Dispar_Anthias Posted May 3, 2005 Share Posted May 3, 2005 There are true ang pow red Sun Corals.....saw some in HK. You can also see them in the wild, just depends on where you dive - natural regional color variants. The tentacles will almost always be orangish, however. So the truth have spoken... even more confirm now when bro MB say he spot them in the wild.... And also yiling purposly went reborn to see the sun in the display tank... he say no change in colour.. so what say you shoe, maybe you need an eye checkup Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shoelevy Posted May 3, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 3, 2005 he say no colour change... me and another reefer that day saw together say got...leave it to people who see it to judge as for red sun, its already off the dyed corals list gotta go HK someday Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member yiling Posted May 3, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 3, 2005 Hi shoe, yea i went down on sunday just to see what u meant by colour 'faded'. Stood there for a whole 5 mins, but dun see much diff. Yiling also agreed it was red. Dont be stubborn k? Save up and get an air ticket to HK!! Quote [ My Humble Home] Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted May 4, 2005 Share Posted May 4, 2005 Actually during these 2 weeks, I did not see and change in the colour of the Sun both in Reborn or Yiling's place. But I do notice a change in stance. From: "but let's face it, sun corals only got orange and black" To: "ok...agree to retract if yiling's doing fine" To: "you wanna pay that much for sth that will fade and turn orange with time?" To: "as for my friend being frustrated, well, it wasn't my friend, the sun was in the main tank of reborn...if its still there might wanna check out the sun losing its red colour" To: "in any case, went checking around a few coral books, still can't find red sun, only orange and black..." To: "the suncoral in photo in http://www.bomani.com/sunpolyps.html looks pink can anyone verify if that's red sun? would like to know how natural red sun looks like because can't find photo on internet and the only specimen i saw in reborn's display was turning from red to orange" To: "the red sun that i saw and been talking about all this while is not pinkish red but ang pao red...any ideas on such colours in nature?" To: "he say no colour change... me and another reefer that day saw together say got...leave it to people who see it to judge as for red sun, its already off the dyed corals list gotta go HK someday" With the above I guess some people changes colours more than any Sun Corals known in the planet. Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted May 4, 2005 Share Posted May 4, 2005 Actually during these 2 weeks, I did not see and change in the colour of the Sun both in Reborn or Yiling's place. But I do notice a change in stance. From: "but let's face it, sun corals only got orange and black" To: "ok...agree to retract if yiling's doing fine" To: "you wanna pay that much for sth that will fade and turn orange with time?" To: "as for my friend being frustrated, well, it wasn't my friend, the sun was in the main tank of reborn...if its still there might wanna check out the sun losing its red colour" To: "in any case, went checking around a few coral books, still can't find red sun, only orange and black..." To: "the suncoral in photo in http://www.bomani.com/sunpolyps.html looks pink can anyone verify if that's red sun? would like to know how natural red sun looks like because can't find photo on internet and the only specimen i saw in reborn's display was turning from red to orange" To: "the red sun that i saw and been talking about all this while is not pinkish red but ang pao red...any ideas on such colours in nature?" To: "he say no colour change... me and another reefer that day saw together say got...leave it to people who see it to judge as for red sun, its already off the dyed corals list gotta go HK someday" With the above I guess some people changes colours more than any Sun Corals known in the planet. bro i still remember.. someone pm ppl for blue sun frag... so I guess you think blue sun must be real but why not red sun since red resemble closely much more to the natural so call orange sun..... And yeah... i was there on the first day the red sun arrive.... so i know whats the real colour.. Eh FYI it was n ang bao red instead it was cherry red Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted May 4, 2005 Share Posted May 4, 2005 So I guess this is what we called the "The Sun can be Blue but not Red" mentality. Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member williammuk Posted May 4, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 4, 2005 aiyoh bros ... don't bring up the fake blue suns already lah ... Because of that April Fool's Day joke, some of us got flooded with PMs liao. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted May 4, 2005 Share Posted May 4, 2005 aiyoh bros ... don't bring up the fake blue suns already lah ... Because of that April Fool's Day joke, some of us got flooded with PMs liao. Lolx...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted May 4, 2005 Share Posted May 4, 2005 Yah loh, for some among us, it is easier to believe a haox than the truth. Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hamannbmw Posted May 4, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 4, 2005 aiyoh bros ... don't bring up the fake blue suns already lah ... Because of that April Fool's Day joke, some of us got flooded with PMs liao. ok no more blues... pink ok Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted May 4, 2005 Share Posted May 4, 2005 lol Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member williammuk Posted May 4, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 4, 2005 ok no more blues... pink ok Wow! Cool! Wanna trade a frag of that with my blues? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member woonming Posted May 4, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 4, 2005 ok no more blues... pink ok wow cool ~ ~ ~ red mouth !!! I got a frag of purple to trade keke ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hermit Posted May 5, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 5, 2005 purple??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member seamonkee Posted May 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 6, 2005 Pink flamingos are the norm. However I have seen red flamingos. Hahah.. can I add to this... since I was with WRS (Zoo, NS, Birdpark)... It is true what bro. fuel says... flamingos are white in reality... but because they feed on certain carotenoid pigment (derived from brine shrimps usually), that's where they got their pink colour from... At the birdpark, the keepers have to add this as a supplement to feed the flamingoes... otherwise, you will be seeing white flamingoes everywhere in captivity... I went to the storeroom, its interesting they have this processed "red powder" which is actually cartotenoid pigment.... Wild Caribbean flamingoes are the brightest and some in RED!!!! This is probably due to the high concentration of carotenoid pigment found in its food source in natural places... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member seamonkee Posted May 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 6, 2005 BTW, here's a pix of my transparent sun coral... you can't see it cause its transparent... it's very rare and hard to spot in the sea cause it is transparent... Anyone want a frag for $100? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cjh Posted May 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 6, 2005 BTW, here's a pix of my transparent sun coral... you can't see it cause its transparent... it's very rare and hard to spot in the sea cause it is transparent... Anyone want a frag for $100? haha.... i saw it.....its round 1 right?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member yiling Posted May 7, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 7, 2005 hey Shoe, update on my sun. think its over a month now . ENJOY btw , its still red ... Quote [ My Humble Home] Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member yiling Posted May 7, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 7, 2005 Dedicated to bro shoelevy taken under artinic with camera hp:) Quote [ My Humble Home] Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tigger Posted May 7, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 7, 2005 Looks nice, how much does it cost? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member sunny03 Posted May 7, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 7, 2005 looks orange to me leh but since it opens up fed it well Quote Selling big game fishing equipment. Stella 20k / 17k .. made in Japan jigging blue rose / kabuzu popping rod... pm for prices Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shoelevy Posted May 8, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 8, 2005 Dedicated to bro shoelevy taken under artinic with camera hp:) nice to see that its doing well! care to take a photo of it under white light? actinic kinda makes the red look purple i noticed that in your thread under member's tank and specs, you said "FYI, it has been with me for about 1 wk. If it is dyed , the colour should have faded eh?" on Apr 29th. so up to today, it should only have been about 10days...why do you say its about a month? Is this one another red sun coral that you bought? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shoelevy Posted May 8, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted May 8, 2005 so up to today, it should only have been about 10days...why do you say its about a month? the statement should be with you for 2weeks...sorry about the mistake there Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted May 8, 2005 Share Posted May 8, 2005 looks orange to me leh but since it opens up fed it well Hi Sunny, the polyps of the red suns should be orange. The red suns usually have red tissues covering the corallites walls while the polyp remains orange. Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted May 8, 2005 Share Posted May 8, 2005 the statement should be with you for 2weeks...sorry about the mistake there Regardless of 1month or 2week(yeah humans can forget).. if the sun is dyed it should fade by now like what U say or suspect abt the sun at REborn...... So no point correcting on tiny mistake when you din touch the main pt Oh ya jus wanna know why did you ask for the blue sun frag lolx..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...