SRC Member wa_lanz Posted May 9, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 9, 2005 just got a refractometer and found my salinity to be 1.028... been searching but cant really find more info so would the gurus care to share wat are the effects of high salinity to sps. eg, slow growth rates or lousy coloration etc.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member scarab Posted May 9, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 9, 2005 Don't go searching for info lah, just bring down to 1.025. I think high sg stresses the corals. Not much info available on the actual effect, I've also search before. Before I got my refractometer my sg was 1.029. That time got STN problem and reduced polyp extension. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Reefaholic Posted May 9, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 9, 2005 Indeed..... But i once heard from an expert from zeovit forum, he mentioned that low salinity level is better for sps from fiji.. Maybe fiji water has lower salinity? I dun know, never been there. This may be the reason why most cannot hold fiji sps colors. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted May 9, 2005 Share Posted May 9, 2005 Maybe can do a search in RC? Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member wa_lanz Posted May 9, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted May 9, 2005 yeah lo.. couldnt find much info.. all stress on other parameters except salinity... only manage to read from RC that one guy's sps coloration improved after correcting his high salinity level.. hopefully thats the reason and the end to my ugly sps coloration... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member scarab Posted May 9, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 9, 2005 Maybe can do a search in RC? Errr........that's where I did the search Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted May 9, 2005 Share Posted May 9, 2005 Errr........that's where I did the search Opps! Maybe gotta post a question there liao... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted May 9, 2005 Share Posted May 9, 2005 Indeed..... But i once heard from an expert from zeovit forum, he mentioned that low salinity level is better for sps from fiji.. Maybe fiji water has lower salinity? I dun know, never been there. This may be the reason why most cannot hold fiji sps colors. that's what i heard too. still can't manage to verify it. Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted May 9, 2005 Share Posted May 9, 2005 that's what i heard too. still can't manage to verify it. Take a ticket fly to fiji and verify lol. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member danano Posted May 9, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 9, 2005 High salinity stresses corals. In SPS, the colours may be affected adversely and weaker specimens may experience STN. They may not encrust as quickly either, i.e. slower growth. NSW ranges from 1.025 - 1.026 in most places. The Red Sea is a little higher I believe. I keep mine between 1.024 - 1.025. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted May 9, 2005 Share Posted May 9, 2005 Take a ticket fly to fiji and verify lol. if i kena toto i will. Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member wa_lanz Posted May 9, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted May 9, 2005 Take a ticket fly to fiji and verify lol. courtesy of bro weileong kidding... for all the inputs... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
augustine1 Posted May 9, 2005 Share Posted May 9, 2005 Opposite of me....here dropp only 1019-1020 how to increase ? .. dose some seasalt directly or any method please.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Venezia Posted May 9, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 9, 2005 pls do not dose sea salt directly. u may harm the organisms in your tank especially if the salt falls onto them---> salt burn.. then the tissue affected will start to die off Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted May 10, 2005 Share Posted May 10, 2005 Opposite of me....here dropp only 1019-1020how to increase ? .. dose some seasalt directly or any method please.... Bro, pre-mix the salt in a pail 1st, den pour into ur tank... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted May 10, 2005 Share Posted May 10, 2005 Drop the specific gravity slowly. Like 0.001-0.002 over a day to minimise stress. It would be more accurate to read salinity in parts per thousand (ppt). Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
augustine1 Posted May 13, 2005 Share Posted May 13, 2005 Thanks I'll do mix first the salt in apail.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...