newbie...

Wish to set up a aqua fish tank and aware alot of stuff are needed.Besides the skimmer,the pump and filter,there's also the chiller.What i like to find out is how do i get abt choosing the rite chiller for my 2 and a half ft fish tank?How does it help in maintaining my aqua fishes and corals?What are the things i need to take notes when getting a chiller?Any ideas where to get?Last i check,chiller kindda low in stock leh...

Corals are also essenstial in a aqua tank and how do i go keepin it alive??I a newbie..so theres many stuff i dun know.need enlightenment..thks bro! :unsure:

for any equipment that you are getting... always remember... once in a long long blue moon... then got such thing as cheap and good product....

for equipment... if you want good.... u better be willing to pay... as for which chiller is suitable for your tank... the more hp the better of course.... minimum for a "standard proportion" 2.5 feet tank... by my kiasu standard... 1/3hp??? i dun know.... i always buy super-sized products....

as for your other queries.... i suggest u do wad i do.... read thru the entire forum... will proberly take you a day or two.....

note for noobies: seriously... you are better off reading the entire forum, rather than posting a query and hope that we will reply to u. not say we are being unfriendly or lazy to repeat ourselves again and again....

i dun mind repeating myself again and again... its a simple task of finding my old reply using the search button... then copy and paste my old post... simple as that... i dun even need to type again....

but the plus point of reading the entire forum again is so that you are able to dig out every single information that we posted before.... we can always repeat again... but definately not every single point that we brought up in the past.... definately there are some old birds who are no longer here anymore.... (still on earth, but not in SRC.. dun get me wrong.. :P)

my suggestion to you: if u want to find out more about chillers, click the search button somewhere near the top of forum. then search for Chiller. maybe u can stream-line your search by just search in the review and marine equipment sub-forum....

as for my advice/guideline for the chiller.... pls note that i am kiasu... and have successfully robbed alot of banks... so got alot of cash to blow.... thats why i would reccomend more expensive equipment.... :P besides... if u notice... the more expansive equipment consume lesser power... thats why more expansive in first place... and in long run... helps u save money by cutting down on your utility bills....

Wish to set up a aqua fish tank and aware alot of stuff are needed.Besides the skimmer,the pump and filter,there's also the chiller.What i like to find out is how do i get abt choosing the rite chiller for my 2 and a half ft fish tank?How does it help in maintaining my aqua fishes and corals?What are the things i need to take notes when getting a chiller?Any ideas where to get?Last i check,chiller kindda low in stock leh...

Corals are also essenstial in a aqua tank and how do i go keepin it alive??I a newbie..so theres many stuff i dun know.need enlightenment..thks bro! :unsure:

hi,

i am newbie here too. Hope you don't mind me tagging along your thread. Is the location of the tank in the house important? meaning access to bathroom for water supply, near window for chiller to rid the heat it generated, have to be center of attraction, etc etc.. thinking of seeting up one too but wanted to learn more first before i invest in it.. can the more lao jiao here too enlighten me..

Thank you.

LIP :lol:

LIP,

for this hobby, patience is key, passion is enforced, headache is common, heartache more common, wallet never been more empty :)

but like muarchee said

1) DON't Expect to get GOOD stuff IF YOU AIN"T WILLING TO PAY and, IMO, don't expect to go far if you don't have good equipment

2)Patience is very important...many newbies have a chionging spirit...everything wanna try...unfortunately, no single tank can provide for the needs of ALL marine creatures, some are reef-safe some are not, some are aggressive some are timid, not everything can be put together...compatibility is an issue

simply put, ITS VERY IMPORTANT TO READ UP before making a decision on anything. Can't find what you want on internet or books, then ASK. And , don't ask then don't listen (sth which i must admit i've been guilty of and regret many times)

3) Make friends with senior reefers...MY GOODNESS...their knowledge is simply fantastic. Just hang out with them, talk, drink coffee...and slowly you will pick up tonnes of stuff from them. Trouble is, will you have this opportunity? :)

4) Lastly is Responsibility. You buy something, jolly well take good care of it. Even if it dies(touch wood) , your conscience is clear. DOn't be like so many freshwater fish keepers, buy a fish, throw in tank, don't care if it lives or dies, even if the fish swims upside down, don't bother to treat its problems :angry:

To sum up,

Remember Patience and Responsibility...2 virtues which i think are very important

hi , i am newbie too. hmm. shoelevy how long is your cycling period and the duration for you to stock your tank with fishes/corals?

Make friends with senior reefers...MY GOODNESS...their knowledge is simply fantastic. Just hang out with them, talk, drink coffee...and slowly you will pick up tonnes of stuff from them. Trouble is, will you have this opportunity?

who are the senior/experts here. looking at your posting, i believe that u are senior' enough for me to learn from you. :paiseh:

if not wrong, you have keep a lion fish with the rest of tankmates. Is it safe to keep it (am i right>lionfish?:( ) with other type of marine fishes? How do you feed your lionfish?

hmm. understood that u are using resun chiller. is that 1/4or 1/3hp chiller strong enough for 5/4footer? how long does your chiller operate? any idea of the watt consumption?

how thick is your deep sand bed, what is the correct thickness; can you recommend me on the type of sand for it? How do i know if the deep sand bed is done in a proper manner?

thanks senior.