SRC Member Kelmen Posted April 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2005 Can't edit the poll. Consider "Seldom" as "No\Never" too. *** Just recently come across that we can get diseases and physical (bad) injuries working in our aquarium. Better put on glove. If got wound on hands, better don't let it tainted to\by the tank water. Mycobacterium http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2003-07/sp/feature/index.htm http://content.nejm.org/cgi/content/full/350/9/e8 http://www.syngnathid.org/articles/mycobac...mInfection.html Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mabro Posted April 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2005 i used to put on those wash dishes gloves 1 ( new ). but stopped bcos don't have the "feel" and u have a strange feeling and start to swelt inside the rubber golves Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member seamonkee Posted April 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2005 I bought a pair of corallife aqua gloves (see pix) from someone else... At first, I thought they were cumbersome and never used them.... after two episode of rockscaping, my fingers became numb, red and sore.... So when I did my last rescaping (the third time), I tried on the gloves for the first time. Contrary to the belief, they are actuall very useful... These aqua gloves by corallife works great.... Besides the obvious fact that it covers you to the shoulder and protect you from nasty bites and infections, the gloves were 1) exceptionally thick were the hands are (red portion).... so even if you work with a piece of live rock with the sharpest jagged edge known, it won't tore like ordinary kitchen gloves. 2) I believe given a special coating on the outside... so much so that when you pull your arms out from the tank, the gloves remains dry.... that's the major plus point... Working with bare hands, your arms will carry droplets of water on your body hair, once you pull your hand away from the aquarium, it starts to run, accumulate and end up wetting the floor... with the gloves, it won't happen... Every reefer should get one of these... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cowgivemilk Posted April 26, 2005 Share Posted April 26, 2005 I bought a pair of corallife aqua gloves (see pix) from someone else... At first, I thought they were cumbersome and never used them.... after two episode of rockscaping, my fingers became numb, red and sore.... So when I did my last rescaping (the third time), I tried on the gloves for the first time. Contrary to the belief, they are actuall very useful... These aqua gloves by corallife works great.... Besides the obvious fact that it covers you to the shoulder and protect you from nasty bites and infections, the gloves were 1) exceptionally thick were the hands are (red portion).... so even if you work with a piece of live rock with the sharpest jagged edge known, it won't tore like ordinary kitchen gloves. 2) I believe given a special coating on the outside... so much so that when you pull your arms out from the tank, the gloves remains dry.... that's the major plus point... Working with bare hands, your arms will carry droplets of water on your body hair, once you pull your hand away from the aquarium, it starts to run, accumulate and end up wetting the floor... with the gloves, it won't happen... Every reefer should get one of these... hi, how much would one of these costs ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member seamonkee Posted April 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2005 Check for you liao.... Reef Depot, one of our sponsors, is selling at $35 per pair... but currently out of stock.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lester Posted April 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2005 hehe .. looks like pest control .. getting rid of bee hives Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member seamonkee Posted April 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2005 hehe .. looks like pest control .. getting rid of bee hives Hahaha..... no lah.. more like collect honey from live rocks.... Anyway, if I can take a pix of my bare hands and show you how serious it is to ignore wearing gloves, then you understand why the "kiasu-ness" is needed.... After one week, the finger tips on my right hand is still feeling sore... looks kind of puffed up as compared to my left hand.... but much better definitely $35 to protect you from nasty bacteria and stuff.... worth it if you ask me... you know we cycle our tank to cutivate bacteria, gosh, so wonder what nasties are in there... all it takes is one open wound and one of this nasties to get in... Unless you want hands like these.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member seamonkee Posted April 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2005 Looking at the result of the poll, it seems I am the only one using gloves so far... What kind of risks are you bros taking, man? Not funny to suffer from bacterial infection for the sake of this hobby.... Trust me, go get a pair! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hotlemond Posted April 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2005 my right hand first finger also develop some small water pox these few days while I was working something inside the tank. its not an infection cos donkey years ago I had this too when i was facing a skin allergie issue. I would vote for using a glove. Seamonkee, that's a very cool pair of glove. look like its for use in handling nuclear contanminated stuff Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member seamonkee Posted April 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2005 my right hand first finger also develop some small water pox these few days while I was working something inside the tank. its not an infection cos donkey years ago I had this too when i was facing a skin allergie issue. I would vote for using a glove. Seamonkee, that's a very cool pair of glove. look like its for use in handling nuclear contanminated stuff Hahaha.... u have not seen the full bio-suit that comes with the gloves.... I'm thinking of giving away the left hand pair since it is not in use... of course, the person who pm me has to be a left-handed person.... and got to prove it... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scroll Posted April 26, 2005 Share Posted April 26, 2005 me using coralife gloves also but when arranging LS must take out because got no proper grip....after that wash hand with semi-hot water and soap. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shoelevy Posted April 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2005 actually, i'm not using glove, but i would like to use because rocks can be so sharp also, when dealing with corals, the i think mucus on them is so SMELLY. but the thuoght of the price turns me alittle off... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member seamonkee Posted April 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2005 actually, i'm not using glove, but i would like to use because rocks can be so sharpalso, when dealing with corals, the i think mucus on them is so SMELLY. but the thuoght of the price turns me alittle off... bro, if you dun mind the left hand part of the gloves... I can give it to you... I have not use it yet Give it a shot and you will know why I like it... I was sceptical at first but after trying it out... it's great... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flying carpet Posted April 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2005 Oh my god after seeing the links . Must get the gloves already dun wanna risk it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member LaW Posted April 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 26, 2005 Oh my god after seeing the links . Must get the gloves already dun wanna risk it. now i think its a must already. those pics really look bad. and anyway, i hate stinks from bristleworms. they sucks. Quote If a man could beat his own fantasy. Then to only breed in captivity. Then its pointless. Genesis 1:20 And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day. || Tank: 78" x 30" x 30" || Sump: 48" x 22" x 20" || Lights: PowerModule 10 X 80W|| Returns: 2 x HF32 || || Skimmer: BubbleKing Supermarin 300 || Wavemaker: 3 x 6100 & 1 x 6200, 2 x Wavebox 6212, WavySea || || FR: 2 x FR150 || NR: Sulphur Denitrator || CR: RM Custom Made 8" || KR: Deltec KM500 || TopUp: Tunze Osmolator 3155 || || UV: Coralife 12X 36W || Ozonizer: Sanders C200|| Controller: GHL Profilux Plus II Ex || Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mabro Posted April 27, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 27, 2005 i never know that handling the LR bare hands has such fate .. better wear my chemical suit .. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RockyBoy Posted October 11, 2006 Share Posted October 11, 2006 Just wash your hands with soap, should kill most bacteria. Quote Member of : UEN: T08SS0098FMASS in Facebook Reefing in LED Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ClOwNy_LoVeR Posted October 14, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 14, 2006 now that i just got stung by my anenome really suggest wearing gloves.haha cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
achillies Posted October 14, 2006 Share Posted October 14, 2006 my right fingers, especially my mid and ring fingers, are slightly bigger than my left after 2+ years of reefing. cos right hand always in tank mah. lately, my fingers always have tiny little blisters that itch like hell. it will somehow settle after i apply some cream. fell really sick 2 weeks ago with really high fever and severe joints ache and muscle spasm. Got cut by hammer while trying to break a dead section 2 days before the fever. ...too lazy to use equipment. did not recover till a week later. could not even write my name and tear open a twisty till 6 days later. dr diagnosed as flu but i don't think so. was really scared then. BUT, still did not used any glove just now when changing water and re-scaping... maybe shld use my coralife glove...or quit reefing...nah...don't think so though my wife will be very happy if i do so. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
acidjazz Posted October 15, 2006 Share Posted October 15, 2006 archilles, i experience the same problems as you. During the last rescape, i got cut by the live rocks and while placing new corals in the tank, my hand got swollen and didnt recover till a week plus later. . same itchy syndrome. i suggest wearing gloves the next time round. Quote 300 Gallon Reef Paradise 6X2.5X2.5 FT Tank : 4x2x2 ft sump : 2x1x2 ft refugim Skimmer: Deltec AP851 Calcium Reactor: Lightings: Aqualight T5 Retrofit, 150 watt MH X2 Chiller: Hailea HC-500A model w/ Aquabee 2000 Ozonizer: Hailea HLO-300 Digital ozonizer Wavemaker: Tunze 6080, Tunze 6060 Return Pumps: Aquabee 5000 x2 Other equipments: Aquabee 2000, Quietone 1200, 5L Co2 Cylinder w/ Dupla regulator American Marine Wireless Thermometer Reefing is a dedication, not a competition. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ClOwNy_LoVeR Posted October 15, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted October 15, 2006 bros when i recaped my tanks, why is there like tranparent needles stuck in my fingers.when i press it in it hurts.know what is that? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Kelmen Posted November 29, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 29, 2006 Ppl in ReefCentral told me those are fireworms stings... very jialat one, like the sting go inside your skin\blood. Just wait for more days, it should gone. During that time, just endure it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
surferguy1978 Posted December 25, 2007 Share Posted December 25, 2007 i seriously urge all reefer to put on gloves while handling marine stuff after so much reports on those flesh eating bacteria! i confirm put on gloves even when i go LFS to look for LR. Ppl in ReefCentral told me those are fireworms stings... very jialat one, like the sting go inside your skin\blood. Just wait for more days, it should gone. During that time, just endure it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EdwinAw Posted December 26, 2007 Share Posted December 26, 2007 I use both : Latex gloves ( the type used by hosipital staff, use and throw, cheap ) for minor work. and Aqua Gloves when I do a major work like rescape. Some times ago, after doing rescape work, my hand was so itchy that I had to see doctor. Doctor said I was attacked by unknown bacteria. Since then , I always use gloves. Edwin Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
surferguy1978 Posted December 27, 2007 Share Posted December 27, 2007 I use both : Latex gloves ( the type used by hosipital staff, use and throw, cheap ) for minor work. and Aqua Gloves when I do a major work like rescape. Some times ago, after doing rescape work, my hand was so itchy that I had to see doctor. Doctor said I was attacked by unknown bacteria. Since then , I always use gloves.Edwin i use those normal rubber glove which can be bought from NTUC. =) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...