How fur comes about

Venezia

I couldnt get past the peeling part of the video, nearly cried for the animal when it started...my only wish is that the same monster that did this to the racoon could be put thru the exact same torture when he is reborn or watever...

me too...the image of the creature's tears and the way he lifted his head to look at his own body again breaks my heart and still runs through my head

:(:(:(:(:cry::cry::cry::cry:

reason why they skin them alive...

i actually heard from someone that they want to create fear in them. so that their fur will stand.

as then when the fur is taken out, its more beautiful. thus improving the quality.

pityful, pathetic, ungly assholes roaming on the Earth. it stain the air Im breathing. idiots.

But still, forgive them for as they doing it for a living. although they suck big time, screwed them, down with them. just atleast try, as I am trying too.

hope u guys support on anti-fur trade more after u pple seen this..

regards,

LaW

bro, you are half-right in saying that the reason why they are skinned alive is to struck fear in them.... but not really to make the fur "stand out".... but rather to keep the fur intact with the hide...

You see, when the animal struggles, their muscles become tense ... so this actually contracts the skin and helps "hold" the fur intact....

The reverse applies to slaughterhouse, for meat that we eat, the animals (usually cows or goats) are sedated before they are slaughtered so that the muscles will not tense when they die and thus providing more tender meat....

I dunno how true this is lah... but back in my zoo days... when I tried skinning a leopard carcass (already dead)... the fur drops out like mad....

But there is a way to resolve this... and what most real taxidermist does is to soak the skin in a bucket of icy water to get the same effect... but really time-consuming if you ask me.... and not practical especially if you stay in humid or hot places...

That's why in America (where taxidermy prevails), most taxidermists take advantage of the winter period to process furs... rather than summer... it is a practice adopted by the native Indians...

but I guess in China, it's a cost-cutting and time-saving method they employed and definitely the most inhumane manner too... (You need real icy waters and lots of ice for just one hide).

That's why I dun do hides but stick to processing skulls.... ;)

In reality, you learn more about the animal from the skulls than their hides... At the zoo, we used them for educational purposes...

but those days were over liao.... really miss those days.... sigh..... corporate takeovers..... :(

whatever the cause and why ever they are doing it its still very wrong and inhumane

GOD!!!....help us

Besides explaining why, I did mentioned that the method they used is inhumane.... did I? ;)

Brudder, you have undermined the importance of understanding why by that single sentence you made leh..... yes, we all know its wrong... but why are they still adopting such practices? Won't anyone be keen to know the real reasons behind?

From a stand point view of an ex-taxidermist, I can understand and I dun see any wrong in explaining why they are doing it this way (since everyone here is wondering and asking).... you are making me look bad in explaining the technicalities leh.... :(:(

The ice method is the best to shrivel skins but definitely equipment intensive and costly.... (Of course, the animal is already dead then... in case.... somebody hor.... misintepret my statement of dipping live animals in ice waters) hehe.... :P

I will be honest with you.... there's no way to stop these fur traders at all.... They dun even bother about US pressures on military issues... what makes you think they care about international conservation groups???

You want a practical solution to these hide problems in China? Here's one.... Buy them the right equipment and educate them in the humane and right method of fur processing.... provide avenue for commercial breeding.... that's the only way to go.... ;)

Maybe Cookiemunster can sponsor some Pac Coo chillers for them to shrivel the skins to keep the fur intact? :lol::D

Asking them to stop the trade totally that is their rice bowl.... I dun think they will listen loh... Stop the demand? We have been talking about that for ages but were there any improvements? In reality, the demand will always be there... sad to say.... :(

oh no bro, i wasn't targeting anything at you

i was simply saying tt what they're doing is so completely wrong

i'm sorry if i made you look bad

never really intended it :paiseh:

doesn't matter if its their rice bowl or what...jus plain wrong

anyway, i do believe in conservationist groups

imagine if there weren't such groups, we'd have fashion stylers use animal fur everywhere

its because of such groups so those animals don't appear on fashion stages anymore and they don't become a fashion trend don't you agree?

infact, everytime some model appears with fur on stage, it almost always draws criticism of some sort from animal lovers and conservationist groups.

let's just hope they work fast enough to save these creatures :paiseh:

imagine if there weren't such groups, we'd have fashion stylers use animal fur everywhere

its because of such groups so those animals don't appear on fashion stages anymore and they don't become a fashion trend don't you agree?

infact, everytime some model appears with fur on stage, it almost always draws criticism of some sort from animal lovers and conservationist groups.

maybe if u are born at that place u wouldnt say its wrong to proceed their job.

but anyway i watch for less than 1 min. :angry::(

seamonkee, thanks for correcting me.

I was half sure also.

cheers,

LaW

And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day.

hahaha.... :lol::D:lol:

No worries..... bro levy.... I juz thought I share because I was a "skinner" and "taxidermist" before and I understand how they work ... ;) We tend to look at things from an emotional side but sometimes, the reality of life is such that economic factors plays a part as well.... Bro reddevil is right in saying that if you are in their shoe, perhaps it is understandable why...

Think about it... here you are a poor farmer in China... and your main concern is feeding yours and your family stomach.... you can choose to sell vegetables for say.... $5 per kg.... or you can hunt down wild animals and sell their furs for $100 per kg.... which would you choose?

Actually this is happening everywhere... its a matter of doing it in daylights (like in China) or in some part of the world (civilised as a matter of fact), done in the "dark"....

For example, we were stunned when during the recent economic crisis period in Indonesia, poorer rural folks resort to eating babirusa (a rare species of deer pig)... when over the ages, they were taught and educated again and again the value of conservation and protecting their animals... Overnight, the species was moved up to endangered list....

I agreed also that conservation and lobby groups does help in certain extent.... but there's limitation in what they are able to do....

When you are hungry and with mouths to feed, it doesn't matter there and then.... most poor folks have nothing to lose... Such is the downfall and "selfish nature" side of man... sad to say....

Conservation groups work by curbing down the demand.... If you ask me and some of my friends at the zoo... The statement "When the buying stops, the killing stops too..." can be quite an oxy-moron....

In reality, this is what happens....

Fashion groups are not the main culprit.... They have their faux fur and stuff and honestly, they are easier to educate.... To me, the rich are the main culprit....

You will be surprised that there are rich people who don't fancy fur but to them, a piece of fur is considered a must-have and a status item for showing off...

Furs are considered as "snob products".... So it is not affected by price or amount of demand whatsoever.... in fact, the higher the price and lesser the supply, the item is perceived to be more "exquisite" and "rare" and thus makes it more appealing to the small but influential rich group of people...

"The fact that I have a piece of rare fur and am able to get it while you can't" is how the rich people tries to impress and elevate oneself over others...

By curbing demand, what we are actually doing is to "force" this industry to go underground and move them to the black market..... making the item more pricey and more appealing to the suppliers and more sought after by the rich.... Thus the killing continues...

That kind of explain everything right? ;)

presicely true...

And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day.

juz watch tt movie.. stupid "ba$t@r#".. see those little creature being torture and skin off when alive.. y not asking the fellow who skin them this.. if i skin u alive wad will u feel.. pain of course.. but ycant they feel the same..

Do thing on the right way.. not killing this small animals.. they do give birth by their parents.. they do have feelng and pain.. WTH.. if they are so selfish.. ask them think them selves.. if the fox kill their own baby.. how they feel.. simply think for those little fellow.. they didnt disturb our live, y muz we go disturb them and kill them..

"this is a bad way of expressing.." if wan to kill.. make them die first.. and not skinning them off when they alive wad.. this F@#$%# B@s%$#$#.. think be4 they do anything..

Haiz.. after all feel very very sad.. for this poor fellow.. haiz.. wish those china ppl who skin those animals one will kenna haunt.. haiz.. sad sad..