ccplim Posted September 5, 2003 Share Posted September 5, 2003 Hi, I am new to this forum and also to marines. Hoping to learn more from all bros and sisters here. Now..... the main topic. When setting up a new marine tank, which is the correct way to do? 1) add sand/gravel to the empty tank, follow by water n salt 2) add water n salt to the tank, follow by sand/gravel I have been doing some read up and was confused by some of the methods that ppl use (most ppl use the 1st method but some advise to use the 2nd). Thus would like to seek advise from bros here. Thanks! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member [P]owder Blue Posted September 5, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2003 ccplim, most will adopt the first method. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hotsoup Posted September 5, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2003 For me, sand, rocks followed by mixed salt water. Others might have other preferences Quote 2ft cube with 2.5 sump 400w MH with 6 x 24w blue T5 Hydor wavemaker controller Aquatronica controller Daikin compressor with double coil RM CR H&S out sump skimmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member diabolus Posted September 5, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2003 i prefer to mix the saltwater first then add in to the tank. take a plate and place it on ur sandbed. then pour ur saltwater slowly on to the plate...if not...u r going to get the worst sand storm u'll ever see... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member junyong84 Posted September 5, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2003 dun use gravel... no good a DSB pls Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Hon Posted September 5, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2003 I opt for the 2nd method. I always think that if your sand are wash and wet, you dump into the emtpy tank, after that then get water and salt or add salt water, the bottom part of the sand is still having fresh water. In order for the entire sandbed to become same salinity with the tank, might take a while and thus delay the cycling of the tank. Just my thought, no document proof hor.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hbpencil Posted September 5, 2003 Share Posted September 5, 2003 Hi Jellyfish, I thought I read somewhere that we should used the mix salt water to wash the sand? Just would like to clarify as I'm planning to start my marine tank soon. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SharkBait Posted September 5, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2003 Hi Jellyfish, I thought I read somewhere that we should used the mix salt water to wash the sand? Just would like to clarify as I'm planning to start my marine tank soon. hahaha,which jellyfish you refering to? thats the rank lah. normal tap water will do. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SharkBait Posted September 5, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2003 you only use mixed saltwater to wash if its livesand. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SpiderOne Posted September 6, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2003 for me. its water and salt. then sand . so everything mixes well Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hbpencil Posted September 6, 2003 Share Posted September 6, 2003 Thanks, SharkBait ..... for teaching. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member junyong84 Posted September 6, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2003 i sand, water then salt.. kentmarine salt dissolve very fast! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tanzy Posted September 6, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2003 Sand then water = Air bubbles in sand bed for a few weeks. Water then sand = cloudy water for a few days. Quote Warning: Heavy handed moderator in operation. Threads and post are liable to be deleted or moved without prior notification. Moderator's prerogative will be enforced. Any grievances or complains should be addressed to The Administrator. http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/uploads/post-36-1073276974.gif Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Razo Posted September 6, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2003 Water then sand = cloudy water for a few days. me water ... salt ... "0" sand = cloudy for 2 days... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ccplim Posted September 6, 2003 Author Share Posted September 6, 2003 owder Blue,Sep 5 2003, 01:34 PM] ccplim, most will adopt the first method. Thanks bro! Seems to me that this is the more common approach Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ccplim Posted September 6, 2003 Author Share Posted September 6, 2003 i prefer to mix the saltwater first then add in to the tank. take a plate and place it on ur sandbed. then pour ur saltwater slowly on to the plate...if not...u r going to get the worst sand storm u'll ever see... Haha.... i agreed with u Encountered that once when i change water for my FW tank n forgot to lower down the flow rate of my filter Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ccplim Posted September 6, 2003 Author Share Posted September 6, 2003 dun use gravel... no good a DSB pls Paisei bro, the gravel that i mentioned was actually referring to DSB Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ccplim Posted September 6, 2003 Author Share Posted September 6, 2003 I opt for the 2nd method. I always think that if your sand are wash and wet, you dump into the emtpy tank, after that then get water and salt or add salt water, the bottom part of the sand is still having fresh water. In order for the entire sandbed to become same salinity with the tank, might take a while and thus delay the cycling of the tank. Just my thought, no document proof hor.... Oh!!! Didn't relised abt this FW "trapped" in the sand thingy until u mentioned it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ccplim Posted September 6, 2003 Author Share Posted September 6, 2003 you only use mixed saltwater to wash if its livesand. Thanks for the tips bro Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nsyahron Posted September 8, 2003 Share Posted September 8, 2003 I mixed saltwater first, then only put in sand. Sand storm will be over in a day or two. No harm. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Wei Posted September 8, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 8, 2003 Hi, fill tank with 20% saltwater. add the all the sand u want to add. Wait a couple of hrs. Once not so cloudy, put a plate in the centre of the tank & pour the rest of the saltwater onto the plate. This will prevent another sand storm. Once thats done, U just need to wait the next morning & ur tank is clear. Run yr skimmer, it will shorten the time it takes for the water to clear. Wei Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Reef23 Posted September 14, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 14, 2003 Wat abt the live rocks? When do u put it in? Thot of puting the sand then the rocks easy to landscape without the water. Wat do u thk? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...