New addition to my tank, my first YT!!!

somebody

bought it on tue afternoon, and introduced it to my tank. Added in "grapes" so that if its hungry it might eat. But the amount of "grapes" didn't seem to reduce much, wondering whether its even eating.

Fed the fishes with frozen brine shrimp, all ate, except the YT. Am afraid that if it carries on like that it'll die.... :blink: NOOOooo...

please advice, how to start feeding it... and whether the grapes are sufficient for it.

I try to answer for the rest... hehe

Kent Marine garlic is highly recommended but price on the steep side... if not seachem garlic also not bad lah.

If pecking on LR means that its eating algae off it... you should be happy that its eating.

Henry's food is a mixed paste of all the freshest wonderful seafood (prawns, mussles, oysters, and other newton hawker centre's specialty) add beneficial additives that will make 99% of fishes go gaga on it. But the downside is that it's like drugs... once it taken it get hooked for life!!!! lol

post-54-1107833267.gif

"Ah, Blackadder. Started talking to yourself, I see."

"Yes...it's the only way I can be assured of intelligent conversation."

- Melchett and Edmund Blackadder

Its pecking on the rocks for algae / vege. My rocks are clean of all vege now...

When I bought mine, I check with the boss if it is eating and we confirm on spot it ate pellet foods b4 I got it. I dun have problem feeding mine though. It seems to be having a heavy metabolism rate, chomp everything he can find.

Mine YT start pecking straight after I put it in.... it doesn't even have a acclimation period... maybe u need to add 'destress' solution like Aquapharm Hydro-safe solution. Helps in the acclimation process, I dose it when I intro new stocks

U can try Ocean Nutrition Algae flakes... its my YT fav food now.....

dun go too long on the caixin and lettuce combo... pple tell me that has no nutrition values and may lower its natural resistant to disease...

35Cents - get hooked for life? then they wouldn't eat other stuff ah?? is it ex?? how much is it??actually, it started pecking on the first day liaoz. haha. what's the price of seachem and kentmarine bro?? Thanks!!

nicholas_yeo - Ocean Nutrition Algae flakes? where can i get them?

i think the problem is that the YT is scared of me at the moment, it goes into hiding when i near the tank. even when the rest of the fish feed, it hides. would getting henry's food and garlic soaking help if the situation is as such?? thanks ya all!! thank you so much!! :thanks::bow:

35Cents - get hooked for life? then they wouldn't eat other stuff ah?? is it ex?? how much is it??actually, it started pecking on the first day liaoz. haha. what's the price of seachem and kentmarine bro?? Thanks!!

Pmed you on the prices.

post-54-1107833267.gif

"Ah, Blackadder. Started talking to yourself, I see."

"Yes...it's the only way I can be assured of intelligent conversation."

- Melchett and Edmund Blackadder

nicholas_yeo - Ocean Nutrition Algae flakes? where can i get them?

i think the problem is that the YT is scared of me at the moment, it goes into hiding when i near the tank. even when the rest of the fish feed, it hides. would getting henry's food and garlic soaking help if the situation is as such?? thanks ya all!! thank you so much!! :thanks:  :bow:

Your YT is an example of why it is necessary to quarantine LS before putting into main tank. It not only removes the possibility of diseases being intro'ed into main tank, it also allows you to train the YT to take 'captive' food- in peace and in quiet, without competition from other tankmates.

juz my two cents worth. ;)

For the moment, you can try securing some nori at the bottom of the tank. Observe from a distance if your proximity startles the YT. By and large, YTs are hardy species, but must feed periodically on green matter (prefably marine-based) to keep its health. Terrestial vegetables (like lettuce) provide roughage, but brocolli has been reportedly used to to stave off HLLE.

BTW, if you have lots of LR, the YT will constantly 'graze'. That's a form of feeding too.

PS: Always ask LFS to spot-feed the LS you want to buy. Avoid LFS that refuse to do this.

brocolli is one of the best veggie to feed ur tangs IMO.

certain articles have recommended it.

Yup, Fenner says its often the first line of defense against visible HLLE. Interestingly though, he says other terrestial vegetables are close to worthless, except for purposes of roughage...

oh, well, YT is one my fave fish...I give mine spirunila, nori during weekdays, henry's mix during weekends. It shits with as much gusto as it eats...thats all I can say...

35Cents - Thanks for the pm! =)

salivateforme - What's a nori? where can i get it? =) only having a 2ft tank, can't really run a quarantine tank la... =( ask LFS to spot feed? hmm... does any of the farms at Pasir Ris do that? Coz the tank had so many YTs, and i wanted the smallest one, so i thot it would be quite hard to feed it also. then how?? :(

what HLLE?? oops, i asked you a bit too many qns liao hor? haha :paiseh::thanks:

diabolus - shall try brocoli real soon! =) haha.... shall i dip that in garlic too?

:thanks: all of you!!

35Cents - Thanks for the pm! =)

salivateforme - What's a nori? where can i get it? =) only having a 2ft tank, can't really run a quarantine tank la... =( ask LFS to spot feed? hmm... does any of the farms at Pasir Ris do that? Coz the tank had so many YTs, and i wanted the smallest one, so i thot it would be quite hard to feed it also. then how?? :(

what HLLE?? oops, i asked you a bit too many qns liao hor? haha :paiseh::thanks:

diabolus - shall try brocoli real soon! =) haha.... shall i dip that in garlic too?

:thanks: all of you!!

Nori is dried seaweed. Japanese packed ones you might find in NTUC is okay, though it is hard to find nori that isn't seasoned.

I am running 2 ft tank too. QT is highly encouraged. All you need is a plastic tank ($9 for a large one), a reasonable air pump ($6) and sponge filter ($5). The sponge filter need to 'mature' in your main tank for about a week (for bacteria colonization) before putting into QT.

However, if you can't set up QT, do acclimatize LS properly, and practise dipping (if specimen allows it).

HLLE- Tangs are prone to Head and Laterel Line Erosion. Caused by stray voltage or vegetable-deficient diet. Brocolli is reportedly effective against HLLE, but make sure lightly boil it first.

Brine shrimp should probably not be your everyday ration, FYI. Some pros only consider it a filler meal...low in nutrition. You shld try henry's mix. The smell is enuff to tempt you to try some...hehe

yupz...

dipped ur brocolli in garlic before feeding it to ur tangs.

Its not nutritious enough to feed brine shrimp daily. Unless you can have live brne shrimp and gut load it with selcon.

otherwise, try pellet/flake(unless u running a overflow,not recommended) or Henry's food.

somebody,

u mentioned 'grape' at the start of yr thread. izzit the 'green' or the 'red' one. my YT never touches it, but love those 'red' grapes. u can get it from R*B**n. most tangs love 'red' grapes.

suugest u try brocolli last, IMO.

salivateforme - how long can you keep a fish in your quarantine tank with those aparatus? wouldn't it have too much nitrates for the fish? so just nori, dried seaweed will be good enough ah? those that kids like to eat??

diabolus - you mean pellet are actually more nutritious than brine shrimp?? what pellets do you recommend??

UFO - mine are the red grapes. hmm. but i still don't see my YT enjoying it thou..

=(

:thanks: bros once again.

salivateforme - how long can you keep a fish in your quarantine tank with those aparatus? wouldn't it have too much nitrates for the fish? so just nori, dried seaweed will be good enough ah? those that kids like to eat??

diabolus - you mean pellet are actually more nutritious than brine shrimp?? what pellets do you recommend??

UFO - mine are the red grapes. hmm. but i still don't see my YT enjoying it thou..

=(

:thanks: bros once again.

do not get nori with seasoning!

get those dried up ones from the supermarkets.

pellets are definitely better than brine shrimp.

BS to fishes are just like candy to our kids.

UFO : why do u suggest feeding broccoli last? any particular reason to share?

diabolus - any specific brand of pellets you recommend? any specific brand of nori? haha.. scared i buy the wrong stuff.

pellets : im using Formula 2.

Nori : go to NTUC and buy those unseasoned nori...for cooking soup.

daibolus - read an article long time ago that broccoli has something tat is not good for the digestive system for marine fish. after all, its a "land" vege not a "sea" vege. i personally believed it's best to feed it with natural food source. just my 2 cents.

somebody - try those nori that sold in ntuc (abt $1 plus per packet), non-salted dry seaweed those that we called "purple" vege. tose type that some 'yang tou fu' stall also selling.

good luck.