Clown fish disturbing jewel stone

Hi bros,

My yellow strip maroon clown has recently decided to stay on my jewel stone. This causes the jewel stone to retrack and not come out so much.

I tried chasing my clown away but it just seems to like to clown around the jewel!

What to do?? :huh:

it has already host it since there is no anemone for it. One way is to get another host for it, and pray that it will stop disturbing it. by nature, clown fishes like 'swaying' corals, as it's a substitute for their used to have 'anemone'.

Hi Kok Hui, I think you need to find a home for the clown soon if not your Gonio will stay retracted. ;)

But dun just go to an LFS and grab any anemone you see, cuz, different anemone host different fish.

I presume you are having the Premnas biaculeatus Maroon Clown, they prefer Entacmaea quadricolor Bubble Tip anemone. :D

Here some Read for you. ;)

My maroon host my Gonio till now.. and I had notice Gonio dun have to extend to their max all the time.. u can slowly observe.. Ur clown will not do any harm to ur Gonio..if u want, can get bubble tip.. btw, my maroon sleep in my purple tip at nite.. :P

Good Luck! :peace:

post-6-1110258949.jpg

I think Sis Lin has inspired us to think out of the box! :bow:

The host and hosted situation is just like a relationship between 2 person.

If one likes to be with the other, who are we to say no. And if they decides not to be together, no one can match them together. :(

So for you case Kok Hui, you might want to see whether the Gonio is being irritated by the relationship, if yes, then try to find your maroon another partner. ;)

I think it is better to get a host anemone or remove the clown. Lin, how long has the clown host in gonio? I have read somewhere that gonio don't like it and the health will be affect in a slow process.

:) Greeting :)

Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique)

Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm

My maroon host my Gonio till now.. and I had notice Gonio dun have to extend to their max all the time.. u can slowly observe.. Ur clown will not do any harm to ur Gonio..if u want, can get bubble tip.. btw, my maroon sleep in my purple tip at nite.. :P

Good Luck! :peace:

So sis Lin, when you say, "can get bubble tip.. btw, my maroon sleep in my purple tip at nite.. :P".

Do you mean that you have an purple tip anemone hosting your clown or your gonio is purple tip?? :unsure:

If it is a purple bubble tip anemone, which means the amount of time spend by the maroon on the gonio may not substantiate a recession by the gonio. :)

Anyway, from your pix, you have a healthy gonio, must find an opportunity to learn from you one day. ;):bow:

Cheers,

hi kokhui

I got the same problem. My jewel has not open fully now coz the clown fish will keep playing with it. But so far, the jewel seems to be doing okay. When I turn of the daylight, the clown fish will tend to leave it alone and keep swimming.

I try target feeding to the jewel once a wk with liquid food with brine shrimp mix to ensure it is well fed.

post-6-1110265513.jpg

Sorry Nicholas, I honestly dun think your jewel is doing well. You may want to compare your gonio vs Lin's gonio and you will be able to tell the difference. ;)

Btw, gonio seldom dies rapidly thus it is not correct to say that we have a healthy specimens if it has been with us for a few months. :(

In fact some experts in the RC have failed to keep gonio past 6mths, according to them their gonio was doing very well and suddenly died within the next few months. :(

Thus gonio is one of the corals that they shun.;)

And for your further referrence, here's mine. :D

Noticed the polyps tentacles are fuller and fatter. ;)

post-6-1110266492.jpg

So sis Lin, when you say, "can get bubble tip.. btw, my maroon sleep in my purple tip at nite.. :P".

Do you mean that you have an purple tip anemone hosting your clown or your gonio is purple tip?? :unsure:

If it is a purple bubble tip anemone, which means the amount of time spend by the maroon on the gonio may not substantiate a recession by the gonio. :)

Anyway, from your pix, you have a healthy gonio, must find an opportunity to learn from you one day. ;):bow:

Cheers,

no, i replied he can get a bubble tip for his maroon..

I got another purple tip anemone which my maroon wrap in for the nite.. :lol: theres nth to learn frm me nar.. i shld be the one learning frm u.. ;)

post-6-1110267640.jpg

haha... mine seems alright...

the stem also fat fat leh.... there r together for abt 1-2 months liao....

post-6-1110276371.jpg

Guys, found this section from wetwebmedia. Looks like it is a good thing the clown fish is working on the jewel

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

FAQs about Poritid Corals 1

Quick Question

Hello Bob!

My most recent fish purchase a Skunk Clown (Amphiprion sandaracinos) has taken to my Branching Flower Pot coral (Alveopora gigas) as if it were a anemone.

<This happens>

Will this harm/irritate/kill my Branching Flower Pot coral? If so, what would you suggest (besides adding an anemone)? Thanks again for your wonderful web site and help!

<Thank you for writing... In all likelihood the interaction of the species of Skunk Clown will actually improve the health, your chances of keeping the Flowerpot Coral... the Clowns will keep it clean... help feed it. Bob Fenner>

Adios,

Curvin

York, PA USA

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi Nicolas,

Good find, Sorry I dun have the answers for it. Cuz most of the limited literature I have and I pas experience suggested otherwise. :(

You may want to try it out and see what is the results then keep us posted. ;)

Cheers,

Thanks all bros and sis for your input, appreciate this.

Before my clown decided to partner my Alveopora, it was partnering my bubble and then my green prata.

I did notice when it first partner the bubble, it always fetches the pellets that I dropped in the tank and drops it to the bubble. The buuble has since grown bigger. Then when it decide to hoover around the prata next, it steals the food that I drop to the prata from the prata's "mouth". However I think there is still enough food and the prata is also growing biiger now.

I think I may want to see how it is partnering the Alveopora now that I had read all the bros comments. I will keep you updated if any. ;)

Thanks Kok Hui, keep us updated! ;)

My maroon clown like to swipe his tail on the sand bed all the time. Tried to put a flat LR on the place he always swipe the sand to prevent him from doing it but he went to other place now. Because of that some of my buttons got buried and the sand circulating around. So irritating....but to soft hearted to fish him out of my tank. My maroon look very healthy and colour very vivid. Plse help me find solution.

I think it is better to get a host anemone or remove the clown. Lin, how long has the clown host in gonio? I have read somewhere that gonio don't like it and the health will be affect in a slow process.

hi kareen,

Would you wana share with us where u had read tt Gonio health will be affected? Hope u can share with the us to clear our doubt? Thks ;)

thanks lin

that article was great. Very scientific report. But it seems to contradict a fair bit with wetwebmedia forum. Got me confuse what is the best method.

Anyway, I will try to experiment some parameters if this does better to the flower pot. Hope it will strive and grow.... :D

An extract for those who like a quick summary from the article

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Goniopora stokesi

Goniopora stokesi occurs mainly in turbid lagoons in shallow water on coral rubble or soft substrates. It also occurs on reefs and in deep water. With its habitat preferences one might expect it to be very hardy. Nevertheless, it is considered delicate by most aquarists. Aquariums for keeping this species should consider the most common habitat: a horizontal substrate, with moderately strong light, though somewhat diffused by the turbidity in the water. The water flow is influenced by tidal currents, so it is periodically strong but more often slight. As I hypothesize in this article, the husbandry of this species may require extra attention to the supplementation of iron and manganese. I have seen Goniopora stokesi feed on live brine shrimp and other plankton, but I believe it can be maintained without extra feeding.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------