Clown fish disturbing jewel stone

hi kareen,

Would you wana share with us where u had read tt Gonio health will be affected? Hope u can share with the us to clear our doubt? Thks 

I can't remember liao. Also I may be wrong about it. To me, my thinking is as follows: If the clown keep disturb until the gonio refuse to open, then how are the gonio going to capture the food?

The picture by fellow reefers shown a big gonio with a small clown and the gonio remain open so I think ok in this case.

:) Greeting :)

Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique)

Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm

I can't remember liao. Also I may be wrong about it. To me, my thinking is as follows: If the clown keep disturb until the gonio refuse to open, then how are the gonio going to capture the food?

The picture by fellow reefers shown a big gonio with a small clown and the gonio remain open so I think ok in this case.

:blink: which reefer u toking abt?

thanks lin

that article was great. Very scientific report. But it seems to contradict a fair bit with wetwebmedia forum. Got me confuse what is the best method.

Anyway, I will try to experiment some parameters if this does better to the flower pot. Hope it will strive and grow.... :D

An extract for those who like a quick summary from the article

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Goniopora stokesi

Goniopora stokesi occurs mainly in turbid lagoons in shallow water on coral rubble or soft substrates. It also occurs on reefs and in deep water. With its habitat preferences one might expect it to be very hardy. Nevertheless, it is considered delicate by most aquarists. Aquariums for keeping this species should consider the most common habitat: a horizontal substrate, with moderately strong light, though somewhat diffused by the turbidity in the water. The water flow is influenced by tidal currents, so it is periodically strong but more often slight. As I hypothesize in this article, the husbandry of this species may require extra attention to the supplementation of iron and manganese. I have seen Goniopora stokesi feed on live brine shrimp and other plankton, but I believe it can be maintained without extra feeding.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

thks nick

U notice the article I had shared and there are also other species of Gonio? and I dun noe if those individual speceis has made the whole issue contradict abit? :P Like Gonio Stokesi, ssp and whatever they got there.. kinda confused me also.. :lol::lol:

I think like what the Late Premier of China said, "Dun cat whether it is white cat or black cat, as long as it catches mouse, it is a good cat". :lol:

What matters is the results we get, no point discussing til the cow comes home and yet our LS is still suffering. :D

The reason why I said this is because even the experts varies greatly in terms of their opinions on Goniopora.

Hers's the scoop:

The Coral Whisperer updated 14 November 2002.

Eric Borneman wrote <Goniopora Revisited: If We Could Keep It Alive, Do We Really Want To?>. In it he mentioned, "The fact that the aqueous extracts of stony corals causes polyp contraction, bleaching and tissue loss in other stony corals within 24 hours, and that merely putting Galaxea in a tank with Goniopora can cause it to die within hours should put us at a new state of awareness and alert. As with soft corals, it may be difficult to say with certainty that coral species x will have a particular effect on coral species y. As with other organisms, variability in both production and effects on other species seems to be the norm. However, and as I have stated frequently, it becomes a matter of risk assessment. Soft corals known to be prolific producers of toxins, or those known to have certain effects on certain species, should be maintained in aquariums with careful consideration of the potential consequences. It appears the same is true for stony corals. In particular, Goniopora is well recognized to produce toxins that are wide-ranging and consistent in their effects on vertebrates and invertebrates. Perhaps this is fortunate news, given the fact that they survive so poorly in aquariums (Borneman 1997, Toonen 2001). ".

Sunsequently on Aquarium Invertebrates Updated 14 December 2002.

Julian Sprung written a totally different view. :D

Thus, I feel that we should look into our personal stocks requirement and adjust accordingly.

If we sense that the clowns are harassing the Gonio or any corals - remove it, if you are having great results with the Gonio hosting the clowns - Great! :yeah:

Thus the key is to provide the best conditions to our LS and sharing it if neccessary. Not the other way around :D

Remember, man can never fully understand Mother Nature. :D:thanks::bow:

wow! :yeah: u talk like a god father! hahaha!!! anywhere thanks for that info! : rolleyes: hmmm... helping us!! ;)

Wah lao Damienkee, you say like that I next time dun dare to post liao leh, Paiseh man, so many experts here. :paiseh::paiseh::paiseh:

Don't like that leh ... please continue posting. This hobby is still a continous learning process. Please share what you find so that we can all learn from each other. :)

No lah, just teasing Damienkee. ;)

I am not even a father yet, he already call me God Father, wait I kena "blanket party" how??? :erm::shock::unsure:

MAFIA!!!!! :shock: :shock: :shock:

Today, I decided that I had enough of my clown fish disturbing the jewel stone so I decided to shift the jewel to another area away from the clown's usual territory. So far it seems to work. the clown fish goes back to its old faithful bubble. :D

Let me monitor for a few more days. :rolleyes:

Today, I decided that I had enough of my clown fish disturbing the jewel stone so I decided to shift the jewel to another area away from the clown's usual territory. So far it seems to work. the clown fish goes back to its old faithful bubble. :D

Let me monitor for a few more days. :rolleyes:

Hey Kok Hui, Its been quite a while since you update us with your tank. Why dun you take this opportunity to show us a couple of pics? :D

:rolleyes: So when is the MAFIA Godfather recruiting the members? :lol:

Me want to join leh

Me not qualified to recruit leh. :D