Planning To Keep Eel~

^GeNoME^

I used to have a snowflake moray eel(recommended)....very greedy...loves fresh water shrimps.......but removed it when I suspect it got my scarlet hawk.... :cry:

angel fish and tangs are good tankmates....probably not gobies and blennies

precautions when introducing fish? dun think u need to worry about that ;) coz the eel will just eat every fish u put in . unless its extremely much bigger than the eel itself. The eels mouth can stretch really wide dun be misled by its small appearance. pencil thick eels can down a school of much larger than itself anthias. Juz ask AT :P .

I used to have a snowflake moray eel(recommended)....very greedy...loves fresh water shrimps.......but removed it when I suspect it got my scarlet hawk.... :cry:

angel fish and tangs are good tankmates....probably not gobies and blennies

No your snowflake can't have eaten your hawk cos it has specially designed teeth to strcitly feed on invertebrate such as crabs and prawns........... i used to have a snowflake and it doesn't bother any fish even with small dottybacks............. Therefore IMo a snowflake is one of the best eel you can have ...........BTW it has a sweet temprement.............

Anyway an eel swmming style is very rough and clumsy thus might knock some corals over thus it is advisable not to add any coral in a tnk with eel unless you are willing to pick the coral up constantly

I had one snowflake eel too. I was ignorant then.

It ate my toad fish. :eyeblur:

my dragonet. :cry:

my clownfish. :ph34r:

I strongly suggest your tankmates should be fishes like tangs or squrrielfishes.

Cardinals do fine. :D

been keeping a snow flake for almost a year liao .. piece of advice - just dun keep fishes that always stay at the bottom .. so far, i suspect my eel has eaten 5 shrimps, a goby and a clown ...

not complaining though as i enjoy the scene when it comes out under the LR to feed on the prawns during feeding times ....

I had one snowflake eel too. I was ignorant then.

It ate my toad fish. :eyeblur:

my dragonet. :cry:

my clownfish. :ph34r:

I strongly suggest your tankmates should be fishes like tangs or squrrielfishes.

Cardinals do fine. :D

MMMMM my snowflake never touch any of my fish not even the small one........... And from what i read their teeth is specially design for crushing invert

see......snowflakes can EAT other fishes......i guess DA is lucky to have one that doesn't....

anyway...I have heard their teeth are laced with certain amount of poison to stun fish or inverts....dun know true or not(I know sea snakes has it)......too lazy to check this one up.....if I come across this fish when I am reading marine books later...maybe will check it out......

see......snowflakes can EAT other fishes......i guess DA is lucky to have one that doesn't....

anyway...I have heard their teeth are laced with certain amount of poison to stun fish or inverts....dun know true or not(I know sea snakes has it)......too lazy to check this one up.....if I come across this fish when I am reading marine books later...maybe will check it out......

No from many infor i gathered on the net, snowflake has teeth specialise for crushing invert well maybe once in the aquarist hand they gone mad............. Hey i never loss a single fish.............. No eel teeth do not contain poison, its just that they feed on wide variety of meaty food thus when the reefer is accidentally bitten by the fish, he reefer should wash the wound quickly to prevent serious infection from the bacteria found in the eel teeth

How do you feed the eels? Do they need to get used to frozen food, etc?? :thanks:

in my case, i use those prawns (same kind as we used for makan and sold in kg at wet market) ..... just thaw them before feeding and cut into small pieces and using a pair of thongs ...

when it smells it, it will just stick its head out and makan ... very nice to watch IMO ..

you would know where to look for it once u put it in your tank and most eels seldom swim around in daylight ...