Irresponsible LFS

Archer82

Feeling really irritated so decided to post this.

I just returned from this particular LFS in Yishun where I frequent. I stopped buying fishes from them a long time ago but still scout around for macroalgae and such.

A couple of weeks ago I saw this small brain specimen that had just come in at the shop and being interested I enquired how much it was. Apparently it was $45, a small luminous green brain. Since it was beyond my budget I left and after about a week realised that the brain had disappeared. I asked the aunty and she said chances are it was sold and that she wasn't really sure.

Cutting the story short, I just saw the brain almost totally bleached and one part of the skeleton was showing at the top tank placed amongst bare liverock.

Even then I volunteered to buy the brain at a lower price and the reply was that the lady would have to ask the "boss" bfore telling me as he wasn't ard.

I left the shop kinda pissed that such a nice specimen had just been neglected like that. ( It wasn't even placed in good lighting)

I just wish something could be done regarding people like this.

BTW the so called "boss" is an 18 yr old who obviously does a very bad job running the marine tanks judging by the dying and dead fishes I see everytime I visit the shop. ( Today there was a wrasse in its dead throes with its eyes cloudy and fishes full of itch)

Really really wish something could be done or there was an authority to oversee such unneccesary destruction of our limited coral resources...

A set of legal rules for maintaining LFS maybe ?

True enough bro diabolus but honestly I would rather pay a premium then see shops which charge the same as everywhere else ( I mean other reliable shops ) and when people don't buy their stock just let it perish in their display tanks.

At the end of the day when marine stocks are depleted ( In such irresponsible ways or other means ) the price is still going to go up rite :)

What irritated me the most about this particular shop is that nothing is done about the poor condition of the fishes and the best part is that the fishes become really sickly after a couple of days in the display tanks. ( In other words healthy fishes become sick ) I bear witness to this.

What I feel is that with such rules, or a legal guideline as I put it, we would have fewer LFSs displaying quality LS rather then many inferior ones. I don't mean to put them down as everyone is out to make a livelihood but I feel this concerns life and ultimately our precious reefs.

Another thing is that for the abuse of animals and pets , we have the SPCA coming in and legal action being taken against the offender. Remember the case of the dogs tied up at a tree?

Many of the reefers here expressed concern and were willing to go all out to help those dogs. Isn't letting fishes die in inadequate and bad conditions akin to what those dogs went through ? Are we just going to be silent because the fishes are smaller/ less vocal and there isn't much bad publicity unlike the dogs ?

Think about it fellow bros...

I just hope my train of thought is right and that I'm just not ranting on and on :)

agree with diabolus that

cheap corals for sale = low cost so lfs alittle neglect

ex corals = higher cost so lfs will take care

would like to see corals well taken care of but also not happy if lifestocks are ex... wouldn't know where i stand on this...

i stay at yishun i also noe tat yishun dun have a reputable marine LFS. so the moral of the story, dun buy from them, and hopefully they will close down eventually. ;) *note, i nv state which LFS hor. :rolleyes:

Exactly bro ekia that's what I'm irritated at.

I just feel very powerless and sad at the number of marine LS that are being killed unnecessarily at such shops and wish something could be done.

Its been ages since the last time we discussed this topic and to my knowledge the shop is still stocking up...my guess is that the buyers are non-forum members or people who don't really read up...you know " just buy, throw it inside saltwater and hope it lives" mentality kinda people.

That's why I was hoping there would be some legal guideline...it'll be like paying for unleaded petrol, slightly more expensive ( to my knowledge) but we do it for obvious benefits.

Or maybe I should just print a huge " DON'T KILL MARINE LIFE IN THE NAME OF BUSINESS ! " banner and place it ouside the shop.

LOL....

Aiyah these kind of people are business man not hobbyist. Their main aim is to make money. Come to Lfs at my place in woodlands blk 818. If you like corals in his display tank he will also sell it to you ;) . But also quite sad watching the coral die off just like that :cry:. Not many Lfs owner are as passionate as henry.

Do you know that most hobbyists who venture into this business failed? Ask Calfo or Fenner, they will confirm that. Of course some LFS take care of their livestock more than others. I have also seen some LFS really mishandled and rough on their livestock.

Archer has made a point but then in the real world this does not happen, you are too idealistic, like how to take action against them etc. etc., marine lives are so fragile, no matter how much you care for them, some will die for one reason or another. Like most reefers said, if you are so pissed off, don't patronise them. To be honest there is very little you can do, I believe a lot of LFS are like that, they sell cheap and get rid of their stock fast, don't forget there are a lot of reefers out there looking for bargains and they don't mind buying from them. Only the conscientious reefer will agree and try to do some of the things you suggested, but they are far and in between.

no point getting angry. best thing to do is not TO GO that lfs again.

remember: once the buying stops, the dying stops too.

i know that yishun lfs.woodlands one also. :nuke:

hi bro ... is the lfs u mention near block 900+???

cheers :)

correct lor, thier objective is to earn money, so they dun really care much about its health so long as someone is willing to pay for it at the end of the day.

Stop patronising them and you will help in ensuring they close down faster. :D

Have you guys seen the way LS are packed when shipment arrived and how the LFS unpacked them? Gets me to pity the stress those LS go thru. Actually marine fish are quite tough, can survive being packed inside a small bag for hours and then being thrown around when sorting

One thing I am glad about is that quite a few of the reefers here seem to know about the particular shop I am referring to, not that the other shop at yishun selling marine fish fares any better in terms of condition of fishes etc.

Saw a couple of yellow tangs recently; juveniles...looking so sickly they had difficulty swimming straight. They seemed to be leaning one side or the other while swimming and all looked so shrunken and thin....not too surprised only one was left when I went the next day :(