Help...Pls advice is this Itch?

Copper treatment, very deadly. U must clean your fish throughly b4 rtn them back to main tank. Copper can kill Coral and inverts.

Yup... Aware of that.... Must do it step by step and slowly....

Good thing I dun have corals in my tank.... one good reason to have FOWLR.... ;)

i am a newbie, but i know its good to get some cleaner shrimp to help groom the tang. i have seen it work over time in my case.

Contrary to the belief, biological cleaners (aka cleaner shrimps + cleaner wrasse) are not known to feed on ich....

However, they do help in certain sense that they keep off secondary infestations (other parasites) while giving the fishes a chance to fight ich on their own....

Go to Http://www.marineaquariumadvice.com and look in the library. You will find the most comprehensive series on Cryptocaryon irritans available. It is a five part series that should answer all of your questions. There is also another article on using garlic (not the most dependable method).

Cheers,

Terry B

That's where I got most of my read-ups on ich.... very good and comprehensive article....

It had been 2 weeks since QT....the fish are all becoming well...very tempted to put the fish back into the Main Tank. Frankly, I believed the invertes in the Main Tank misses the fishes coz no dentris to eat. hahaha!

But I must endure (5/6 weeks more) coz I dun want the fish to suffer again...lost a warrse, Mandrain Goby & PBT to the ich.... :(

I hope this lesson tells everyone that all must QT their new fish and be very careful when adding new fish to the Main tank.

It had been 2 weeks since QT....the fish are all becoming well...very tempted to put the fish back into the Main Tank. Frankly, I believed the invertes in the Main Tank misses the fishes coz no dentris to eat. hahaha!

But I must endure (5/6 weeks more) coz I dun want the fish to suffer again...lost a warrse, Mandrain Goby & PBT to the ich.... :(

I hope this lesson tells everyone that all must QT their new fish and be very careful when adding new fish to the Main tank.

Totally agree bro....

Me too.... must wait another 6 weeks or so... :cry2::cry2:

Only survivor from attack is my sailfin which is not in quarantine tank undertaking cupramine (copper) treatment....

hi Guys, after spoken to some LFS, they told me that itc or White Spot is actually caused by pods, as such it is either dormant or active.

As such there is no point to wait for the Main Tank to wipe off the bacteria...

I have reinstate the fish back to the tank, hope everything will turn out well.

Aftermath....the fish felt a bit weird after returning back to a BIG tank from their 3/4 weeks holidays....quite refreshing...:)

if you can catch the fellow put him in a pail and add seachem cuprimin(not sure the spelling)it should get better in 2-5 days time.got to change water ever 2 days but you have to provide the blue tang with enough space to swim :lol:

hi Guys, after spoken to some LFS, they told me that itc or White Spot is actually caused by pods, as such it is either dormant or active.

As such there is no point to wait for the Main Tank to wipe off the bacteria...

I have reinstate the fish back to the tank, hope everything will turn out well.

Aftermath....the fish felt a bit weird after returning back to a BIG tank from their 3/4 weeks holidays....quite refreshing...:)

Who DID u hear from? :o:blink::blink:

White spots caused by pods?!? U mean white spots came from pods? That can't be cause ich is a form of protozoan which only uses fishes as hosts.... and it is not a form of bacteria as you mentioned...

I'm really concerned to know which LFS you speak to... cause this is obviously wrong info judging from the other scientific research articles that I came across.. hmpphh...

I have to let you know that not all LFS bosses really know their fishes from corals... let alone parasites.... most LFS operators are businessmen and not TRUE hobbyists.... they have a business perspective and for them, the bottomline is about $$$.

Very few LFS are truly honorable hobbyists so you gotta be careful who you get advice from... It's important who you hear from....

Recently, This Ah Pek tried to persuade me into buying an ich covered blue tang... It was TOTALLY covered in ich and gasping.... :blink::blink: I told him there's ich and the fish dun seen to be swimming actively.... and even had the cheek to offer me at a discounted price of $45!!!! Guess what he said to me when I told him hat he is obviously taking me as a sucker and try to clear his shit fish to me at such a high price which is above market rate...

He retaliated and said: "Young Man, when I start playing fish, I think you are not even born yet, this white spots are part of tangs and without it, the tangs will not survive... you dun believe you buy one without these white stuff lah, it will sure die one..." I am totally stunned for words... :o

So be careful who you get advice from... always double check by doing some reading up on the net (lots of good articles), check with some bros here or other reputable LFS...

I believe you must have went LFSing and got tempted by the fishes lah... honestly, I am now in the state where my tank is empty to combat ich so I can understand the temptation... :lol::D But I believe you must have told someone in the LFS shop that your tank has ich and can't really buy fishes now...

Honestly, do you think they really care about your tank having iches? Of course NOT, its business for them and they will cook up a story and tell you all sort of so-called knowledge they have just to make you buy something from them... I hope you didn't buy anything... :lol::D

This is the sorry state of some of the LFS here in Singapore.... except for one or two reputable ones I know... who won't sell you any fish when you tell him or her that your tank is only one week old into cycling... :lol::D

Lastly, tanks left fallow properly for 8 weeks or so CAN eradicate all iches and it is proven... I just thought it is a waste for you since you are already 4 weeks into the treatment... iches need fishes (and fishes only) as host.... and it is possible to have an ich free tank provided you follow regimen quarantine practices and intro things into tank which are from reliable sources...

Hope you won't feel I am lecturing or whatever, I am truly concerned as a fellow reefer... ;)

Hi Bro Seamonkey, Thanks for the words. It is good advice from you and I truely agreed with what you said.:D

I have read articles on PODs, some like ISOPODS are blood :evil:

, it will attached itself to the fish and slowly sucks the blood.

I will further research on the white spot, if it is not true, will go back to the LFS and tell them, so hope they dun give false info in future.

I did not buy any fish from them, just brought Mushies, it should not contract any spot...hopefully :unsure:

So can PM me which are those Reputable shop that can consider buying fish and coral? :thanks:

PS: Saw your tank setup, really outstanding :bow: I will be going to see my good friend Han Teck, and see whether he can give good discount ;) dun think my CFO will allow me to spend 5K for a fish tank :lol:

Hey no worries... good you are taking it objectively... :lol::D Some others may have felt offended by me sometimes... :lol:

There are some form of pods that are harmful to fishes... as what you mention, there are pods there suck on fishes at the gills area... Marine ich, however, is a form of ciliated protozoan (single-celled) altogether....

Here's some good articles about ich, their life cycle and proper treatment. The first one is my preferred one since it is more detailed... ;)

Hope it helps

http://www.marineaquariumadvice.com/aquarium_fish_1.html

http://www.petsforum.com/personal/trevor-j.../marineich.html

http://www.reef-aquarium.net/resources/disease/ich.html

http://www.wetwebmedia.com/parasiti.htm

Wow :bow::thanks: Seamonkey....

The article had shed light and now I understand that Ich or Whitespot can be killed without any fish for a period of 30 days to 6 weeks.

:( I have almost passed the guage, that xYz&%*($# LFS gave me false info and made me wasted my effort...... :(

I will observe my fish and if there is any sign of the Ich coming back, will Hypo again.

Anyway, I am always open to comments, it is good that ppl shared information which they have, it always help a new reefer like me to continue this hobby.....

The article had shed light and now I understand that Ich or Whitespot can be killed without any fish for a period of 30 days to 6 weeks.

:( I have almost passed the guage, that xYz&%*($# LFS gave me false info and made me wasted my effort...... :(

I will observe my fish and if there is any sign of the Ich coming back, will Hypo again.

Anyway, I am always open to comments, it is good that ppl shared information which they have, it always help a new reefer like me to continue this hobby.....

:lol: Thanks... you are welcomed.... we are in this together..

Honestly, be patient and go for 8 weeks for an extra safety measure...

My fingers also itchy liao but I have to wait till mid June..... :lol:

bro seamonkee. . just saw a few white spots on my pbt and brown tang. . sianz. .

Gosh.... sorry to hear about that...

Maybe it's high time you set up the QT tank too... :rolleyes:

Gosh.... sorry to hear about that...

Maybe it's high time you set up the QT tank too... :rolleyes:

i will set up a qt tank as soon as i find a 2ft tank. but anyway can the pbt and brown tang be saved? its a pity to see them wasted away. . is it ok to drip garlic on the frozen brine/mysis shimps n feed them?

To be honest, garlic is good only as preventive measures... like us, when we take garlic to boost our immunity against flu and colds... but will be too late to start taking them when we are down with cold and flu...

Make it a habit to feed your healthy fishes. In this hobby, preventive is always better than cure...

At this point, if you can, isolate your fishes and put them into QT...

Hahaha....it is always sad to see the fishes in QT, properbly due to the constraint of space and they can hardly swim around. Unless, you have a QT of 4-5ft, that will be difference.

Since I have moved my fishes back to the Main tank, i am continuing on the garlic soak pellets....

The fishes till today are still happy, just that 2 fishes when into the powerhead and sucide...SAD... :(

But bro, be patient and the result will bring great perks...keep it up, Bro Seamonkey.. :)

Hahaha....it is always sad to see the fishes in QT, properbly due to the constraint of space and they can hardly swim around. Unless, you have a QT of 4-5ft, that will be difference.

Since I have moved my fishes back to the Main tank, i am continuing on the garlic soak pellets....

The fishes till today are still happy, just that 2 fishes when into the powerhead and sucide...SAD... :(

But bro, be patient and the result will bring great perks...keep it up, Bro Seamonkey.. :)

you have to be careful with the powerheads... I would use the filter caps provided to diffuse the strength of the suction power.... And if I have smaller fishes, I would build a barrier of sort using my lego bricks... :lol:

My blue tang got the same ick a few weeks ago, but it disappear until recently it resurface again. My purple tang now got it also....worry that other fish might get it also. We know that QT them, hyposalintly and other methods is highly recommended. But imagine you have a 150g tank and is 4x2x2.5, how are we going to catch all the fishes? how to provide such a big QT tank for my fishes and to maintain all the right parameters....

So I am going to treat all my fishes in my main tank

1) dose kent pro-tech coat ( it stimulate slime coating for all fishes, good for stress or sick fishes)

2) Off my skimmer for 1 week. Do not have a skimmer for 5 months until installed recently,so should be ok to go without i for 1 week.

3) feed once a day lightly so not to built up much nutrients.

4) Will dose salifert stop parasite as I read in this tread and it seems ok. I alsoread about the recommendation in the RC tread.

Hopefully within a week I should see results, that the slime coat will protect them and the stop parasite will render the parasite useless. Once the fishes are protected for 1 months, hopefully the ick cycle is destroy.

Will you guys updated 1 week from now.

Hope to hear from you guys whether such plan will work.

:erm:

Another SAD thing :cry2: happened. 2 fishes died of ICH attack :sick: . It really sickening coz I was out of town for 5 days and when I came back, saw the fishes covered with white dots all over the body.

I have thus catch all the fish and put them into QT tank.

This time I hope I will endure for 2 months.

How can we KILL :angry: ALL the ICH. This is a real problem and it really sadden me to see fish died. Really no mood. :(

Is there anything that can destroy ICH without hurting Corals and Fish?