SRC Member flubberina13 Posted September 5, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2003 N*ture Aquarium at Balestier Road has the 6-fan type selling even cheaper than I have ever seen in other lfs if anyone interested. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member guppy Posted September 6, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2003 Yah, fan is not so effective , but better than nothing , provided you are willing to spend on chiller. There are lots of shop in Sim Lim Tower selling the Fan but make sure you check on the type of connector. Don't go for cheap FAN. Cheap thing no good, good thing no cheap. As for kalkwasser ..go to yahoo and read up more, kalkwasser is to replenished the calcium level and all the XYZ . safer to use then just replaced with normal water. The only difficulty is the dripping method where you have to go to hospital pharmacy shop and buy the drip set only $3.20, ask the dispensary for it, they don't display the set. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member junyong84 Posted September 6, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2003 change ur water regularly lorz.. improve water cirulation... i dun use fans or chillers... no $$$ for that.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SpiderOne Posted September 6, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2003 Yah, fan is not so effective , but better than nothing , provided you are willingto spend on chiller. There are lots of shop in Sim Lim Tower selling the Fan but make sure you check on the type of connector. Don't go for cheap FAN. Cheap thing no good, good thing no cheap. As for kalkwasser ..go to yahoo and read up more, kalkwasser is to replenished the calcium level and all the XYZ . safer to use then just replaced with normal water. The only difficulty is the dripping method where you have to go to hospital pharmacy shop and buy the drip set only $3.20, ask the dispensary for it, they don't display the set. or u can just go to any lfs and buy a airline valve... kalkwasser dosing is one of the easiest things u can do to your tank. what might XYZ be ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member junyong84 Posted September 6, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2003 whats airline valve??? issit those tube that blow air out of the sand??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SpiderOne Posted September 6, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2003 ........no. its a mini tap for air in the air tubing to control the amount of air through the tube Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
yellow.tang Posted September 6, 2003 Share Posted September 6, 2003 or u can just go to any lfs and buy a airline valve... kalkwasser dosing is one of the easiest things u can do to your tank. what might XYZ be ? can att pic of kalkwasser : sorry, i dun no wat is it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member junyong84 Posted September 6, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2003 ........no. its a mini tap for air in the air tubing to control the amount of air through the tube oh.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jas_soh Posted October 3, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted October 3, 2003 i am pretty new to marine tanks and my water temperature was around 29-31deg which is a little worrying so i decided to shop for a fan. finally managed to find one that is only $22 bucks from those shops that sell mini fans for computers and machine parts... kekek.. think i saved quite a bit of money as i saw a fan for $49 bucks in a aquarium shop in Geylang. my water temp has since den dropped from 31deg in the daytime to 28-29deg. Quote ...what are u missing from your life?... dun wait till your last breathe before telling them that you care Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member guppy Posted October 4, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted October 4, 2003 Becareful, must secured the Fan properly, once drop into the tank , chances that your fish will mati. Water evaporation will be your next headache! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Rufff Posted October 4, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted October 4, 2003 We R using cable-ties 2 secure our DIY fan now but I think a clip or clamp will definitely B much better, chances of it slipping/dropping in2 the tank is slimmer. My fishes kena B4, but never mati leh (aiyah mayB they were lucky that 1 time). Then again, when I accidentally dropped the lights in the tank (with my other hand STILL in the water), I probably "absorbed" most of the stray current. Wah, dangerous man! OK OK, the MORAL OF THE STORY is - Make sure U secure the fan, DIY or otherwise, securely! Lest yr tank mates will get the shock of their short lives. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jas_soh Posted October 4, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted October 4, 2003 of cuz need to secure it property la and YES!!! water evaporation is a big headache. i lost about 3 liters of water a day after the fan has been installed. in the past i can still wait for 2 days to top up 2 liters of water top up and now i guess i can hardly be away from home for more than 2 days Quote ...what are u missing from your life?... dun wait till your last breathe before telling them that you care Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...