What's the darndest thing a LFS has ever told you?

salivateforme

• Replies 98

My best experiences with a neighbourhood LFS....

(1) Selling blue ring octopuses and putting the individual containers at the most bottom rack where kids can juz reach out and grab them by hand.... Told the "old Ah beng" uncle it is very dangerous... and explain why... then from far, u can hear the wife shout "Ka Nee Na Bei!!! No wonder you asked me to do the transfer from the plastic bags to the containers!!!!" :D:lol::D

Anyway, I heard AVA came a few days later....

(2) Same LFS, same uncle tried to sell me a "Special Nemo" he has and he was very proud of it... he showed me a spotted sweetlips and said this is an "Ah Go Go" Clownfish.... Very unique and special one... at $50 somemore!!!

Damn, since when are they called "Ah Go Go" Fish except in Singapore where all the Lao Ah Bengs rulez in LFS shops?

can see that the knowledge lack in our LFS in singapore. Back in UK, US, the norm is that they will feed the fishes b4 ur eyes, b4 u bring them back home.It shld be the right we buyer have. In our place ar, scoop fish up, pack and go.If ask somemore show u black face liao. <_< But there's still some LFS here take the initiative to feed the fishes b4 they sell to u though.

back to the topic, me:"how to keep marine fish?"

auntie:"Buy one pack salt water home and put fish in."

(2) Same LFS, same uncle tried to sell me a "Special Nemo" he has and he was very proud of it... he showed me a spotted sweetlips and said this is an "Ah Go Go" Clownfish.... Very unique and special one... at $50 somemore!!!

Damn, since when are they called "Ah Go Go" Fish except in Singapore where all the Lao Ah Bengs rulez in LFS shops?

Wow..this uncle must have patronised a lot of Ah-Go-Go bar in Bangkok. hahaha

near NUS got meh??? hmm... but i tink i noe which shop is that... it's not near to NUS, nearer to ngee ann poly :P

hmmm .....the lfs sell more on equpiment n freshwater or sell mainly marine ??

i think i also getting it liao... is it quite near the sea ???

customer:auntie marine fish easy to keep a not? is it must do alot of things one?

auntie :we have this very good and special salt... no need to wait.. just dissolve it and can add corals and fish already...@ 50 per packet... for 2 feet tank... then no need change water one... can put as much fish as u one...no need filter also...

tat guy end up buying 200 over dollars of fish and corals

he said:" did u buy the pistol shrimp paired with goby?....don't buy if not the pistol shrimp will eat all your other fishes"

lol..this is funny :lol: first time heard it..i think in their own tank pistol shrimp eat his fish..his warning u :lol:

went to a lfs at balestier ;) ,the young guy wif spec say:'' dis fish is very stable,use for test water very gd.'' he referring to a yellow eye kole tang.

:sick::sick::sick:

hm...when u put it that way, most people will know which shop you refering to

i heard this from uncle

"cleaner shrimp if you buy to eat ich ah...will die cos the ich will spread in its stomach and kill it from the inside"

i'm not sure if this is true but i feel its false...can someone verify please?

went to a lfs at balestier ;) ,the young guy wif spec say:'' dis fish is very stable,use for test water very gd.'' he referring to a yellow eye kole tang.

:sick::sick::sick:

hi bro .. long time no see... :D

yap i encounter once too .. i was looking at a few sea horse swimming around the tank... the lfs uncle ( hehe the uncle with lots of white hair , mini version of bombed hair style, guess u huys know who is it :P ) ask me if i wanted to buy , i ask him if easy to keep n feed on wat.. he say veri easy to keep one ... buy liquid food can liao .. they eat "liquid food" :).. thinking to myself.. OMG !!!

hi bro .. long time no see... :D

yap i encounter once too .. i was looking at a few sea horse swimming around the tank... the lfs uncle ( hehe the uncle with lots of white hair , mini version of bombed hair style, guess u huys know who is it :P ) ask me if i wanted to buy , i ask him if easy to keep n feed on wat.. he say veri easy to keep one ... buy liquid food can liao .. they eat "liquid food" :).. thinking to myself.. OMG !!!

hi bro.

he even said damsel cannot use to test water,coz damsel is very hardy.

introduce the yellow eye kole tang & lemon peel angel to me.

<_<

just now was at a certain showroom in IMM...

overheard the salesperson telling a couple.

SP : you see,if you want to keep corals and anemones,you need to have skimmer,chiller,calcium reactor.(pointing to mushrooms and anemone)

Couple : (nodding) i see, but they look very nice.

SP : but if you look at this tank(shows a FOWLR tank) its a fish only tank. Our tanks are very good, no need skimmer and chiller and dun need to change water.

i laugh and walk out of the shop with my son, the couple looking at me.

2 days ago, this pamplet which I got from a tank manufacturer who is holding an exhibition at Bishan Junction 8 states something abt their 'New Generation System Tank'.

"We highly recommend absolutely no water change!"

On display were some FW and marine tanks, including a 6ft reef with a Weipro skimmer. :whistle

Okay, i add one incident.

went to lfs in the west not long ago. it has some 2ft nano tank set up for display and sale. the setup uses undergravel filter. so i ask lady boss why use undergravel filter, whether can sustain in long term etc etc.

guess what she reply....."this is trade secret, cannot tell u. u just buy, bring home can alreadi"!! I felt she treated me like a FOOL :angry: After that I did some research, and I guess it's probably following the "plenum" method.

Promised myself never to step into that LFS ever again. So far still keeping my promise.

i noe which LFS also.... coz when i wanted to start my own tank the boss also tell me dun make seawater by urself... and its veri difficult to setup a marine tank... he sae untill its impossible to setup a marine tank at home... then i wondering how come ppl can even keep sharks in their tank... and how they manage to setup the tank and even open such a shop with so many tanks.... and y do they even import fishes to sell when its impossible to setup marine fish tank....