Placement of SPS...

juz started on SPS so really new about this : How to decide where to place the SPS within the tank?

There's only that much colonies we can place at the highest point in the tank closest to the light, but some SPS can colour up at lower regions, is there any way to tell, which are the ones we can place lower? like the species/colour of SPS?

Experts pls advise... Thanxs! :thanks:

This one gotta pay tuition fees. :lol::lol: I've paid a lot already since i started.

One way is to read up and try to recognise the different types of SPS species. Veron's Corals of the World is one good book (3 volume set). If you check RC, there are a lot of threads asking for coral IDs. They ask not only to know the names but also to understand the different characteristics of the SPS based on the species. Some found in shallow waters hence need a lot more light than those found in deeper waters. Some are fast growers hence can still thrive in lower light compared to slow growers which tend to brown easier since they do not show much short term growth. Montipora generally (not true everytime) can thrive in lesser light environment than Acropora. And so on and so forth......... :upsidedown:

Next time you go SPS hunting, try to go with someone more experienced in choosing corals. I find that helps a lot when you are new to coral identification. If can, get a few reefers to go along, most often than not collective agreement can help you to decide on the coral or deter you from impluse buying. Don't be fooled by the colours, there are some which can't hold in your tank no matter how high you place them.

Take your time and don't hurry into buying some corals which you are not sure. However, at LFS the temptation is too great, I'm guilty of that myself. :paiseh: Hence tuition fee still have to pay one. :sick::sick::lol:

This one gotta pay tuition fees. :lol::lol: I've paid a lot already since i started.

One way is to read up and try to recognise the different types of SPS species. Veron's Corals of the World is one good book (3 volume set). If you check RC, there are a lot of threads asking for coral IDs. They ask not only to know the names but also to understand the different characteristics of the SPS based on the species. Some found in shallow waters hence need a lot more light than those found in deeper waters. Some are fast growers hence can still thrive in lower light compared to slow growers which tend to brown easier since they do not show much short term growth. Montipora generally (not true everytime) can thrive in lesser light environment than Acropora. And so on and so forth......... :upsidedown:

Next time you go SPS hunting, try to go with someone more experienced in choosing corals. I find that helps a lot when you are new to coral identification. If can, get a few reefers to go along, most often than not collective agreement can help you to decide on the coral or deter you from impluse buying. Don't be fooled by the colours, there are some which can't hold in your tank no matter how high you place them.

Take your time and don't hurry into buying some corals which you are not sure. However, at LFS the temptation is too great, I'm guilty of that myself. :paiseh: Hence tuition fee still have to pay one. :sick::sick::lol:

hahah...so when can we tag along with you for SPS selection..... :D

Also paid so much tution fees that i can't tahan already.... :P

hahah...so when can we tag along with you for SPS selection..... :D

Also paid so much tution fees that i can't tahan already.... :P

:lol: I might not be the best person to tag along coz I still paying tuition fee. :sick::sick: This course very long lah. :pinch:

Anyway most SPS shipment I'm there. If can pass any little advice I know, I'll sure do it. Cheers. ;)

:lol: I might not be the best person to tag along coz I still paying tuition fee. :sick::sick: This course very long lah. :pinch:

Anyway most SPS shipment I'm there. If can pass any little advice I know, I'll sure do it. Cheers. ;)

thanxs!!! Next time SPS shipment come I better stick close close to you... see that u sold one or two colonies... preparing for another onslaught again?! :lol:

No more onslaught lah bro. Have to sell to give space for my precious pieces to grow. If I buy anymore I have to hang the SPS in the water.

But still going shipment lah, looking for the elusive piece and meeting up with reefers to TC. :lol:

No more onslaught lah bro. Have to sell to give space for my precious pieces to grow. If I buy anymore I have to hang the SPS in the water.

But still going shipment lah, looking for the elusive piece and meeting up with reefers to TC. :lol:

Bro, told u many times liao... my tank got space mah... u're welcome to put your SPS in my tank! :evil:

juz started on SPS so really new about this : How to decide where to place the SPS within the tank?

There's only that much colonies we can place at the highest point in the tank closest to the light, but some SPS can colour up at lower regions, is there any way to tell, which are the ones we can place lower? like the species/colour of SPS?

Experts pls advise... Thanxs! :thanks:

There is a method that works for me.

seperate frags from the same colony and place them in different sectors of your reef. you be very surprised how each individual specimen colours up differently under the different light intensity.

got a blue milli that turns out jus nice 12 inches from water surface. The other getting purple 3 inches away.

There is a method that works for me.

seperate frags from the same colony and place them in different sectors of your reef. you be very surprised how each individual specimen colours up differently under the different light intensity.

got a blue milli that turns out jus nice 12 inches from water surface. The other getting purple 3 inches away.

Bro, can turn blue and purple never mind. Scared it turn brown and darker brown only. :lol::lol::lol: