Need Help on Employment Issues for Expecting Women

Gouldian

i know nuts about these.

however, that boss is definetly too outrageous.

hope everything goes well for ur family, Gouldian.

regards,

LaW

Thank you Law for your kind words and supports. :D

hi gouldian,

its ok..hope whateva i said did not offend you cos sometimes i dun know how to put my words right..

what i am trying to say is to look at the bright side...probably things might not turn out so bad at the end of the day..since her boss never really mention abt asking her to leave so act blurr loh..( at least still got income )... but if he did one day..tell mrs. gouldian to demand for a compensation for what she deserved as agreed on the employment letter..

best of luck ah...dun think too much until white hair all come out... welcome ur little cute baby boy's arrival with a smiley face! :D

Hi Gothia,

No, you did not offend me. :D

In fact, I am touched by your sincere words and friendship. For, even we have never met, you have chosen to share with me your valuable insights! ;)

Thank you. :bow:

Tell ur wife to call the clients and inform them that she will be on maternity leave soon.... and that their accounts would be taken over by someone else and by the time she gets back, she might not service them anymore as the boss doesn't allow... Do this to assess if the clients are on her side... if they are, it's isn't too hard for her to quit the job and join a competitor and bring the biz over...

Or maybe just simply put pressure on the boss as they clients would demand that Mrs Gouldian service them... In a situation like this, I tink it's important for the client to be on ur side, after all, all the years of good, reliable service would count for something... this is the time whereby our hardwork keeps the business with you...

Juz my $0.02... :)

Aha, this is office politics, some of us have been through this.

Looks like the sales manager, already demoted is worried about your wife's good performance and find it a threat.

This is a odd situation, your wife is supposed to report to the SM but because she is a performer and have been there for quite a while, she reports direct to the GM, how come this situation arises? Who told her to do this or she just wanted to bypass the SM?. This sort of loose arrangements does happen in an organsiation, I am sure your wife will not be happy to report to the SM and as she has been reporting to the GM in the past, she continued doing so. Let's face it, it this is a common occurence (I mean preference) esp when your immediately boss got promoted and you still wants to report to him and he is obliged to accept that initially. Bear in mind this is only temporary, things will change after a while where the GM has more important things to do and will not find time to deal with your wife. The organsation chart will need to be adhered too, whether she likes it or not.

It is a difficult situation for both your wife and the GM, in an organisation chart, your wife reports to the SM, if her GM cannot control this awkward situation, it can spell trouble for your wife, assuming that the MD is not aware of the SM's performance and find out about this ugly (yes, it can turn ugly) situation, the GM will be called in and at the end of the day the GM has to cover his backside and sacrifice your wife. As the GM is also a shareholder, I am not sure whether he can make tough decisions when needed.

If your wife is a performer and works well with the GM, why is she not promoted? It sounds a bit odd, I suspect in the GM's eyes (to be frank and you may find hard to accept), your wife is only good as a sales exec and not of managerial material otherwise she would be promoted a long time ago. Something is missing here.

Anyway, I suggest you wife have a heart to heart talk with the GM and find out the exact situation and make her decision based on the discussion. Your wife should report to the SM in the long run and with the politics she or SM is playing, it's a double edge sword. It cuts both ways.

In the meantime, think carefully over her next course of action. You must also bear in mind that a lot of changes can be made during her absence and she may be squeezed out if the SM can convince his superiors and the GM is not protecting your wife for whatever reasons.

Thanks Marineman,

You have definitely read the situation well! :bow:

But as for the reason why my wife is not promoted, the reason is very simple, she is not cut for management and thus prefers to remain as an executive.

There are many cases like that in the Sales profession, one famous one will be Mary Chen of AIA, she has been Top Performers for so many years but chose against moving into management. ;)

Anyway, thank you for your kind contribution. :D

Hey bro,

Don't let the silly practical boss ruin such an happy occasion !

Right now, all you should do is the enjoy the joy of the first born,

and focus on all you need to do... like worrying sick.. :lol:

we can't decide for others how they think, but we can sure choose how to react...

who knows the boss would discover his own conscience later ?

Congratulation !

Dear Gouldian,

Sorry to hear that your wife has encounter such problem at work, In contrast, congratulate you and wife on your upcoming baby. :P

I will try to confirm the orders with your wife asap so that she can at least get her commissions first before going on maternity leave.

No wonder, she is pressuring me for confirmation lately. :lol:

Cheers.

Dear Gouldian,

Sorry to hear that your wife has encounter such problem at work, In contrast, congratulate you and wife on your upcoming baby. :P

I will try to confirm the orders with your wife asap so that she can at least get her commissions first before going on maternity leave.

No wonder, she is pressuring me for confirmation lately. :lol:

Cheers.

Bro Reefaholic, didn't know you are her client. :shock:

So bro, are you the one we met one day at I-Aquarium? ;)

Eh bro, since you know her predicament, hope you can help look out for her. :D

TIA :bow::bow::bow:

Hey bro,

Don't let the silly practical boss ruin such an happy occasion !

Right now, all you should do is the enjoy the joy of the first born,

and focus on all you need to do... like worrying sick.. :lol:

we can't decide for others how they think, but we can sure choose how to react...

who knows the boss would discover his own conscience later ?

Congratulation !

Thanks HuanJie. :D

Sometimes we just have to sit back and count our blessings. :D

she is not cut for management and thus prefers to remain as an executive.

There are many cases like that in the Sales profession, one famous one will be Mary Chen of AIA, she has been Top Performers for so many years but chose against moving into management. ;)

Ok, I get a clearer picture now. Some people are like that, good in sales and customer relations but not good at management job. Office politics will not really affect her as she is no threat to anyone as she is also not vying for the manager's job.

In this is the case, she got nothing to worry about at the moment, just do her job, have a nice chat with the GM before she goes for maternity and return to work and see what happens.

In the meantime, both of you spend more time preparing the arrival of you baby, you got to complete your shopping soon, as she gets heavier it will be a bit troublesome to go shopping for baby stuff. So relax and have fun. If this is your first kid, then you got to do research and reading on how to take care of your child, the first 3 years of the child's life are very important where 90% of the brain is formed/developed, provide as much stimulation as possible. Gppd luck and take care. Congrats! :P

Thank you bro,

I will care for it just as I care for my tank - or maybe even more! :P

NVM lah, as loh as can see the handsome boy, i happy liao.

Bro, take care of yourself ok. Heard you are super busy these days. :D

Wish you all the best! :D

NVM lah, as loh as can see the handsome boy, i happy liao.

Bro, take care of yourself ok. Heard you are super busy these days. :D

Wish you all the best! :D

dun worry lah....you get a lot of free time on your hand....both my kids take more then 12 hours.....always kanna chase out of the ward by my wife, she got irritated by me walking up and down...... :P end up lotering at LFS nearby....

Congrats bro. Hmm..first 3 years let your boy see your aquarium everyday. It'll be cool for dad and son to share a common hobby huh. ;)

Thanks Fuel, my wife was just asking about whether are you in Australia liao 2 days ago. :lol:

You take care! Hope to see you again soon. :peace:

• 3 years later...

I was part of the massive Philippine layoff of Jan 15 - around 1000 employees of 2 large US companies lost their jobs in a single day. There was even talk of a local outsourcing company who simply shutdown unannounced. There was crying in the city at that time --good thing I had internet income running 2 months before --so I really wasn't worried like the rest who had to contend with a new larger job market looking for scarce jobs. 1000 people may be small compared to the US - but this is the first time this has happened to the Philippines!

In the meetings of the "fired people, I felt I had to extend a hand and said "Why don't they visit my website - http://www.jomarhilario.com - I teach a free three month lesson via email on how to create income using blogs." Though I was shy at first, I think they really needed to know that there options out there. Specially now. I extend the same invite to you. Once your anger or disbelief is over. Signup to my blog and start learning the step by step lessons that enabled me to smile when things are grim.