Ablerex UPS

diabolus

cheem ...though its 20years ago...

Anyway IMHO , these are the few questions u need to ask yourself

1) This is Singapore. How many times have your power supply tripped in a year ?

2) When is the last time that u have been away from home for so long till your reef will actually crashed ?

I might be wrong...but i just thought that this was logical.

cheers :)

All it takes is one powerfailure and your lifestock is wiped out. The question is, can you afford to take the risk? Not to mention the pain to drain out all the salt water, throw away all the died fish and coral, wash down all the sand, and start the tank from new again and wait for it to go through the cycle like it is a new tank and then slowly stock up the tank again..... Is it worth the time?

Okie, something that I just recall about backup time from Ablerex.

For the use of Ablerex 1000L/1500L with 2 pumps of working power of 100watts, the backup time will be around 45mins-1hr based on their calculation.

For those people who have the similar doubt that I had earlier on why Ablerex 1000L and 1500L have the same backup time. It is actually due to the number of internal batteries that are built in. The only difference is in the capacity of the UPS.

In short, Higher capacity means connecting to more devices, connecting more devices mean shorter backup time..

I think I will just purchase one to test out and will post again on the results...

If someone has a lobang for APC SmartUPS 750VA please let me know too, cos i was last told it cost $1300! for that capacity.

personally i am using the APC SMART 1500VA

Hi Roidan,

I was just wondering if it is convenient for you to test for me since you already own a unit of APC SmartUPS 750. If this unit can provide 2 hours of backup I rather stick to this model...

Probably, you can share the following details,

1. Number of pump you connected to

2. Amount of backup time after you turn off the main power

I believe the above information will benefit everyone who read this thread.

Thanks in advance :)

Hi Roidan,

I was just wondering if it is convenient for you to test for me since you already own a unit of APC SmartUPS 750. If this unit can provide 2 hours of backup I rather stick to this model...

Probably, you can share the following details,

1. Number of pump you connected to

2. Amount of backup time after you turn off the main power

I believe the above information will benefit everyone who read this thread.

Thanks in advance :)

correction lah....

using the 1500VA....not 750VA...

i only connect to my Tunze TS07....

ran past 3 hours in my previous test with no problems on old batteries...still can go longer but i ended the test because seldom got power outage longer than 3hrs in singapore.

nonetheless i changed to new batteries before i made a trip to japan end of last year.

i don't think i want to deep drain the new batteries....timing wise APC is quite reputable so we can go with their runtimes approximately...

http://www.apc.com/products/runtime_for_ex...m?upsfamily=165

says it can run about 5hrs on 50W load on 1500VA....so on lesser loads should pass 5 hrs easily on good batteries.

just a question..how long can the lifestocks sustain themselves before they start dying when there's a power failure?

assuming a typical say 3foot tank with sps lps and moderate stockings of fish?

Just sharing my personal experience with power-trip (well actually the circulation pump was turned off). I experienced thrice of such scenarios.. return pump was turned off (and lights of course) twice due to loose power point connection. (some one must have touched it :angry: ) Another time was due to power trip when my tank over-flow, all for a duration ranging from 5~7 hours. Mr. Murphy visited me - not once but thrice!! :blink:

I only lost one of my yuma rock in one of the incidents. No any harmful effect observed in the other two incidents. Of course I do not have sps, and my lps seems to be quite hardy (am I just being lucky?).

As for fishes, personnally I don't think there's much problem unless u overstocked ur tank. Imagine if they can survive the shipment for so many hours while being packed in a small plastic bag with <500 ml of water, wouldn't they be able to survive in a tank of >100 litres (for a 3 foot tank) for a mere 3-4 hours rite?

p/s: just my personal opinion, try at ur own risk... don't flame me if ur LS/corals die hor :P

Actually after a few thoughts about this subject. I'm just wondering for people who are using the TS7 Tunze or the 6100, 6000. It seems to me that it doesn't really matter whether the A/C is true sine wave or simulated sine wave since the 6000,6100 are running on DC (if I remember correctly). So the simulated A/C will get converted to D/C anyway. So whether simulated or true Sine wave doesn't really matter anymore.

Can someone confirm my theory? Or am I missing the point?

Thanks,

Patrick