4FT FOWLR Tang lover

iori_del

• Replies 156

it doesn't matter where i get my fish or how much it cost (if it doesn't burst my piggy bank).....as long as its love at first sight... :wub:

wish u good luck to get a nice Chervon, they are nice and tame fishes.

When getting ur new tang?

wow.....so many tang lovers/killers here....:)....

anyway, will join you guys soon.....but don't have the guts...probably 5 tangs on a 4.5 footer would be enogh for me....

Bro thioeh.....my new place is just beside your condo....will move my fishes fish maybe can meet up sometime to exchange pointers with you..... :D

No problem Bro tineng, we can share experience, can pm me, maybe we can start a thread on tangs lover :rolleyes:

Cannot lah, ppl will blast we off saying we are over stocking our tank with tang or tang in tank. :P

can share pic here, i love to see tangs

Hi icecold

If that the last tang you are going to introduce to your system, go for at least 4-4.5 inch. 3.5 inch sim no different in size when it being release, 4 inch and above than is may be king when times past.

One con is that you might not be able to put any more tang with your 4 inch AT in your present tangs.

Another alternative, put 2-3 around 3.5 inch tang include AT at the same time, this will solve all the problem but might increase your bio-load to suddenly.

Case 2-4 still apply :P

Hi bro thioeh

thanks for the advice... however... dun feel comfortable having a 4" AT in my tank... think my tank too small for him liao...

mmm... introduce 2-3 tangs at one shot.... can seriously consider!!! :D

however... think with additional 2-3 tangs (plus my 5 tangs)... sincerely think my Macro Skimmer will crack under over working!!! :idea:

Hi Icecold, never release them in the dark. B)

From my experience, you can release fishes that are nocturnal in the dark but never fishes that are active during the day.

I have released Banggai and also lots of ghost shrimps at night with success. Especially smaller shrimps, I have to wait for the wrasses to go for their beauty sleep before I can release the shrimps, if not they will be eaten! :evil:

But I tried that on my AT and another on a seperate occassion with my PT. On both occassions, after releasing, they started bashing around the rockworks as they are unable to find a way out of some of the caves and crevices I have created using LR. At certain point, they even got stuck between some big rocks! :angry:

In the end, I have to on the lights so as to calm them down but they have already suffered several cuts on their heads and body. :( For me, I will never do that ever again with diurnal fishes.

Anyway, most books recommend releasing the fishes at least 2-3 hours before lights off so that they have time to explore the environment and settle down before darkness sets in. :D

Hi bro Gouldian

tot all the fishes should be sleeping... so will be quite safe to introoduce it in durint dawn (1am)???... okie... think then will have to remove step3

1. Buy a AT at 3.5"

2. Put mirrors for my tangs to distract them

3. Starts to Pray..

4. Ask fellow reefers to pray for me...

5. Repeat Step 3... :D

tat going to be a huge baby.. hahah like tat unicorn..

too bad tank no space liao...

wat u feed everyday?

I feed them 2 -3 time daily with all type of food from pellet, nori, fresh veg, market fresh silverfish, market mysis shrimp, frozen brine and mysis shrimp... etc. They are all well train and eat anything you throw to them,, no particular brand of pellet needed, just dump in any brand and they eat like pig, all tangs can even hand feed from hand :yeah:

Attach pic of them feeding with fresh veg

post-34-1110851394.jpg

you guys should see his fishes in person....so chubby.....:) his dinky Hand Phone does them no justice (could borrow you my DC when i'm in the area)....but i think you might want to check how long did it take for him to built up to this stage and how many heartache has he faced....;)

the differences between a tang lover and tang killer is a thin fine line.....

admire yur flow cause i m a tank lover too.. but my tank is too small to keep so many tank.. so i jst kept 1 yt. btw bro better can upgrade to a bigger tank cause i c before the unicorn is a vary big fish. i think yurs after 3mths later yur unicorn will be a giant tank inside yur flow. pretty :bow:

Now my tank thread had become a tang thread.

Well i dun mind at all, keep them coming..

I agree, it is a thin liner, really wonder how many tang had die from ich in our system.

Lucky for me, i dun have ich outbreak

you guys should see his fishes in person....so chubby.....:) his dinky Hand Phone does them no justice (could borrow you my DC when i'm in the area)....but i think you might want to check how long did it take for him to built up to this stage and how many heartache has he faced....;)

the differences between a tang lover and tang killer is a thin fine line.....

Thank bro tineng, think you know my tangs best, you are right, before you able to overload your system with tangs, you need to go through a hard way by fighting with ick, tangs killing one another, stress.... ,, upgrade your filter system.... etc.

I did lost a tang just 12hrs after introduce into the system :(

That is why i dont dare to try exp tangs like AT...etc,

One month back, i just lost 2 of my powder tangs after i back from malaysia, all my 7 tangs was infected with ick due to bad water condition and stress. That is way till now i did not add any tangs to my system, just a dwarf angel and a copperband into the system.

My unicorn with with me for around 1/2 year and it grow is slow, done think it will grow to giant as it is in the sea, my purple tangs with me for almost 2yrs, think only grow 1 inch but fat.

Thank bro tineng, think you know my tangs best, you are right, before you able to overload your system with tangs, you need to go through a hard way by fighting with ick, tangs killing one another, stress.... ,, upgrade your filter system.... etc.

I did lost a tang just 12hrs after introduce into the system :(

That is why i dont dare to try exp tangs like AT...etc,

One month back, i just lost 2 of my powder tangs after i back from malaysia, all my 7 tangs was infected with ick due to bad water condition and stress. That is way till now i did not add any tangs to my system, just a dwarf angel and a copperband into the system.

My unicorn with with me for around 1/2 year and it grow is slow, done think it will grow to giant as it is in the sea, my purple tangs with me for almost 2yrs, think only grow 1 inch but fat.

i was thinking very hard tat is AT a slow grower than other tang, as mine grow very slowly, hope it will eat more, it was peck on LR and nori sometime take flake..

unicorn will be a huge fish, pls allow me to visit when it hit 2 feet, will love to see the unicorn.. heheh :P

Wow, seems like you are really going for the limit? How many tangs are you intending to have? Very soon, we are going to see HK style tank. :lol:

But if they can be healthy and happy inside your tank, the tank will be a spectacle.... do keep us updates with more photos... ;)

Wow, seems like you are really going for the limit? How many tangs are you intending to have? Very soon, we are going to see HK style tank. :lol:

But if they can be healthy and happy inside your tank, the tank will be a spectacle.... do keep us updates with more photos... ;)

hmm just to announce tat i added a sohal, a regal and a yellow tang liao..

Am i doing a HK style.

Will post pic soon...

Let me be the 1st to say I am standing by for your pix! :D:lol: