade water.

In fact most RO units have a DI included to effectively remove particles too small for the RO membranes.

Then why does people still get RO? Cuz RO will filter off the bigger partcles and thus enhances the life of your DI. ;)

So pure that you can use it as battery water. ;)

If I am not wrong most DI unit are able to produce <20 megohm-cm lab grade water.

In fact most RO units have a DI included to effectively remove particles too small for the RO membranes.

Then why does people still get RO? Cuz RO will filter off the bigger partcles and thus enhances the life of your DI. ;)

Oooo... interesting.... that's when RO/DI units come in huh...

For me, I personally will still go for DI rather than RO/DI cuz the DI units are much cheaper than the RO/DI.

Plus the fact that I can't find a good use to the effluent water rejecter by the RO membrane. :)