Electronic water top up system

shaohui75

Great work bro! It might be cheaper than the ones with float switches..

i only forsee one problem... u probably need titanium probes to probe the water. Coz other metals might have some problems with corrosion, esp in salt water, resulting in poor contact.

heard u can get titanium probes from bicycle spooks...

Bro ervine,

I have thought of that too but have no ideal what i could replace wire with. Do u have any picture what the titanium probe looks like? Can i get it from bicycle shop?

I believe this DIY if done properly, will be more reliable than float switch(which is a mechanical part which will fail/stuck due to dirt). Will be cheaper too. Last time i went to sim lim tower to ask, the float switch cost at least between $25 to $45 each.

Bro ervine,

I have thought of that too but have no ideal what i could replace wire with. Do u have any picture what the titanium probe looks like? Can i get it from bicycle shop?

I believe this DIY if done properly, will be more reliable than float switch(which is a mechanical part which will fail/stuck due to dirt). Will be cheaper too. Last time i went to sim lim tower to ask, the float switch cost at least between $25 to $45 each.

i bought my float switch at $20 onli leh...

SLT basement ;)

lotsa them hanging outside his shop... tink u went upstairs to ask har?

i oso tried askin ard but all either too ex. or they understand wat i wan... <_<

anyways, great master piece :) realli put ur electronic knowledge to gd use :)

but then using water as a gd conductor means ur current will pass thru the water to turn ur transistors on ah? liddat wont electric shock ah?

Bro clownfish, can you tell me the name of the shop you bought the switch from? Any pic of your float switch and diy ? Can share?

By the way, this is the titanium probe shown in the link

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...opic=11294&st=0

i take photo of the float switch when i get home tonight...

i got it at SLT basement somewhere near to the staircase which u enter from outside and shld be on ur left and 2nd row of shops, door back facin ur direction...

the shop name i cant rem... but rem got words like "fluid control" stg liddat... the shop hangs lotsa float switches outside his shop... the shop is beside a shop which sells CD-R and CD-RW...

hey clownfish.. i wan to diy a DIY tubby.. don mind teaching mi how to do?? hahax.. can visit u one day.. ya.. thx..

Regards..

Lorenzo..

Here is a float switch design.

But brother clownfish, when i ask around in SLT they only have one type of float switch - when water goes up to level then circuit close.

I need to see what is the kind of floatswitch you bought. Thanks for the picture.

ok no prob... i had this concern too when i buying that time, so i ask the boss whether it's open when the switch knob go up or go down... he told me just flip the knob on the lever the opposite way n it will work the opposite way... nevertheless i request him to test it with a multimeter n it came as a default open when up, so i do not need to do any mod to it lor ;)