My fan worm has not opened for 3 days. why??

Hi all bros and sis, need help for this:

1 of my fan worms has not opened for the past 3 days. But my 3 other fan worms are opening happily, my 2 true clowns are swimming happily also, 2 anemones are oso ok.... I feed my fan worms with micro algae regularly. Is it sick?? What should I do??

It is definitely not dead because when i touch it's stem, i still have the shrinking-jerking response. :huh:

Thanks in advance. :thanks:

once i bought a fan worm..purposely waited for it to open at the lfs before buying it home(incase it is an empty shell)....but in the end when i brought it home....waited for weeks, did not open..( actually the worm had escaped before being took out from the LFS tank... what a clever one! ;) )

that means i paid for nothing...so sad :(

but i guess you should change the fan worm's position perhaps lower current area..

try see if it is opening..

cheers! B)

Hmm.. i think you all may have mistaken liao... I bought the fan worm for 1 month liao.. It opens happily until 3 days ago and then stopped opening.

Just now, i saw it open for the first time in these 3 days. All it's crown are gone!! It becomes "bo ta". What is happening?? Is it dieing?? :o

need advise... :o

My fan worm drop its big crown on e 2nd day of CNY....

Aft around 1 wk,yest nite aft lgts off then saw its new crown coming out.Damn funny,he dun dare to show its new crown when lgts r on leh..keke....

But its amazing how fast e crown grow bk.Observe tat its abt half e size of e crown being grown bk.... :D

So dasnei.... thks very much for all the advise!! I thought the fan worm is dieing. :P Hmm, now that you all have mentioned, I realize that the colour of the crown has changed. But still very very short ;) It is still shy and not opening. Guess should be ok rt?? How long would it take to grow back it's crown??

From what I understand.... fan worms are one of the hardiest sea creatures (They can also thrive in sea water conditions that are not ur typical definition of clean and sparkling)....

In any case, my last fan worm in my previous setup "disappeared" for one month from its shell and then reappeared again at another place with a new shell.... they do move....

Thks gothia, seamonkee and marble for you advices. :thanks:

I thought my fanworm was dieing the moment it went into hiding. Now, i know it is just shedding its crown :o The fanworm looks terrible after it shed its crown, but at least now it comes out very often. ;) The regrowing crown is also uneven. (some side long, some sides short). But i think should be ok. cos i grows back quite fast.

marble, fyi, a botah fan worms looks like hole in the brown tubing it stays in. :P