Salt mix cloudy

such a high sg....

anyway since u are not going to pour the salt mix into your tank why worry about it coudly or not...

anyway some salt will be ok if u leave them overnight with or without powerhead while some dont..

so depend on what salt u using lor... anyway u also never tell ppl what salt u using...

dun worry... its calcium powder which can't be dissolve.. u can put a power head in the salt mix and after sometime it will be ok liao.

yup its the calcium. but since you have reached your desired SG then cloudy is okay. may even takes a day to dissolve eveything. BTW, good economical choice of salt to treat those uncured rocks. ;)

Hi guys

I encounter the same problem also. I using redsea salt and had use a power head to let the water run overnite but the next day the water is still cloudy and the SG level is 1.021. Izzit safe to use the water for a water change in my tank? This is my 1st salt mix had been using NSW all the while...Should i pour away the water and make another salt mix??? Pls Advice :thanks::thanks:

Hi guys

I encounter the same problem also. I using redsea salt and had use a power head to let the water run overnite but the next day the water is still cloudy and the SG level is 1.021. Izzit safe to use the water for a water change in my tank? This is my 1st salt mix had been using NSW all the while...Should i pour away the water and make another salt mix??? Pls Advice :thanks::thanks:

hey dun waste it.

i tried doing that. after 1 night, the water still abit cloudy. but i still carry on my plan on changing water.

no problem though.

i advice u leave it for another night.

it shld be clear by then.

And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day.

Hi guys

If your salt mix is still cloudy, it might be caused by precipitation. Test the calcium and kH of the new saltmix. If the values are very low, it means the precipitation have occured. If you pour the new saltmix into your tank, will cause the Mg, Ca and kH level of your tank to go down ;)

hey dun waste it.

i tried doing that. after 1 night, the water still abit cloudy. but i still carry on my plan on changing water.

no problem though.

i advice u leave it for another night.

it shld be clear by then.

me has been using redsea salt. i mix my salt the night before and the water clear up within 5mins after mixing. no power head used. my sg is 1.025. :lol:

i change 5%/10% water weekly. no problem with my water parameter. my calcium and KH is within the range. didn't test my mg cos my KH is at the safe level. hope this help ;)

age.png

If your salt mix is still cloudy, it might be caused by precipitation. Test the calcium and kH of the new saltmix. If the values are very low, it means the precipitation have occured. If you pour the new saltmix into your tank, will cause the Mg, Ca and kH level of your tank to go down ;)

Thanks bro Ekia. I think my salt is really affect by precipitation cos i put it in my cupboard and the whole packet of salt become soild. I had pour away the water and open a new packet of Red Sea salt and mix with water. Now no problem liao...the water is no longer cloudy.

me has been using redsea salt. i mix my salt the night before and the water clear up within 5mins after mixing. no power head used. my sg is 1.025. :lol:

i change 5%/10% water weekly. no problem with my water parameter. my calcium and KH is within the range. didn't test my mg cos my KH is at the safe level. hope this help ;)

Wah...1.025..why u need such a high level?? :huh:

Thanks bro Ekia. I think my salt is really affect by precipitation cos i put it in my cupboard and the whole packet of salt become soild. I had pour away the water and open a new packet of Red Sea salt and mix with water. Now no problem liao...the water is no longer cloudy.

Yup. Should be the case of precipitation. My salt once hardened before and ecountered the same problem. Didn't know what happened then and pour the mixture in. 1 week later, test water parameter in my tank: Ca-250ppm, kh-3... Use the same salt and prepare mixture again, the water was again cloudy. Test the newly prepared mixture: Ca- 280ppm, kh-3.... those cloudy stuff were actually calcium precipitates.

• 6 years later...

Does anyone experience cloudiness with DD H20 Saltmix? I filled my tank with water, before slowing adding the saltmix with overhead turned on, till it reaches the desired SG.

Mine has been cloudy for almost a day, i left my powerhead on for a few hours before switching it off. My SG is around 1.025.

Will the water clear up?? When will it be?

Does anyone experience cloudiness with DD H20 Saltmix? I filled my tank with water, before slowing adding the saltmix with overhead turned on, till it reaches the desired SG.

Mine has been cloudy for almost a day, i left my powerhead on for a few hours before switching it off. My SG is around 1.025.

Will the water clear up?? When will it be?

Yes, the water will turn clear after a few days.

Thanks bro!! Hope it clears up sooner.. Anxiously waiting..

I read that the cloudiness is due to the Ca and Mg precipitate out, if that's the case, why is the process reversible??

Filter wool will get it cleared up. Mine didn't clear up for 2weeks (probably due to arogonite sand also). You can use activated carbon to speed up the process and it sure did a good job in polishing the water kilat kilat!

Thanks for the suggestion bro. Just wondering, what is the chemistry behind carbon in this scenario? Will it bind to the free Ca and Mg which in this case not desirable?

---

I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=1.428261,103.764587