SRC Member salivateforme Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 I'll start. I had one LFS discourage me from putting snails into my aquarium. His words were: "But they leave slime trails all over your glass." Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member gothia Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 one lfs told me best salinity level is 1.019 ...in a reef aquarium Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
optimus prime Posted February 23, 2005 Share Posted February 23, 2005 1) " hi , want to buy this marine angelfish?" he's refering to banner fish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member PBT Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 i asK the lfs owner sps cna leave under PL lights meh?he say cna place high on top on tank can already.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hotlemond Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 and so he said: "maxima must be kept at min 16*C" me think: "eh... boss, i am talking about the live one, you selling marine or seafood???" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member yiling Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 a 5mm glass tank is enough for marine tank. Quote [ My Humble Home] Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Jimng Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 How about....."This system i selling you no need change water one"....... Quote My Tank Thread Part I Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tineng Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 how about..."the white (bleech) mushroom i have is a rare one, whole singapore only i have it....can sell you cheap...." Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted February 23, 2005 Share Posted February 23, 2005 fr, serangoon area........ "can buy these few butterfly fish...no prob...I pack two bags of salt water ...go home, get a tank and put them in ..OK liao" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Clownfish Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 my exp. few years ago when i was green: "auntie, wat kinda food this fish eat huh?" "it eats everything" "then this one leh?" "eats everything" "then this one?" "eats everything" "how bout this one?" .... ... . buy the fish back realise the fish eats nothin... Quote My Personal Blog My Wedding Website Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member patrick123 Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 I'll start. I had one LFS discourage me from putting snails into my aquarium. His words were: "But they leave slime trails all over your glass." Actually I find this statement quite true for Turbo snail. Don't you guys think so? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member salivateforme Posted February 23, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 Actually I find this statement quite true for Turbo snail. Don't you guys think so? Really? I haven't had any slime trails from my snails b4... hhmmn...maybe I need to take a closer look. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Reefbum Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 "No Problem one" after he use his hand to ctach my fish that I bought. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tineng Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 "No Problem one" after he use his hand to ctach my fish that I bought. i tot "hand caught" fish are better...... but seriously, I do read about some people advocating using hands (of course must be clean) to catch fish as net might damage them.....of course some fish like surgeon tang or lion fish might not be a good idea to use hand.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lester Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 hi this one from a lfs (close down liao)... in cck ( 1 yr back ) uncle the life rock alot of little.. how to get rid?? " just bathe the rock in freshwater over night then all the crabs will die" cheers:D Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member salivateforme Posted February 23, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 haha...you know, it's so tempting to ask for the names of the LFS that provided such advise before, but it's probably not a good idea... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member patrick123 Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 hi this one from a lfs (close down liao)... in cck ( 1 yr back ) uncle the life rock alot of little.. how to get rid?? " just bathe the rock in freshwater over night then all the crabs will die" cheers:D Well, actually whether you believe it or not, some people actually dip the live rock in fresh water to get rid of the crab, bristle star or even matis shrimp. Believe me, by the time the live rock gets to your home, 70-80% of the living organism are already died. It actually save you a lot of headache or heartache to remove all these unwanted hitchhiker at the beginning. The beneficial bacteria or organism will grow back if keep in proper tank condition for several months. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tineng Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 Well, actually whether you believe it or not, some people actually dip the live rock in fresh water to get rid of the crab, bristle star or even matis shrimp. Believe me, by the time the live rock gets to your home, 70-80% of the living organism are already died. It actually save you a lot of headache or heartache to remove all these unwanted hitchhiker at the beginning. The beneficial bacteria or organism will grow back if keep in proper tank condition for several months. my rocks are acutally dip in FW, sun for 3 months before going in to a tub to 'grow' baterials....by the time i start should be abt 3 months of curing already.....so its actually not too bad an advise if you don't want any 'uninvited' guest and have the time to slowly cure your rock and make it alive again.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member patrick123 Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 my rocks are acutally dip in FW, sun for 3 months before going in to a tub to 'grow' baterials....by the time i start should be abt 3 months of curing already.....so its actually not too bad an advise if you don't want any 'uninvited' guest and have the time to slowly cure your rock and make it alive again.... Tineng, I think you are a little overboard.....but i agree with you. hehehe I would have just dip it in freshwater for 1 hour and that's it. By that time, a lot of the crab or brittle star would have jumped out of the rock already. After that, put it into a spare tank and run the skimmer until there is no more ammonia. This is because after the freshwater dip, there will be organism starting to die off, you do not want these rotten organism to polute your main tank water. After a week and there is no more ammonia spike, time to put into the main tank. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mUAr_cHEe Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 Auntie of a certain reputable LFS told me... "most important is the underwater gravel filter system...." she then tried to sell me and convince my parents about how effective the underwater gravel system is..... Quote *translated from Hokkien* "If say no bang wall, this idiot will never ripen" - Mr Quah Siew Kow. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member patrick123 Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 Auntie of a certain reputable LFS told me... "most important is the underwater gravel filter system...." she then tried to sell me and convince my parents about how effective the underwater gravel system is..... Wow...she must be living in the 80's when the marine fish hobby just started. hehehehe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AhLoon Posted February 23, 2005 Share Posted February 23, 2005 Saw a sign: 50% off all live stocks Then saw writing on tank: Yellowtail damsel $4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member yiling Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 haha, i like the underwater gravel one. cuz i was convinced to buy it too it too...then returned it within 24 hrs Quote [ My Humble Home] Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member patrick123 Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 haha, i like the underwater gravel one. cuz i was convinced to buy it too it too...then returned it within 24 hrs They allowed you to return after 24hours? I'm surprised. What is the reason that you were returning? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shiraz Posted February 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 23, 2005 me : i just start up my tank.. any fish to recommend? lfs : ohh no prob, these blue fish excellent for new tank, bright somemore.. me : issit? what fish is this? lfs : lightning bolt damsel me : err ok wait i walk around and see what is nice 1st.. lfs : no need to walk arnd one la ur tank how big? me : 3ft lfs : 3ft ah? easily can take 15 or 20 la.. u see also very nice your tank all blue.. me : wah so many ah.. nvm nvm i walk around 1st.. he was trying to sell me yellow tail damsels.. 20 for that matter! was in payar lebar.. then it went somewhere else.. Quote The world is such a wicked place,war btween the human race. People work to earn their bread,while across the sea they're counting dead Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...