Interested to start this hobby

hotlemond

dun think can get dwarf seahorse in our area... somemore there is controlled import and sales of sh in sg... It is is not cheap to get some specific species in sg... even if have, it might be H. comes and it is WC one... There are some bulk order of Sh going on... Can check it out...

hei gaNG, glad to hear another SH fanz. Anyway I am not trying to be a wet blanket if u wanna start this hobby cost of SH must not be ur main factor but ur interest and care for our "pet" should be the ultimate factor. it is sure a 100% dedication required coz its not easy if u dunt blieve ask bro CHIMNO our SH "SHIFU"

I am interested to keep seahorse but i hear they are expensive. can someone give me a range $.

I am looking at those dwaft seahorse

hi bro, u can't find H.zosterae(dwarfs) in singapore.... :( hopefully in the future have. :P

Price range for WC( h.comes or h.kuda) $14each - $20 each.

Price range for CB (h.reidi, incoming shipment....H.kuda, h.bleekeri and h.breviceps) $1**.

There are pros and cons for WC and CB. :P

Personally i prefer CB ones. :P

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

hei gaNG, glad to hear another SH fanz. Anyway I am not trying to be a wet blanket if u wanna start this hobby cost of SH must not be ur main factor but ur interest and care for our "pet" should be the ultimate factor. it is sure a 100% dedication required coz its not easy if u dunt blieve ask bro CHIMNO our SH "SHIFU"

Thanks bro :paiseh: but me no "SHIFU" lah.... look carefully in this forum, there are a few "Hidden Dragons"..... me just a wall gecko :lol:

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

guys guys... dun be biased against h.comes mah... though it's one of the most commonly available sh, i personally think the body markings, the white spotted face & snout, the striped yellow tails plus the rear fins with a yellow & black patterns quite chio ma... infact i preferred h.comes to black kudas... they're more lively.... haahaa dun flame me wor :)

any sh is a gem now... though i really fancied a bit of yellow, orange or even red sh in my tank... heex

guys guys... dun be biased against h.comes mah... though it's one of the most commonly available sh, i personally think the body markings, the white spotted face & snout, the striped yellow tails plus the rear fins with a yellow & black patterns quite chio ma... infact i preferred h.comes to black kudas... they're more lively.... haahaa dun flame me wor :)

any sh is a gem now... though i really fancied a bit of yellow, orange or even red sh in my tank... heex

ya bro. any sh a gems nw :P i would be setting up another setup jus for WC, and hope they mate, so i have babies to raised, then we will have CB sh liao. ;)

hi bros, many thanks for the info. I am aware of its special requirement and therefore will only go into it once I done enough research.

I couldn't find much about thier habitat requirement other than low flow and tall tank. Do they need cooler water?

One more thing, I assume its important to include sea fan for them to hang on to, but if sea fan require high flow, then wouldn't it be contrasting to the SH requirement. From this, I guess I am missing out on something. Please enlighten. Thanks

hi bros, many thanks for the info. I am aware of its special requirement and therefore will only go into it once I done enough research.

I couldn't find much about thier habitat requirement other than low flow and tall tank. Do they need cooler water?

One more thing, I assume its important to include sea fan for them to hang on to, but if sea fan require high flow, then wouldn't it be contrasting to the SH requirement. From this, I guess I am missing out on something. Please enlighten. Thanks

habitat ar..... lagoon type setup with lotsa of macro algaes :yeah: the sh does not need seafan, if u want somethin natural, can go with live mangroves or tonga LRs. they prefer slow moving waters, ime best not to include corals although it could be done with very careful planning. ;) temp wise, i'll say 27-28 be the best temp for our tropical specis. :)

thanks chinmo.

Live mangroves would be great. I read an article from Reefcentral that the mangrove would have to be spray with freshwater everyday to maintain its health.

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2004-12/ac/feature/index.htm

spraying with FW on the leaves to removes salt spray. used to have them, yah they really do make great hitching post! maybe should get back some again :heh: