tank leak...

Hi Anthony,

Thanks for the Coral Chips...

I had a friend whom have a tank leak...he had gone around asking and the conclusion is that you need to removed the old silicon and re-glue it back with new silicon.

It is pointless as new silicon will not attached itself to the old ones and you will experience another leak if you do that.

just my 2 cents worth of advice.

take care. :)

:( anyone know of any shop who can repair tank leak? seem like its leaking from the bottom sealant... or is it safe to repair myself? using silicon?

thanks ..

Bro,IMO not worth the trouble,even if can silicon back you will have to clear all coral,LS,LR & water from the tank.;better to get a new one.

have call up a few tank maker...

cost ard $280 to repair the silicon... and $400plus for a new tank...

anyone repair their tank before and it's still doing well? ? the guy told me warranty for 3 year after repair..

this tank leak has demoralised me totally... thinking of giving up this hobby liao!!

sian... :(

hi bro

i am a poor newbie here too ...

please don't be demoralised ...

my tank leaked too ... about 1 month into my hobby (from 26 Dec 2004) ... sometime just before chinese new year or something like that.

i believe you never say tank crack ...

so ...

i got no one to turn to ... so what i did was this ...

i stopped the return pump

i started an air pump to put air into the tank. i had circulation pumps on too ...

since there was no return water ... there was no more water leaking ...

i bought a full tube of silicon ($5.00) .... and i plastered the hell out of the leakage ... it looked like a tumour growth :eyeblur:

i waited for 24 hours .... my tank no more leaking liao .... :paiseh:

1 damsel died because of that ... :(

hope it gives you some idea ...

lizard

hi bro .. i was demoralised by my tank which leak drip by drip near the durso piping area that runs down to the return pump too ... i when asking ard . and i was told to remove the old silicon and seal it with epoxy glue .. i was totally devastated... i tried just removing the silicon ard the area where the piping was connected and seal with silicon (can imagine the hassle and damage to stop running my tank for a few days ...)

but luckily it works i dont have to redo the whole thing..

i totally understand how you feel bro... dont give up, get it fixed and move on ...

Peace ...

Zac's Red Sea Reefer 170

Tank leak is a nightmare. I got a $1500 5 feet tank in Oct 03. By April 04, the tank leaked and the shop that sold me the tank has closed down.

A tank maker quote me around $200 to silicon but was advised against it by many forumers and aquarium manufacturers.

So in Oct 04, I got myself another new tank. Cost me another $1800, but this is of a better quality.

Hey Anthnoy,

It really very frustarted and devestated to see a tank leak...

I have my pipe leak due to improper of sealing...resulted me to remove and scraping off all dry slicon.....and reapplied a layer of new slicon...it better for you to remove all current stocks to a holding tank...then reapplied the whole thing again..morever, you need to let it dried before touching water....hope these helps...and as all reefers said....DUN GIVE UP....and im sad to see what it happens to you.....

bro check wth yur tank maker. i think if yur tank is within 1yr still got warranty . if not, better change a new tank tan mend it.. here mend liao then other place leak more head ache. my2cents