DIY - Overflow Pipe

Skipper32

Hi, I've done my first overflow pipe (except the joining of the skimmer to the main piping) but am not such whether I've missed out any thing (physically) If I've got most of the things there, how do we test it? Do we have to activate by pouring some water into the pipe first? Pls advice.....Thanks. :erm::erm: I've used 25mm pvc for main body. own a 3ftx1.5x1.5 and is getting a sump to upgrade my sys.

post-9-1114063105.jpg

Henry Tan

Sembawang

3x1.5x1.5 2.5x1x1.5

LS

1xfire clown/ 1xyellow boxer

1xpercular/ 1xcoral beauty

1xboxer/ 2xfire shrimps

1xcoral beauty/ 2xfalse clowns

2xhawk fish/ 1xane crab

1xyellow tail damsel/ 2xcleaners

3xturbo snails

2xhermits

1xtomato clown

Set up.....

Sump - Done

DIY Cabinet - Done

DIY Overflow Pipe - Done

Hi, I've done my first overflow pipe (except the joining of the skimmer to the main piping) but am not such whether I've missed out any thing (physically) If I've got most of the things there, how do we test it? Do we have to activate by pouring some water into the pipe first? Pls advice.....Thanks. :erm::erm: I've used 25mm pvc for main body. own a 3ftx1.5x1.5 and is getting a sump to upgrade my sys.

hi bro ...

cool .... how much did u spend DIY it ?? by the way can tell me where u got the part/ fitting circle in red ..

post-9-1114066326.jpg

hi bro ...

cool .... how much did u spend DIY it ?? by the way can tell me where u got the part/ fitting circle in red ..

Not sure of its name, but its for an air pipe you find at HDB roof top that allows air to escape when we flush the toilet. If i am right. :unsure:

I had a hard time looking for that part (circled in red) along balestiar(rite spelling?)... and had a bad encounter with the shop assist.looked and sounded 'SBC' when i ask questions on the pipes.... correct. that part is usually found on the roof, i heard fm the fello is for draining of rain water from the roof top down to the drain. Now i need to cut an opening to fix it to the main body, will do it tonite..... :cry2::cry2: Fyi, that part only come in certain sizes, usually very big (more then 60mm) unless the fello tell lies.....

Henry Tan

Sembawang

3x1.5x1.5 2.5x1x1.5

LS

1xboxer/ 2xfire shrimps

2xhawk fish/ 1xane crab

3xturbo snails

2xhermits

1xtomato clown

Set up.....

Sump - Done

DIY Cabinet - Done

DIY Overflow Pipe - Done

I had a hard time looking for that part (circled in red) along balestiar(rite spelling?)... and had a bad encounter with the shop assist.looked and sounded 'SBC' when i ask questions on the pipes.... correct. that part is usually found on the roof, i heard fm the fello is for draining of rain water from the roof top down to the drain. Now i need to cut an opening to fix it to the main body, will do it tonite..... :cry2::cry2: Fyi, that part only come in certain sizes, usually very big (more then 60mm) unless the fello tell lies.....

hi bro .. Thanks i got it :D

by the way .. how much u pay for that item ???

cheers :D

Let me roughly list the items i got for the DIY

5ft 25mm PVC

5 x 90deg elbow

1 x three way joint

1 x 80mm (1ft - for the skimmer)

1 x pvc glue and cap

1 x cover (for roof top - circled in red)

abt 20plus dollars.

anyway i've fixed the final part, thanks to some davice ny my gd neighbour (triggerfish) the pic shows the end result... but e flow is a bit too slow...any comment?

post-9-1114141099.jpg

Henry Tan

Sembawang

3x1.5x1.5 2.5x1x1.5

LS

1xboxer/ 2xfire shrimps

2xhawk fish/ 1xane crab

3xturbo snails

2xhermits

1xtomato clown

Set up.....

Sump - Done

DIY Cabinet - Done

DIY Overflow Pipe - Done

The flow is slow because there is still air trapped on the top U-joint. I also encountered this problem. The problem with overflow pipes is that no matter how much you suck or pour water into the air tube, there will still be air stuck in the U-joint. I had to manually bring the whole thing to the bathroom and fill up the overflow, then tilting it left to right to remove the air bubbles.

Let me roughly list the items i got for the DIY

5ft 25mm PVC

5 x 90deg elbow

1 x three way joint

1 x 80mm (1ft - for the skimmer)

1 x pvc glue and cap

1 x cover (for roof top - circled in red)

abt 20plus dollars.

anyway i've fixed the final part, thanks to some davice ny my gd neighbour (triggerfish) the pic shows the end result... but e flow is a bit too slow...any comment?

great work bro :idea:

check out my explanation on how to start the flow... works wonder for me.

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...ic=12846&st=135

p/s: don't forget to add an end cap with small hole drilled into it to cover the open end of ur over-flow pipe. This end cap not only help to reduce noise, but to some extend it help u to increase the siphoning power (when u used something to close the small opening, hence create a full siphon) to remove air bubles trapped in the upper u-join when needed. I do this sometime to make sure that there's no bubble trapped in my current over-flow pipe. Had been running for many many months without siphon break liao ;)

Cheers :peace:

Thanks bro :peace: ..... now waiting for my wooden panels for my DIY cabinet onto my iron stand. Once it is done (gotta paint it, make holes...etc - quite a big project for me...) then will arange the sump, skimmer(new one - this is the reason for all this extras),and the overflow pipe. I intend to use my canister as the return pump and hope that the water level can be maintained at the main tank.... :look: cheers and be well....

Henry Tan

Sembawang

3x1.5x1.5 2.5x1x1.5

LS

1xboxer/ 2xfire shrimps

2xhawk fish/ 1xane crab

3xturbo snails

2xhermits

1xtomato clown

Set up.....

Sump - Done

DIY Cabinet - Done

DIY Overflow Pipe - Done

try whether my canister can double as the return pump and aslo a filter or not... can save save a bit.... anyone started the harvesting??? do let me know if got project on it....hehe... time to try some WILD ones..... how much did it cost for the materials (walnut)you used for the DIY for zul?

Henry Tan

Sembawang

3x1.5x1.5 2.5x1x1.5

LS

1xboxer/ 2xfire shrimps

2xhawk fish/ 1xane crab

3xturbo snails

2xhermits

1xtomato clown

Set up.....

Sump - Done

DIY Cabinet - Done

DIY Overflow Pipe - Done

..... how much did it cost for the materials (walnut)you used for the DIY for zul?

bought 4 ft by 4ft 1/2 inch plank- $20 ( but use a bit only for the hood)

walnut paper- $6 ( enuf for mine and his hood) - I think for cabinet need

big one- size of a door $16

plus few bucks for nails, screw and aluminium bracket for his fan... ;)

maybe u can consider using ur cannister as a chemical reactor.. where u can put carbon, phospate remover and other stuff in there .. before it return to ur tank.

I tried that...phosphate remover and carbon

in my canister.....very efffective ;)

Aldy got all the stuffs for my DIY cabinet, once ready a post again in the DIY forum..... Once done, will link up the overflow pipe to my sump (still dry....) and then to my cannister back to the main tank.... hope everything goes well.. all in all spent more then $100 for the DIY cabinet... it better be lasting..... Today saw lots of sun corals before leaving BNB...... :yeah: maybe wll try some tactic to get it safely... :pirate:

Henry Tan

Sembawang

3x1.5x1.5 2.5x1x1.5

LS

1xboxer/ 2xfire shrimps

2xhawk fish/ 1xane crab

3xturbo snails

2xhermits

1xtomato clown

Set up.....

Sump - Done

DIY Cabinet - Done

DIY Overflow Pipe - Done

Sorry, got my wife company friend to assist... but rather troublesome. The wood got some minor problem but not so nice to complain cos not so good on my wife later... u understand rite.. btw, All done aldy, now testing/tuning the return power. still not stable, the overflow rate still very small. Feel like asking wei siang to diy for the sensor (cut off power supply) for me.

Henry Tan

Sembawang

3x1.5x1.5 2.5x1x1.5

LS

1xboxer/ 2xfire shrimps

2xhawk fish/ 1xane crab

3xturbo snails

2xhermits