SRC Member dleecool Posted March 31, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted March 31, 2005 Hi All, At present I'm using the Seachem matrix carbon, and it's time to change, so I'm wondering any suugestions out here for a better brand of carbon or I continue with Seachem? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hotlemond Posted March 31, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted March 31, 2005 had a buddy using ChemiPure with great success. Bro dleecool, how is the matrix Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dleecool Posted March 31, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted March 31, 2005 had a buddy using ChemiPure with great success.Bro dleecool, how is the matrix So far so good for the Matrix. But since I'm only use this, I cant make any comparison!!! That's why I'm asking for other s' opinions!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hotlemond Posted March 31, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted March 31, 2005 So far so good for the Matrix. But since I'm only use this, I cant make any comparison!!! That's why I'm asking for other s' opinions!! you can try chemipure or aquaz. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member chucky Posted March 31, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted March 31, 2005 so fa so good then use back the matrix brand back lor.. cheap and oso good mah.. i oso use matrix brand can save $$$ buy other stuff.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
optimus prime Posted March 31, 2005 Share Posted March 31, 2005 chemipure for me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hotlemond Posted March 31, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted March 31, 2005 so fa so good then use back the matrix brand back lor.. cheap and oso good mah.. i oso use matrix brand can save $$$ buy other stuff.. if it ain't broken, dun fix it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dleecool Posted March 31, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted March 31, 2005 chemipure for me. HI, Is this the one claim dont change water for 5 years??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted March 31, 2005 Share Posted March 31, 2005 Choose the GAC which leeches the least amt of PO4....... but most brands dun specifically show u how much PO4 it leeches. use GAC in small amts in a moderate flow area with regular changes shld give u the best results. Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hotlemond Posted March 31, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted March 31, 2005 HI, Is this the one claim dont change water for 5 years??? they claim only la, but you dare or not? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jc85 Posted March 31, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted March 31, 2005 Choose the GAC which leeches the least amt of PO4....... but most brands dun specifically show u how much PO4 it leeches. use GAC in small amts in a moderate flow area with regular changes shld give u the best results. Which brand u use bro? Quote Earth Conservation Blog My Marine Blog For All Sengkang Residents Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted March 31, 2005 Share Posted March 31, 2005 So far tested a few popular brands on the market and 2 not so popular (due to the $$$) brands leaches undetectable PO4. 1. Rowacarbon. 2. Zeovit carbon These are $$$$ unfortuntely. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted March 31, 2005 Share Posted March 31, 2005 Which brand u use bro? i use chemi-pure, changing every 2 to 4 weeks. dependant on tank conditions. Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member wa_lanz Posted March 31, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted March 31, 2005 in wat amount huh lightningstrike? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted March 31, 2005 Share Posted March 31, 2005 in wat amount huh lightningstrike? in small amts........ i know of reefers that use only a few spoonful of GAC in their 60++ gallon tank, changing rowa every few days and his sps r swee. but of coz, diff tanks hv different needs and different capabilities to cope with the PO4 induced, etc....... so there is no hard and fast rule to this. best way is to experiment out urself and find out what is best. Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member riot Posted March 31, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted March 31, 2005 So far tested a few popular brands on the market and 2 not so popular (due to the $$$) brands leaches undetectable PO4. 1. Rowacarbon. 2. Zeovit carbon These are $$$$ unfortuntely. WL, so you are using these two personally? I found out what was fueling my hair algae growth- the carbon. Since removing, HA growth is sharply curbed. Now looking for alternative carbon source, or an in-line fluidized reactor that delivers thru carbon that into rowa. Not too sure hows the flow rate thru that to ensure 100% PO4 leaching is filtered thru ROWA. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ping Posted March 31, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted March 31, 2005 chemipure! No change of water for 5 years! lol! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted March 31, 2005 Share Posted March 31, 2005 WL, so you are using these two personally? I found out what was fueling my hair algae growth- the carbon. Since removing, HA growth is sharply curbed. Now looking for alternative carbon source, or an in-line fluidized reactor that delivers thru carbon that into rowa. Not too sure hows the flow rate thru that to ensure 100% PO4 leaching is filtered thru ROWA. I had a hard battle with PO4 few months ago, the PO4 shot up after I removed my Rowapohs when I started zeovit. Like you I found one of the source of PO4 coming from the carbon so I went around testing those carbon by soaking them in DI/RO (verifed first to have undetectable PO4) for 24hrs then measuring the DI/RO water. I was using rowacarbon and now zeovit carbon (avaliable from Ocean planet) and both tested for undetectable PO4 in the RO/DI water. Give you an example, a certain brand from German, I soak 700ml which is the whole small box into 3 litres of RO/DI, after 24hrs the PO4 meter reads 0.1ppm, changed water and soak 24hrs and retest and still 0.1ppm. You can imagine how much PO4 is leached out A bit another source of PO4 was from my DSB, after four or five times cleaning the sandbed PO4 has dropped from an all time high of 0.22ppm down to 0.02ppm. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
optimus prime Posted April 1, 2005 Share Posted April 1, 2005 HI, Is this the one claim dont change water for 5 years??? yes. but 5 years,its exagerated. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dleecool Posted April 1, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted April 1, 2005 Ok, I will try Chemipure this time!!! But I heard there's a fake one around, am I rite? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shoelevy Posted April 3, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 3, 2005 is chemipure the one that costs around $10 and has a clownfish on the bottle? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member LaW Posted April 3, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 3, 2005 is chemipure the one that costs around $10 and has a clownfish on the bottle? yeap, it has a clownfish on the bottle Quote If a man could beat his own fantasy. Then to only breed in captivity. Then its pointless. Genesis 1:20 And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day. || Tank: 78" x 30" x 30" || Sump: 48" x 22" x 20" || Lights: PowerModule 10 X 80W|| Returns: 2 x HF32 || || Skimmer: BubbleKing Supermarin 300 || Wavemaker: 3 x 6100 & 1 x 6200, 2 x Wavebox 6212, WavySea || || FR: 2 x FR150 || NR: Sulphur Denitrator || CR: RM Custom Made 8" || KR: Deltec KM500 || TopUp: Tunze Osmolator 3155 || || UV: Coralife 12X 36W || Ozonizer: Sanders C200|| Controller: GHL Profilux Plus II Ex || Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shoelevy Posted April 3, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 3, 2005 do u guys throw the whole nylon bag in or throw in some only? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kueytoc Posted April 4, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 4, 2005 what about AquaPharm PUR-II™ media ? Anyone using it ? Any problem with PO4 leaching ? Heard it's good stuff. Quote WRASSEY REEF PARADISE 4ftx2.5ftx2.5ft SRC Site: Welcome to My World of WRASSEYS !!! CHUISUI Site: WRASSEY World of REEF Paradise !!! mio CAN-REEF Site: Wrassey World !!! SiamReefClub Site: WRASSEY MASTER Hyper ไฮเปà¸à¸£à¹Œ ; Silly Fools ; Labanoon ; I-Nam ไà¸à¸™à¹‰à¸³ ; Modern Dog ; Sirasak Ittipolpanish ; Annita - Nisita Pongsong Twin-CAMs Power Module ! ; MIO Dream Car ! ; MIO Alter-EGO ! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member riot Posted April 4, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted April 4, 2005 I was using rowacarbon and now zeovit carbon (avaliable from Ocean planet) and both tested for undetectable PO4 in the RO/DI water. Thanks WL, thats exactly what I wanted to hear. Great source of info- saved my Salifert PO4 tests. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...