How to introduce Tangs into Tanks ?

I introduce a Brown Scopas Tang (BT) into a establish tank, which is home to a Yellow Tang (YT) for nearly 7 months.

The size of the new BT was larger than the existing YT. However, the new fish is attacked by the YT. Is there somw ways to stop or lessen their fight ?

BTW, I've not seen the BT eating or feeding. Is there someways we can make new fish eat in a aquarium.

Thanks

I introduce a Brown Scopas Tang (BT) into a establish tank, which is home to a Yellow Tang (YT) for nearly 7 months.

The size of the new BT was larger than the existing YT. However, the new fish is attacked by the YT. Is there somw ways to stop or lessen their fight ?

BTW, I've not seen the BT eating or feeding. Is there someways we can make new fish eat in a aquarium.

Thanks

Put a mirror to divert the attention of the YT. ;)

The YT will be after it discover there is another YT in the tank, it will then concetrate it effort on driving it off and thus the BT is no longer the target.

You observe another couple of hours see how?

Btw, try to attract the YT with the mirror helps too.

lol. never mind lah they will strike a balance somehow. Btw, what is the size of your tank?

Dun tell me it is 2ft hor, I will faint! :upsidedown:

First thing u must note is that Yellow tangs and also purple tangs are more aggressive and territorial in nature.... in most cases, people introduced them last in their tanks.... so that the other inhabitants have an opportunity to establish their territories before the YT does...

These are some things u can do as some experts suggest...

1) The mirror trick which bro Gouldian suggested

2) Remove the YT and put it away first.... then put in the other tang to let it establish its territory before reintroducing the YT again....

3) Reshuffle ur liverock scape, introduce the less aggressive tang first then followed shortly by the YT.....

Otherwise, throw in another tang (which is not advisable since ur tank is too small for 3 tangs) and bet ur chance that the aggression may be even out among the three.... Less chance of one against the other...

3.5ft x 2ft.

BTW, is there any way to make the newcomer adapt to feeding ?

My YT seems to self adapt to eating flake food.

Thanks

I will usually reccomend Henry's frozen food to entice finicky eaters. Anyway, they are very nuitritious as well.

Most reefers here have succesfully gotten their finicky eater to eat Henry's food.

Most experts prefers frozen food to flake food too.

You can contact Henry of Marine Life (Our Sponsor) to pre-order cuz they sells like hot cakes. ;)

I will usually reccomend Henry's frozen food to entice finicky eaters. Anyway, they are very nuitritious as well.

Most reefers here have succesfully gotten their finicky eater to eat Henry's food.

Most experts prefers frozen food to flake food too.

You can contact Henry of Marine Life (Our Sponsor) to pre-order cuz they sells like hot cakes. ;)

i heard Henry's frozen food has got alot of "hao liao" - goody stuff..ingredients contain squid, fish, fish roe and etc....

sure the fish will eat until fat fat..

yah....heard alot of successful story after feeding with Henry's frozen food to finicky eaters :)

i heard Henry's frozen food has got alot of "hao liao" - goody stuff..ingredients contain squid, fish, fish roe and etc....

sure the fish will eat until fat fat..

yah....heard alot of successful story after feeding with Henry's frozen food to finicky eaters :)

:D But one thing to take note is ur water will b dirty fast lor....So dun fed too much at a time....:lol:

tank... meet Tang....

tang... this is tank...

geddit?? geddit??

corny joke again....

frm wad i remember... it is the order of tangs that u release into....

from the most docile one.... to the most aggressive one later....

but as i always say... marine stuff... always see heng suay one....