SRC Member NgaoCi Posted September 8, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 8, 2003 (edited) HI , may I know wat is the name of the attached coral? thxs. Edited September 8, 2003 by NgaoCi Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member NgaoCi Posted September 8, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 8, 2003 (edited) Edited September 8, 2003 by NgaoCi Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member reeff Posted September 8, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 8, 2003 bubble Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member NgaoCi Posted September 8, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 8, 2003 bubble someone actually told me its Hammerhead.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member DrJekyl_MrHyde Posted September 8, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 8, 2003 bubble coral is one of the easy hard coral to keep ...it can stand higher temp compare to others hard coral .... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hotsoup Posted September 9, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 9, 2003 Look like pearl bubble Quote 2ft cube with 2.5 sump 400w MH with 6 x 24w blue T5 Hydor wavemaker controller Aquatronica controller Daikin compressor with double coil RM CR H&S out sump skimmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SpiderOne Posted September 9, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 9, 2003 it Is pearl bubble Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member NgaoCi Posted September 9, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 9, 2003 How do we distinguish between Hammerhead n pearl bubble?...both seem to be quite similar... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted September 9, 2003 Share Posted September 9, 2003 wats the market price for it? does it has a mouth like the normal bubble coral? its kind of small n looks cute. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SpiderOne Posted September 9, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 9, 2003 .. they are totally different.. pearl bubble and cat eye and normal bubble looks similar yes.. but hammerhead is a totally different family hammerhead Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member NgaoCi Posted September 9, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 9, 2003 Spider..thanks for distinguishing the diff...reason for asking so is tat I dun wanna end up killing the hammerhead cos I dun hv a chiller to maintain the req'd low temp...phew..so glad its a bubble... Its green in color n i brought it for $10....cheap or not? I still cant seem to be able to locate the mouth leh....anyone hv any clue where it mouth supposed to be? btw..I'm using a double tube T5(24 watts) on it...roughly how many hours shld I shine on it each day so tat it will be suffice? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SpiderOne Posted September 9, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 9, 2003 double T5 is good enough .8-10 hours. All LPS are comfortable in just about the same temp la.. $10 is a nice cheap price . the mouth is somewhere in between the bubbles. u got to spread them apart and look but i dun recommend u do that as it will stress the bubbles and what do u gain?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member NgaoCi Posted September 9, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 9, 2003 siao liao..i so far onli shine it for abt 6 hrs..got to tweak my timer liao.. I thot we have to feed it wif prawn meat? till date hv not fed it yet cos dun seem to be able to find its mouth. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SpiderOne Posted September 9, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 9, 2003 it is not recommended to feed your LPS meaty food even if they do eat them . just let them photosynthesize or dose live phyto Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member IcecruncherZ Posted September 9, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 9, 2003 Bubble corals are more 'carnivorous' in nature compared to other corals and even other LPSes. Only a fraction of their diet comes from photosynthesis by the zooxanthellae and lesser from phyto. These corals are serious zooplankton feeders... Can tell by the very powerful sting of their feeder tentacles. Dont feed them shrimp meat. It is too large for them to digest and you might see them spewing undigested food from their mouths hours after feeding. Dont feed Brine shrimp either as it has been proven to be very low in nutritional content. The cheapest, most readily available option available will be mysis shrimp. Feed when the feeder tentacles come out after nights off. Cheers~ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dazza Posted September 9, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 9, 2003 Bubble corals need some meat once every fortnight. U'll see the huge expansion after feeding-beautiful.... Quote Main Tank : 48 inch by 36 inch by 28 inch (2 sides starphire glass)Sump Tank :Return Pump :Chiller : Starmax Compressor 1 HP Drop coilChiller Return Pump Protein Skimmer :Wave Maker :Fluidised Reactor : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted September 9, 2003 Share Posted September 9, 2003 It depends leh.. One guy told me he has not been feeding much but expose his bubbles under MH. has been bursting like no morrow. Same as my bubble which I got from him. My bubbles has been eating shrimp meat, no problem. n its mouth is damn big. can swallow my maroon clown no problem. Unless u talking abt the pearl bubble, tik the mouth should be pretty small? so mysis shrimp may got to do. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted September 9, 2003 Share Posted September 9, 2003 .. they are totally different.. pearl bubble and cat eye and normal bubble looks similar yes.. but hammerhead is a totally different family hammerhead Yeah and btw thats a nice bubble wanna pass it to me Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member NgaoCi Posted September 9, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 9, 2003 Bubble corals are more 'carnivorous' in nature compared to other corals and even other LPSes. Only a fraction of their diet comes from photosynthesis by the zooxanthellae and lesser from phyto. These corals are serious zooplankton feeders... Can tell by the very powerful sting of their feeder tentacles. Dont feed them shrimp meat. It is too large for them to digest and you might see them spewing undigested food from their mouths hours after feeding. Dont feed Brine shrimp either as it has been proven to be very low in nutritional content. The cheapest, most readily available option available will be mysis shrimp. Feed when the feeder tentacles come out after nights off. Cheers~ ya..did saw the tentacles came out once I off the lights.... ok..gonna get some mysis shrimp liao.. btw...i got another brown bubble whom also cant seem to be able to find the mouth, so can i juz throw the mysis shrimp right on the center of it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted September 9, 2003 Share Posted September 9, 2003 ya..did saw the tentacles came out once I off the lights.... ok..gonna get some mysis shrimp liao.. btw...i got another brown bubble whom also cant seem to be able to find the mouth, so can i juz thow the mysis shrimp right on the center of it? hey watch out for those sting, they are strong so make sure no other coral are near it or they will get zap Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member NgaoCi Posted September 9, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 9, 2003 onli live rocks...in fact i seperate my 2 bubbles n placed them next to the live rocks. I tik last nite my goondu Cleaner shrimp went to ka-jiao the bubble n kenna whack by its tentacles..saw it running away from it.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted September 9, 2003 Share Posted September 9, 2003 see mine.. its huge n swallow the whole pc of prawn in mins.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member NgaoCi Posted September 9, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 9, 2003 Tis is my the other bubble..cant locate the mouth leh... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...